We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Surfers Residences” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hilton Surfers Residences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Pre-booking directly through Hilton was hopeless and double the price of booking.com. Tried to arrange for 2 single beds in room and this was a chore but did eventuate thankfully - apparently there are only a few 2 bed suites that have 2 single beds in the second room.
Had a horrid smell coming from the bathrooms - apparently this happens when rooms haven't been used for a while??????

Concierge team were fantastic, recommended a wonderful Italian family friendly restaurant "Alfresco" and also helped with a rock climbing adventure for the kids on way back to Brisbane.

Room Tip: Limited single beds in second room, do have sofa beds in lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Lanie B,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry that you found booking directly with Hilton did not meet your expectations, room rates provided to Online websites match those that we have available through Hilton channels so perhaps the difference in price related to the type of apartment quoted on by the Hilton reservations team compared to what you chose online.

The majority of our Two bedroom apartments feature a King bed and a double bed with a sofa bed available in the lounge. We do have a number of apartments where twin beds can be made available in the second bedroom. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs but apologise that it took some time to resolve.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    442
    268
    135
    64
See reviews for
471
540
69
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I can't fault anything during our stay at this hotel. We stayed 3 nights in a 2 bed ocean view residence which was perfect for our family of 2 adults, 2 young teenagers. Level 21. Tower 2 (which is the taller of the two towers - reception is also in this building).
Location: Right in the middle of it all.
Check-in: We arrived very early intending to just drop our luggase in to concierge before heading out to our planned activity - however, the room was ready so we were able to check-in immediately - this was a helfful nice surprise bonus. Check-in staff very friendly, fast & thoughtful.
Room: The room was very clean on arrival & housekeeping was wonderful and very accommodating; on both occasions the lovely lady was happy to come back at a later time and she did a very thorough job cleaning & repleneshing supplies, including clothing & dishwashing detergents. I enjoyed that I had everything I could require in an apartment stay (even tupperware & a juicer), yet had all the usual hotel services at the touch of the "magic" button. We were not disturbed by noisy clubs at this level, only heard faint club music thump on one night, but hardly noticeable. I was told that there was major building occuring below, but we didn't hear any construction noise on either week day - probably as we were facing the ocean & high up - so suggest you ask for same/similar.
Costs: Charges are as expected at all hotels of this class, so no shock there.
Food: We indulged in room service, buffet breakfast & a $49 special at "Salt". Quality of room service food was exceptional. The buffet breakfast was exactly as one would expect, ensure that you go all the way around the corner to find yoghurts, toast, spreads & cereals... we initially missed this part. And take advantage of the cooked to order items - my son loves waffles, these were cooked to order with all his favourite sides. Plus freshly cooked eggs to our liking for the rest of us. Our meal at Luke Mangan's "Salt" was also delicious - yes, we went with the deal, but were not disappointed with our choices - enjoyed a fine meal with our family at a very reasonable price. All food service staff both breakfast & dinner were fabulous.
Entrance: Yes, the reception is set-up differently to most other Hiltons, much more casual and simple.. but not lacking what you need - there is a Concierge... and not sure what an earlier review is talking about... there are bell boys out the front & valet parking too.
Staff: We found all the service staff extremely helpful & friendly. The only bump we had is when we ordered a movie, the sound disappeared.... a technician rectified the situation within minutes.
Overall: You should understand that this hotel/residences has been set-up for "Surfers Paradise" style travel - thus differs to other Hilton properties. We found it provided the best of both worlds. Would stay here again.
Tip: Press that "magic" button & just ask

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Dougies10,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate your feedback.

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay and found that everything met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Hilton has dropped their standard quite a bit at this property. It stands very tall in the heart of Surfers Paradise and would appear all set to deliver an awesome experience but it is very much a let down. Firstly, there is no entrance to allow drop off or valet park or bell boys. The reception area is more like a mall than a luxury 5 star hotel! The room furnishings and decor is pretty cheap and bathrooms are just terrible! About motel or 3 star apartment standard. The bathtub is so small and so old fashioned with glass panels for it to act as a shower also. I am staying at a 2 bedroom ocean view resident and it is only good for the view and nothing else.
Then the worst of all, the service here is awful. I have only been 5 hours and there are so many things that went wrong already, I worry about my next 6 days!
1. I arrive to my room with poorly cleaned bathroom with hair from previous guest in two of the towels and then also empty used shampoo bottles sitting in the shower! I had to call to get replenishment of shampoos
2. after turning the lights on, suddenly the down light casing falls down and hangs off the ceiling requiring yet another call to the desk to have engineers come to fix it!
3. apparently internet is at 29.95 per day and 139 per week!!!
4. my wife was downstairs stuck in getting the lift up as she left her card in the room while I was bathing the kids; and the reception staff refused her entry despite being called to let her up, essentially she waited more than 15 mins and I had to call 3 times to request to have her up as I cannot go down leaving the twins in the bathtub!!!
Totally ridiculous service and facility here at the Hilton! I am thinking of moving to the Marriott tomorrow. Such poor experience that I would ask my hosting company to never ever send their delegates to this hotel. Amazing how this place got 5 stars.

