We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less class and more tack than Paris Hilton!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Less class and more tack than Paris Hilton!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a superior room. This room had no sound proofing so no sleep for us! All we heard all night was screaming drunks and music... The VIP lounge was devoid of food and the only beer available was xxxx. Considering the cost we would not stay here again. Mutton dressed as lamb.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Scott D,

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your stay in November, we appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by surrounding noise and experienced some other shortcomings during your stay.

We hope to see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    450
    275
    138
    68
See reviews for
479
552
69
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Certainly not what I would call a 5 star hotel.. Hotel entrance is very bland. Rooms were very very basic with no wall art, no cushions on the bed or even any color except for the yellow on the coffee table. We were put in a accessible/disabled room so not sure if this was different to the others? Bathroom was old looking for a reasonably new hotel, stain on the carpet was a turn off & no nespresso machine or equivalent only an old kettle. The included breakfast from Food Store was nice & service was so so.. All a bit disappointing really.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear T27G,

Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see in general that your stay met expectations. Being a modern property the interior design of the lobby has captured elements of an urban rather than a typical resort nature.

The bathroom design for an accessible room is different from our other hotel rooms. When the hotel is at high occupancy there sometimes is a need to allocate such a room to guests other than requiring the accessible facilities provided in the design of the bathroom.

Suites in the hotel have a Nespresso machine as part of the offering so you may like to upgrade to one of these rooms if you visit again.

Thanks for staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This Hotel is hidden away behind a very unassuming entry. 2 hour early (not prearranged) check in was flawless and as a Hilton gold member, was upgraded to a better room with executive lounge access. Was also sent an ice bucket with 4 Boutique beers along with a welcome note from the GM. The room, was nice, bright and spacious, but I noticed that the wallpaper on the wall where the bed is was peeling quite badly, which i found odd, given the building is effectively brand new. The Bathroom is very generous but is disappointing in that it has room for a bathtub next to the window, but instead there is just this huge, empty, waste of space. There was a function being held in the executive lounge that we were unaware of, and their food was presented in the food area. we had no idea we were not allowed to have any and were rudely told by a male staff member that this was not for us, but that we could keep what we had on our plate, but that we were not to take any more. That put a bit of a dampener on things.
Breakfast was pretty average and did not consist of any hot components, only cereals, toast and cold cuts, along with tea/coffee/juice/smoothies.
Late checkout was smooth, despite housekeeping showing up twice because they apparently were not made aware of the prearranged 3pm checkout, even though we left about 1:15pm. Other than these minor issues, it is still the "best" hotel in central surfers if that is where you need to be, but do shop around as Hilton have a best price guarantee where they beat a lower rate by USD$50.

Room Tip: North facing rooms give you the best of both worlds with both beach and river/mountain views, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Zok I,

Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that in general you were happy with your stay. I am sorry that there were some maintenance issues in your room and we will follow that up.

Some of our hotel rooms have baths and some only showers, if you book again make sure that you express your preference for a bath. In relation to the Executive Lounge, I am sorry that the explanation received regarding the food for a meeting was not appropriately managed. The Executive Lounge offering includes a light breakfast and evening snacks with drinks. A full breakfast is available at SALT grill.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise and I hope we see you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The entry is uninspiring and the tiled floor could use a good clean. Getting into the hotel is a challenge, particularly with all the roadworks that were going on. The Executive floor is worth consideration. The staff were fine and an upgrade at a small extra cost was not a problem. I would go back provided the rate was kept competitive.

Room Tip: Need an Ocean view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear notsogood_39,

Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay and found the upgrade to an Executive level room was suitable for your needs. I have noted your feedback regarding the lobby tiles and would reassure you that the area is cleaned on a regular basis.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise and we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I must say firstly that it was a bit of a puzzle getting there and actually finding the place. But thankfully with the helpful and useful navigation of staff , I got there and was welcomed into the newly built hotel. It looks remarkable from both the inside and outside.. The carpark is magnificent and large. Because the building also contains residences , consierge were able to upgrade my room to a much higher floor than was originally booked. This was very pleasing to me because after a long day at the golf course nothing was better than sitting back with a warm to hot coffee and enjoying the spectacular view of the Ocean. Everything was ideal and I might add comforting as well. Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise and very close to everything. Would I stay there again? Yes definitely.

Room Tip: If you want a really nice view , ask to be upgraded to a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear samdandashli,

Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and would return to the hotel and residences in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights , not what I expected ,first room toilet would not flush , moved to a second room , overlooked the back of another hotel. Had a meal in the Salt resteraunt, great service , not value for money though. All in all disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear madigliana,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by having to change rooms on arrival at the hotel in May, but was pleased to see that we were able to provide an alternative room. I also have noted your feedback about our popular Salt grill regarding value for money. I am sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise.

Best regards,
Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose the Gold Coast Hilton as a mystery room from a booking website. It was easy enough to
work out that it was the Hilton we were booking. The parking was not easy to find but when we did we could not drop off and check in. We had to park a few levels down and catch the lift up to reception with our bags.
The room was very well appointed with a nice bathroom. The only drawbacks with the room were the location of the towel racks away from the shower and the noise coming from Cavil Avenue until the early hours of the morning.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The provided breakfast was just adequate.

Room Tip: Make sure you try to get a room that does not face Cavil Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Peter451,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, we appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that in general your stay appears to have met your expectations, noting your observations regarding parking and bathrooms.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location, while the signature restaurant Salt grill by Luke Mangan, is highly awarded and specialises in modern Australian cuisine. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.