We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Sandbar

Surfers Sandbar
52 The Esplanade (corner Elkhorn Ave), Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 5526 9994
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, Café, Pub, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Breakfast/Bar/Bistro, located opposite Surfers Paradise beach. Casual all-day & evening dining with indoor & outdoor seating. Family friendly & relaxed atmosphere. Cafe open from 6am & buffet breakfast from 6.45Am. Open until late 7 days a week.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great cheap food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great place for cheap food and fast service. It was full but our meals came out quick and it was huge portions and tasty. Its nothing gourmet but $12 lunch specials you cant complain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    20
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Cheap and cheerful meals. Very generous portions.
Ideal location for those who like to people-watch.
Quiet mid-week lunch, so no problems with service.
It seems to be a pub first and a restaurant second.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Disappointing Service/Attitudes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went to the Sandbar for a baby shower/40th birthday for a friend of mine and her daughter. There was a group of approx. 30 of us including the kids. While the food was value for money with good sized meals for reasonable prices the service was disappointing. We asked to bring in a small homemade cake and were told that we had to pay a minimum of $50 just to bring it in. After a few of the ladies questioned it we were told we could bring it in and light the candle but then had to take it outside to eat it! So we left to go across the road sing happy birthday and eat our cake. Very disappointing attitudes by some of the staff :-(

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01manager, Manager at Surfers Sandbar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Julz

I am disappointed that you have given our restaurant a low rating, despite your comment that our menu is 'value for money with good sized portions and reasonable prices'.
I personally took your reservation from Tina and asked her at the time, 'would the group like to bring their own cake?' Her response was 'no'.
We always ask because guests can either order a cake from us, or if you choose to bring your own, there is a service fee. This was explained at the time of the booking.
We did offer a discounted charge on the day, and I am sorry if this issue has detracted from an otherwise great function for your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Views but SUPER AVERAGE Breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Perhaps Sandbar had an off morning, because the day me and 4 others ate breakfast there, it was DEADSET SHOCKING!!! 3 of us chose the $15 breakfast, the other 2 from the a la carte menu.
Firstly the Buffet Breakfast. Completely understand these meals are cooked in bulk and left for self service. But when you're scooping watery scrambled eggs, bacon burnt and hard, sausages were cold and gravy tasted terrible, fritata was sloppy veggies etc it was not a good experience. Let's not mention how hard and grainy the rice was (not enough water when cooking), noodles with too much oyster sauce and no drumsticks were available. Our only victory was the juice; but then again how can you stuff that up, unless it's watered down?
The conventional menu wasn't much better with ordinary buns for the burgers, chips were undercooked; what more could you say.
Needless to say, we had to eat elsewhere to complete our appetite.

The views are good of the beachside, but seriously - this is one place to avoid unless you're there to drink on the Esplanade.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01manager, Manager at Surfers Sandbar, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi John,

Yes you are correct, the buffet breakfast food is cooked in bulk. We serve a around 2000 covers per week, and have done so for many years. It is necessary to cook our buffet food in large volumes to keep up with demand.
I am perplexed that you suggest the scrambled eggs were watery, as the only liquid we add to the scrambled eggs is cream.
Well done bacon is very popular with a large percentage of our customers, it is reasonable that we can’t cook bacon specifically to cater for every individual preference. You may come to expect this when dining from a buffet.
The temperature set on our buffet is in compliance with Queensland Food Health & Safety Laws, which is regularly monitored and recorded by our senior chefs.
We took frittata off our buffet menu last year. You visited our restaurant in May 2014??
If the rice was undercooked, we would have had a number of complaints about it. The issue would be promptly rectified.
Saucy stir-fry? Unfortunately, a dry stir fry is not suitable for a buffet as it would become really dry.
My apologies, if we ran out of drumstick at the end of the buffet breakfast (I am assuming you ate from our buffet around lunchtime as you mentioned you also dined from our all-day al a carte menu). Due to the large volume of buffet breakfast customers, is reasonable to assume we may occasionally sell out of one particular item. In that case, we replace it with another dish. Menu choices may change, as stated on our menu.

I do hope you asked to see a manager on duty in regards to your concerns on the day you visited us. After taking the time to post such a detailed negative review, one would assume so. However, after speaking to all of our breakfast supervisors and manager, no-one is familiar with any of your complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A seaside breakfast delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Surfers Paradise has a very good choice of breakfast spots, especially ones by the beach front. Sandbar is located right opposite of Surfers Paradise beach. Sitting in front of the beach having breakfast buffet is just awesome. Watching surfers surfing by the waves and families strolling along the sands is sooooo relaxing. Food-wise ..... just ok. Ambience ..... top star!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfers Sandbar also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Surfers Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Sandbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.