We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis for vegans and vegetarians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Govindas Surfers Paradise

Govindas Surfers Paradise
3120 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
+61 455 665 928
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet
Description: Govinda's Surfers Paradise Pure Vegan Wholefood Buffet. All you can eat* *Choose from; Garden Veggie Casserole, Dahl, Brown and Basmati Rices, Kofta Veggie Balls, Potato Bake, Breads, Halava and Salad Bar.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Oasis for vegans and vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I came here some years ago. Back then it wasn't that impressive to me. I tried this time and I noticed that things have been improved a lot and we had wonderful lunch. Good variety, beautiful colour/presentation, reasonably priced and friendly staff serving you. It is not only about the food itself, but energy that counts.

We had a nice corner table which was private and that was relaxing. Yes, it is hidden in the shopping complex, and this is a gem at the corner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cockroach!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went to the store and was really excited to try the food!
Waited in line for a while because there was only one lady serving. As I got to the counter to order I saw cockroaches crawling around on the carved wooden art piece behind the lady serving. Didn't end up eating there! Yucky!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“takeaway / dine in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The options were good to mix and match - especially for a take away. It was easy and convenient to take back to our hotel room.

The food itself was full of flavour and the kofta (*spelling may be wrong) balls were mixed in that couple were crunchy and a couple were moist, easy to chew and soggy. I myself prefer the crunchy balls with a little sauce while another in our group preferred to the moist chewy soggy balls.

There were a number of dishes in the back sink - could not tell due to the angle if they were clean or dirty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,744 reviews 1,744 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
781 helpful votes 781 helpful votes
“Nice and convenient vegetarian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This small restaurant in the Centre Mall in Surfers Paradise is a delightful vegetarian restaurant, a little bit hidden, in fact while hovering every day I noticed it after many months, you can find it beside the toilets.
Here I ate well, and very important is the lunch deal "all you can eat", only $ 9.90, a very good idea for lunch.
The food is good and once left I was happy, with this price in Surfers Paradise it is hardly being satisfied.
The style of the decor is simple, vaguely reminiscent of a little 'Indian style, is nothing more than a few tables around.
But for me it is ok.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistent great food and choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved the monks bowl (Dahl, rice, kofta). Tomato sauce very tasty. Great range salads. Good value. Tofu burger was huge. Went there as often as I could when I worked in surfers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Govindas Surfers Paradise also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
 

Been to Govindas Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Govindas Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.