We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Location excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My family of 6 stayed here in JAN for a week. We loved the location and compared to some other Gold Coast apartments/hotel, it was still looking fresh and new. The huge downfall would have to be the smell coming from the rubbish chute directly outside our door. The smell and humidity combined was so intense and smelly that we asked to be moved. The smell was coming through the room and you couldn't walk through the hallway without blocking your nose...disgusting!! Anyway, thankfully our request to move was fulfilled and was relocated!! But such shame on this 5star hotel that they have this issue!!

The other frustrating experience about this hotel were the lifts! It was a problem of either too many people waiting for the lifts or having to wait for too long. Such a frustrating and really inconvenient thing we had to experience each time. Breakfast was part of my package I purchased and thank goodness it was because that was truly the highlight of our stay there! Such a huge variety on offer and was a real pleasant way to start the morning...Definitely with paying for!

Overall we enjoyed our stay here at the Hilton Surfers. We always stay every year at Broadbeach but this time we decided on something different. No regrets and we enjoyed the variety of things on offer in Surfers. The proximity to the beach, the shops and various restaurants was fantastic!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room away from the rubbish chute!!! High floor if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear JetSetterMelbourne,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your constructive comments as it assists in identifying where do well and where we can improve.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our location and breakfast at Salt grill. I was sorry to see that your stay was impacted by the garbage odours on your floor. There was a period of time that this issue arose and it took some time to track down the cause of the issue owing to the issue being mechanical in nature. We believe that this issue has now been resolved, and in my daily routine I make sure to visit all floors in the tower you were accommodated to ensure all is in order.

I note your comment regarding the lifts which can take some time when theresidences are busy and appreciate your patience.

We hope to see you back on future travels to the Gold Coast.

Best regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    497
    325
    163
    81
See reviews for
547
635
74
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

i would totally recommend to family's.our stay was great,position was excellent.very very central to all amenitys Try it and iam sure you would like your stay with the Hilton group,the Hilton group take their clients seriously,so if you had any problems they would rectify it as quickly as possible.Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear George V,

Thank you for psoting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

It is truly rewarding for the team at the hotel to see that we have met our guest expectations and thank you for your positive review.

Best regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Upon check in I was told that my request for a high floor was not available. Once in the room, the sleeper couch mattress was not fit for camping. Never mind the price I was paying. The bathroom had NO facet and we were moved after unpacking. The room we were moved to was 10 floors higher!!! So much for not having a high floor available. The room was a bit better and we got a roller bed. Or can I call it a bed??
Whistle noise continually from under the front door. Hallways stank. Room cleanliness poor even after complaining that bathroom never even cleaned. Hotel service and managent disgraceful. The concierge was brilliant. Only staff worth mentioning. Breakfast tables and floor filthy. No staff. Floors outside breakfast room filthy. Working for Sodexo and in management , I can only advise that new management is desperately needed to deal with customers professionally and fix all the problems with staff and cleanliness. Hilton USA head office will be made aware. Poor poor.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dea Asteti,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feeedback as it helps to identify where we can improve.

I have noted all your observations and do apologise that you left with a less than memorable impression. I note that you mentioned that you have provided your feedback to Hilton and apologise for the lack of response. It is difficult to identify our guests through a Tripadvisor ID so if we havent responded as yet, you might like to reach out to me directly at the hotel, as I would appreciate the ability to resolve your concerns directly.

Best regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in the Hotels residence on level 28 in building number 1 during January 2014 and found it to be a very nice clean spacious room with excellent views and comfortable beds. The daily room service provided was excellent and the breakfast was nice, loved the omelettes!
The atmosphere around the pool and bar area was very relaxing, liked the music and bar/food service provided. Lots of lounge areas to sit on perhaps more shade umbrellas around the large pool would have been nice. There are endless towels provided around the pool area which was great!
Excellent customer service from both reception and concierge. I forgot a few of my items in one of the draws in my room and they arranged postage back to me very promptly it was greatly appreciated, thanks Lawrence and Lindee.
The hotel is in a perfect location and everyone is really friendly and accommodating. We will definatley stay there again. Really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: If there is residence in tower 2 choose this tower because you will have direct views of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mary F,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

It was great to see you enjoyed a relaxing time at the hotel staying in a residence in the Boulevard Tower. Our goal is to provide a relaxing stay with our guests able to enjoy the facilities of the property. It is pleasing to see we achieved this for you.

Best regrads,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I parked the car underground after driving from Brisbane airport. Went to the one and only lift with my luggage and stuffed around for ten minutes before walking all the way out of the carpark back to the street and then around to reception. I reported that the lift wasn't working and got the response "yes we know" but it was obviously too difficult to put up a sign
Go up to the room feeling very thirsty only to find a completely empty mini bar in a supposedly five star hotel.
Gave up and went to the pub for a drink and dinner. Luckily it is only a one night stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ewan M,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback,

I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the lift not working and the less than empathetic response from reception. We constantly review our procedures and with regard to minibars in rooms, the decision to not stock the fridges was taken as there was very limited use by guests. We do offer to stock a minibar on request however appreciate this may be less convenient.

Rooms located on the Executive level and suites have a fully stocked minibar. The Food Store located in the lobby offers take away items that can be purchased and taken to a room or apartment. Prices of which are less than a normal hotel minibar offering.

We hope that you might return in the future.

Best regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

It's a shame that a nice and new hotel can open with such poor customer service.

Staff that constantly use guest elevators to go floor to floor for their own work slow guests down... Floor by floor.

Staff that do not greet guests.
Overcrowded breakfast outlet (still with the old paper and highlighter to validate your existence) and a telephone operator that does not answer your call in a timeframe that Hilton would expect much, much faster.

We requested extra towels in the room. 2 phone calls later we finally got them.

We requested our room to be serviced at 9:30 am. On our return at 3pm it was not attended to.

I have to remind myself to lower my expectations.. This is not Four Seasons or Shangri-La, this is Hilton.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear cchait,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was sorry to see that not all aspects of your stay met expectations and your comments have been shared with the team at the hotel so we may learn from your experience.

Best regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

excellent place to be with your family, safe, respectable excellent location, close to every thing, restaurants, beach, cafes, entertainments, shopping, supermarkets, bus services, taxi though you don't need a car unless you want to go outside surfers paradise excellent , friendly, welcoming staff and excellent customer service excellent room with ocean view look for the deals

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear murry56,

Thank you for taking time to post your review, we appreciate your feedback.

It was rewarding for the team to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise and found the level of service provided while with us met your expectations.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#13 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location, while the signature restaurant Salt grill by Luke Mangan, is highly awarded and specialises in modern Australian cuisine. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.