Room Tip: OCEAN view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear JC-knozauhk,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry that you experienced some issues on arrival and I have shared these with the team. Naturally reporting your dissatisfaction while at the hotel is important and something we welcome as it allows us to resolve the issues so that you can enjoy the rest of your stay. It is difficult to ascertain who our guests are who choose to provide a review during their stay on sites such as tripadvisor as we have no way of identification from ID's provided. I do believe, however, that a couple of days into your stay you made contact with the Assistant Manager and your concerns were resolved.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I would love to give this property five stars, however the hotel fell flat in a few areas.

Firstly, the hotel is set in an absolutely fantastic location, right in the heart of Surfers very close to the restaurants,shops and nightclubs (about a 2 minute walk from the lobby). Likewise, the beach is only a five minute walk away, so it ticked all the boxes from me. Notably, checkout was at midday which is extremely good for Australian standards. I did not experience any noise issues (I was on sixth floor, facing the clubs). Staff were very friendly.

On the flip side, when I first got the hotel, I was given the wrong room number, and hence couldn't get into my room, however this was quickly rectified. I also got this hotel with a mystery deal, which came with some extras such as free parking and free wifi (which were fantastic). However it also included a free upgrade to a deluxe room, and in hindsight looking at photos from others and on the hotel, I got the standard room. Even so, what I paid would have been worth it even for this, but is still a little slack on the hotels part.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Ben M,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

It was great to see you enjoyed our location in the heart of Surfers Paradise and our midday checkout. I am pleased you enjoyed your mystery deal at the hotel and note your reference to the photo compared to your room. Owing to the shape of the building each room is slightly different in shape and with different views, some of the deluxe rooms appear similar to the standard but generally Deluxe rooms are from level 6 to 11 in the hotel. I am sorry about the inconvenience caused by provising you with the wrong room number on arrival.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a new hotel just built in 2013 and open this year. I think Hilton has now re-positioned its new hotel to be trendy. As such I think this one in Surfers Paradise is far from the traditional classic and comfort Hilton!!

When the shared shuttle droped me off at the main entrance, I couldn't believe it is Hilton hotel! The entrance and the lobby is ugly, dim, grey and looked old.

The room is very, very basic. Cheap writing desk and couch. Simple bathroom but large. Only shower area and no bathtub. Bed is not 'that' comfortable, particularly when I have checked myself into Hilton Melbourne South Wharf a week later.

I have chosen a room with balcony and view that costs just a little bit higher but I think it worh the extra. But remember the ocean view is NOT full view as Hilton is two blocks away from the beach and so there are some other high rise buidings in front of it. But still the view is nice (but not as good as the one I have stayed in another hotel in Broadbeach).

There is a large swimming pool in the 1/F that looks nice but as it was winter time, it was extremely windy. You simply cannot stay there any longer. There is also an inside heated pool that you can use if you have brought with you a swimming suit.

On breakfast, the choice is average. I will give it a 6 out of 10 score. The dining room is not very large and so even though it is almost full, it is not very noisy. The staff at the restaurant are very attentative and nice.

However, even though my overal comment is not very positive, this Hilton still got my recommendation as remember you are in Surfers Paradise, the prices everywhere can be so hugh. Another point that many reviewers have mentioned is its central location. Bars, restaurants, boutiques, malls and supermarkets are all around you.

Regarding the noise problem, I think you can state it in the remarks when you book the room. I have stated that I require a quiet room and wanted to check in at around 11am, and they all did it. So overall I am satisfied with my stay at this Hilton hotel.

Room Tip: A room with view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear LucerneSau,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for you insights regarding the building design which we accept as your subjective opinion. The hotel was opened in 2011 and is part of a contemporary development that features the hotel and apartments. Hilton manages the hotel and some but not all of the Residences.

We note there were some positives you recognised and thank you for sharing them and enjoyed the service you received at breakfast.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is located on the busiest corner of Surfers Paradise and the street noise and night club music disturbed our sleep every night. The rooms are not very soundproof! However for location it is easily accessed to restaurants and shops and nightclubs if this is what you are looking for? Maybe for young people it would be perfect but definitely not for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Julietse,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate your feedback.

While noting your one star rating for your stay I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our central location. I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise emanating from the surrounding area during your stay.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Even on a Sunday night the noise 15 floors below in Cavill was unbearable. Whats the point of a beachfront view if you cant keep the windows open? The air conditioner also was the driest and stuffiest I have ever experienced. Food as always was good - good quality cooked simply and well. If you go there insist on a north facing room away from Cavill noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear VickiVN,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise external to the hotel and I will pass your feedback on to the engineering team in relation to the airconditioning. It was good to see that you enjoyed the food while at the hotel.

Please let us know your preference for a quieter room when next you choose to make a booking.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location, while the signature restaurant Salt grill by Luke Mangan, is highly awarded and specialises in modern Australian cuisine. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.