We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Recommended but not a 5 Star Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and Recommended but not a 5 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a beautiful lobby in an excellent location. The pools are fantastic and the food is great. This is the best place on the gold coast due to its location, cleanliness, price and views.

I would give it five stars; however, because it carries the Hilton Name – I must base my review on international standards and have taken away one star due to some service issues.

The Bad:

1. The hotel has all the amenities for a 5 star hotel but does not have the service of a 5 star hotel. There is no warm or personalised feeling to the place. Only staff in the lobby was a single person at the reception desk.
2. I do not think they have a concierge. Upon arrival I was driving around for about an hour looking for a Valet parking which I could not find. Eventually I went into the self-parking car park and dragged everything up.
3. Check in which was quick however no one offered to take care of my luggage. In addition, not much value is giving to Hilton Gold Honors and was offered no upgrade or mention for a upgrade. When I asked if there has been a upgrade – I was looked at in a funny way. It was embarrassing having to ask; but I do not believe this expectation is much in return for our loyalty to a certain name. If they cannot offer a upgrade due to full occupancy – then just say so.
4. Upon checking out I was not given a card to get out of the car park. When I pressed the buzzer security answered and said they could not let me out as I need to go back and get the card. There were about 20 cars behind me and I was told "Put your hazards on and they will get the point.". The car behind me had the same issue. After about 15 minutes we realised it was impossible for everyone to back out, security is stubborn and don’t care, and it was not possible to call the hotel front desk due to no mobile reception. I paid $18 to get out of the car park which was annoying as I had already been charged for parking by the hotel. The car park might be managed by an external company but as I am a Hilton customer and the Hilton told me to park there – they must take responsibility for this issue.
5. In the evening the executive lounge was full of people trying to get drunk from free alcohol before heading out for the night so it was impossible trying to find a seat. Didn’t have that exclusive touch to it.

The good:

1.The hotel is clean.
2.It offers the best location in Surfers Paradise.
3.The rooms are large with spacious bathrooms.
4.Beautiful lobby although I didn’t try any of the restaurants or cafes in the hotel.
5.Awesome ocean views.
6.The pool is amazing. It has 3 pools – not one.
7.Many reviews complained about noise however noise was not an issue.
8.The hotel is child friendly.
9.Good executive lounge with some great snacks, awesome views and attentive staff.
10.Comfortable Beds.

Most of the accommodation in the Gold Coast is self-contained serviced apartments – so it was refreshing having the perks offered by hotels without spending three times the price. I will return to this hotel and if the service has improved, I will update my review.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear allouchem,

Thank you for posting your review from your stay in January this year, I appreciate your feedback.

I have noted all your points and hope that if you return there may be some immprovements over what you had previously experienced.

Please do let me know when you plan to return so I can ensure that your receive the recognition we expect for a valued Hilton Honors guest.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    452
    279
    139
    69
See reviews for
484
557
69
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I had saved up and was really looking forward to the treat of staying in a luxury hotel
I enquired numerous times before check in as to whether or not there was a holding fee fee and how much this was and was told either there was no fee or it was $100 in total for the stay
I arrived at the hotel to find one harried looking worker attempting to check in about 6 or 7 groups of people which was slow going

I got to the front and was told it was a $100 holding fee per night - I was shocked as I didn't have this at that exact moment and was not toldabout it
I was willing to wait as I would have the funds shortly - what I was not prepared for was the humiliation and embarrassment I felt as the check in staff made me feel quite lowly and below them for not having this
I understand this is a lavish hotel but I don't feel anyone should be made to feel like this
The hotel and rooms and view were gorgeous but I doubt I will come back as the service left a very bitter taste I'm my mouth

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear sunlover1985beach,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was sorry to see that you were provided with incorrect information regarding the credit card pre-authorisation process or the need to provide a cash deposit in the absence of a credit card. This is a process that is standard across the industry to ensure that we secure the funds for any incidental charges made during a guest stay. I am sorry for the inconvenience and agree that we should have managed this in a more empathetic manner.

