We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best service but great food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanazono Teppanyaki

Hanazono Teppanyaki
Shop 8, 9 Hamilton Avenue | Gnd Floor Q1 Resort, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
(07)5539-9804
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not the best service but great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went to Hanazono in a group of 12. The food was great tasting and worth the deal that we got on a website but the show wasn't great. Our chef turned out to be the owner but his skills have definately not been polished recently. He did not even speak any Japanese!! As the visit was to improve our childrens Japanese that was a disappointment. It was definately a lack lustre performance and the corkage fee of $4 per person was a total rip off! We had bottled beers that we opened ourselves......$48 for providing our own drinks in our own bottles, hmmm a money-maker there.... I have been to better Teppanyaki restaurants, sorry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    51
    16
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Very entertaining as you would expect from Teppanyaki. Food and service good. Accommodates kids well. Only negative is the place is not licensed but there is a bottle shop close by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went to this restaurant with another family and I'm sure it is an experience that all of he kids will remember. Chefs put on a great show. Lots of fun. Food was good. Byo is good. Bit expensive even with the 30% discount if you order before 6pm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Recently dined here for lunch with colleagues and found the food and service to be excellent. A vast assortment of dishes to choose from at a reasonable price. You can even have crocodile or kangaroo if you want to! I had the tepanyaki chicken udon noodles and they were delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good but depends what you're use to.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everyone (reviewers) seem to like this restaurant - and it is good but...I've eaten better. Don't get me wrong, it's a great spot and great for families and friends. It's just that I've had better quality Teppanyaki before. However the value for money at Hanazono is pretty reasonable at about $45/head. The Chefs put on a good show, the service is friendly and accommodating. They also offer a 30% discount if you are seated before 6pm. BYO only.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanazono Teppanyaki also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Hanazono Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanazono Teppanyaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.