We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needlessly odd” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Soul Boardwalk, Cavill Mall, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
+61 7 5538 8967
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Homemade delicious Italian dishes of pasta, pizza and salads freshly cooked in front of you. Head up to the counter and order, watch the chef cook, and pay on the way out whenever you're ready to leave.
Noosa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Needlessly odd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The ordering system here was reminiscent of school dinners, you wave a card at each station you order at, queuing in turn for each item, then at the end you present a card and pay. I'd say it's a concept I'm not getting. The food itself was good and it's always lovely to see it prepared, but it just seemed like too much effort to me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    162
    74
    30
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frillesas, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Good food and excellent staff. At the tables outdoors it feels like Italy in summer. Don't miss the pasta dishes!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We eat here whenever we come to Surfers the kids love it.
It is a very different set up to most restaurants and probably not suit groups as your meals will not all get to the table at same time. , but our 3 kids love ordering straight from the cook and getting their pasta just the way they like it and watching it cook. Herbs are growing on the table. Atmosphere is quirky. This is a chain restaurant started in Germany and it has a Scandinavian feel to it but serves good freshly made pasta and pizza. Bit exe. Can be a queue to get in but that is because it is great. Will be back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoon Bay, Australia
1 review
“Not worth the wait”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Food was beyond average boring even. Customer service well there was none. We were to find our own table wait in line for 20 minutes for food that we left on the table. Watching them cook was nice but she didn't even make it probably missed ingredients I had asked for. The place was beautiful from what I saw in line . Would never go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What a shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great location. Terrible food and quality. Pasta not cooked properly and taste bad. Not a proper restaurant, more a fast food place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.