I was pleased to see your enjoyed the hotel and accommodation despite the initial welcome.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This Hotel needs a thorough cleaning, a greater knowledge of offers on their website, more attentive staff. Overall I was disappointed with my stay here with exception of the Spa massage although pedicure was a disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mel J,

Thank you posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was sorry to see you found some cleanliness issues during your stay which have been reported back to the Housekeeping team. I am also sorry that you experienced some inconvenience in relation to the website descriptions. Pleased to see that you did enjoy your massage at Eforea Spa.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel and Residences, we hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We loved our two bedroom apartment on level 43 of the Hilton. We were taken aback by the views of the beach, inlets and mountains.

The master bedroom opened out onto a large terrace that could also be accessed from the lounge. The bathrooms and bedrooms had everything you could need.

The staff were very friendly, and helped us with our bags. This certainly was a treat compared to the last couple of nights in apartments on the way down from Cairns to Melbourne.

We had access to the executive lounge, this was an added bonus and we enjoyed our time using it.

I can't find anything to fault with our stay, and if I'm back in the Gold Coast, this is the place I want to stay.

Others mentioned noise, couldn't hear anything on level 43! The location was also fantastic.

We dined in "Salt" the hotels restaurant. Run by the celebrity chef Luke Mangan. Took advantage of their special fixed price two course meal for $49.50 each. Very high quality and great tasting food.

Will certainly be back!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear jakin4,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in a 43rd Floor Residence in the Orchid Tower. We look forward to seeing you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Roomy apartment, kept very clean and in good condition, great views up the coast, close to beach, shops, restaurants and nightlife. Naturally it's not that cheap but it is worth the money for 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Peter T,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in a Hilton Residence and found everything to be as expected. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel and Residences and we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed in the hilton surface paradise for my schoolies week with four other girls. Even in a time of big stress the staff were very lovely and helpful. Security was brilliant and I couldn't have felt safer. I stayed in the residence ocean deluxe room on level 27 and the view was breath taking. The apartment was fabulous, very modern and had everything we could have possibly needed was available. The king size bed was almost like a trap as once you were in it it was impossible to get out and I haven't slept as well since returning home. Each day we had people come and tidy our unit for us, give us fresh towels and new sheets and even at times helping us with the dishes and stacking the dish washer. I would 100% recommend the hilton surface paradise and will definitely be back! Thank you so much for putting up with all of us schoolies! cheers.

Room Tip: Higher level with front facing ocean views looking over cavil... you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Samanthajane96,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed yours stay during the Schoolies celebrations, our first priority is to ensure the safety and well being of all our guests and I was pleased to see that you felt this was a key benefit during your stay.

We hope to see you back in the future and wish you all the best with your onward journey following the end of your time at school.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

stayed at the hilton residences and friends stayed at the hotel during the GC600. Rooms are pokey, place smelled like there was a rubbish strike on. Hard to to give this place a wrap however f&b at Salt was exceptional as was the service. Pool was ordinary and you had to keep moving to stay in the sun with all tall buildings around. At nightime close your blinds or you will star in a peeping tom show with the preying eyes scouring the rooms for a bit of action.
Just outside are all girlie bars so it gets a bit willing after midnight. I was travelling with family so it was not ideal.
Suggest look elsewhere if you are a family.

Room Tip: the higher up the better view - see photo for example
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear WyeRiver,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was sorry to see that your stay was not entirely as expected. Naturally our location in the heart of Surfers Paradise allows for easy access to the beach and shops and the entertainment venues located close by which add to the variety of night life available in Surfers.

I apologise that there was some garbage odours experienced during your stay, we work hard to ensure a clean and hygienic environment and was disappointed to see that there may have been an issue with the garbage chutes over the time of your stay.

Do let me know if you plan a return visit so we can ensure a more pleasing experience for you.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location, while the signature restaurant Salt grill by Luke Mangan, is highly awarded and specialises in modern Australian cuisine. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.