We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. As a travel agent I will be recommending this hotel over any other in surfers paradise.

I could not fault this hotel in any way. Amazing staff who were more then happy to help with anything. Rooms were stunning and beds were so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Marnie15,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay and experience at Hilton Surfers Paradise.

It is fantastic to hear that you found the hotel so enjoyable and we pride ourselves on being a team that is engaging and welcoming to all those that visit the Hilton.
Guest comfort is one of our highest priorities and I am delighted to hear that you found the facilities to your liking and will be recommending us to others.

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton should you visit us again.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    450
    275
    138
    68
See reviews for
479
552
69
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

I've stayed in many Hilton hotels around the world. As a rule, as a business customer, the Hilton is usually a safe reliable bet. This is perhaps one of the main reasons why I was so disappointed with this poor excuse of a Hilton. But let's look at the facts...

Hilton Surfers Paradise was built from scratch by Hilton in the centre of Surfers Paradise.

Surfers Paradise is a diverse busy tourist destination, popular with students for example. To be avoided at all costs during Australian "schoolies", when SP is invaded and trashed by the thousands. Schoolies are the equivalent of Spring Break celebrations in the US.

When I stayed at the Hilton I stayed with work and for one week. I was put on the 15th floor of the hotel. This is the top floor of the hotel in terms of rooms (residential apartments rise to the 55th floor). Indeed the "executive lounge" is on the 15th floor. And here is the first dramatic error of judgement Hilton made... The hotel rooms should have been on the top of the 55 storey tower, not at the bottom 15, certainly not when Hilton failed miserably to insulate the rooms agains noise!

The hotel is double glazed throughout. Unfortunately it's clearly not enough. Even 15 floors high the noise on a week night in my "executive suite" was just impossible from nightclubs all around the hotel. That's right, Hilton decided to erect two towers in the middle of the red light district of SP, and it shows. Clubs in Australia can operate 24/7, and at 2am I was in reception complaining I couldn't sleep. To my astonishment I wasn't alone, there were 3 other guests doing exactly the same.

The truth is Hilton could have avoided this if they wanted, it screams of mismanaged investment to me. A triple glazed building would probably have sufficed, instead the Hilton have ruined any prospect of business repeat visitors.

Saff readily admitted this was a recurring problem when i complained. I was promptly moved to a residential 2 bed room apartment 20 floors above!

Sure the view was breathtaking, but believe it or not, come Friday night I was yet again permeated with the impossible beats of nightclubs all night long, floor: 35th.

The hotel failed on two more important counts:

It was built AFTER a new development called Soul was initiated, so Hilton knew their sea view would be significantly blocked, this is a shame, as it does make a big difference. Instead of an oceanic view you get a building site view with ocean on the sides...

Finally, but by no means least important, children are allowed in the "executive lounge". This is just unacceptable. I go to the lounge to relax, chill out or hold a meeting not to hear screaming children breaking canapés on the floor and making a mess. Seriously Hilton, get a grip!

If you're travelling on business the Hilton is to be avoided. The area is served by much better options.

A serious disappointment. Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear GusMcEwan

Hilton Surfers Paradise has now been opened for 2 months and I am happy to say the vast majority of our customers are enjoying the facilities that are on offer.

This purpose built hotel facilitates the needs of varying groups focusing on couples, families, business events and corporate business in general.

I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and we have investigated the noise incident that you spoke about on that evening and we are working with our local partners to avoid a recurrence of your issue.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at this 5 Star hotel on a Saturday and Sunday. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world!! Amazing Rooms, best Pool and Recreation Area and great location. Check out Fix Bar - Amazing!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear TigersGreat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

FIX bar we believe is a great hidden gem and I am very pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed the facilities. The location of the hotel certainly adds to ones stay and we are delighted to be able to offer the style and service of the Hilton balanced with the Energy of Surfers Paradise. I am glad that you had such a great time during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

3 years ago we had trouble finding coffee to our liking in Surfers Paradise but this time it was much easier and the coffee at the Food Store inside the entrance to the Hilton is excellent. We went back there at least 3 times even though we were staying at Mantra.
The staff were extremely attentive and friendly and chatted about places of interest etc.

Salt grill (we had to book) was also good but rather expensive.

Room Tip: Just used cafe and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Uk2Wellington,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent experience at The Food Store and dining experience at Salt grill.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the product and found it enticing enough to return. We have invested a lot of time in finding great local produce and making your experience at the Hilton memorable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you be in the area again.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I recently stayed at the hilton in a hotel room for 2 nights. reception staff were friendly. requested an ocean view room, was only half an ocean view, as we had a view of the pool and rooftops of nearby shops. Booked a deluxe room but it didnt feel very DELUXE at allThe bathroom smelt a little bit, which is weird considering it had only just opened that month. There was no furnishings on the balcony, not even a chair or 2. Room service was way overpriced, $19 for a small piece of chicken ( i was shocked). They forgot the sourcream and sweet chilli sauce with my wedges. Spa was amazing, friendly staff also had an all over massage but left there with oil all thru my hair. Service was prompt, nice bathroom products supplied and bathrobes with slippers a bonus. Handy to everything as its right in the heart of it all.

Room Tip: Go to the residences not the hotel, as thay are better equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear CrystalL,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise.

It is encouraging to read that you found the service of the team and the amenities provided in your room to your liking.

I am disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations in regards to in room dining and that you found that the pricing was not in line with your expectations.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable time in the spa and you found the location of the hotel appropriate to your needs. We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton in the future.
Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed here, in October, for business. THe room was excellent, modern but very stylish with everything one could need. the bathroom was to die for.

The location is excellent if opne wants to be in the heart of Surfers. Getting to the hotel for the taxi was difficult as one has to go around a number of blocks.

The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. I was provided with a glass of iced water while sitting in the lobby waiting for my taxi (It was a very warm day).

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view room. "Hinterland" views only really look at the other hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear BTDMSydney,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise.
I am very happy to hear that you found the location of the Hilton to your liking. It is great to note that you found the service of the staff and the facilities of the hotel excellent and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton to enjoy the ocean views.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

Very hateful to the ladies on reception in letting us check in early. We were tired and grumpy at 9am after a horrible flight in and just want to extend our thanks to reception for facilitating an earlier check in. We love the room, especially the bed and living area plus balcony. What a gorgeous hotel. I will be recommending to all and will only stay here when in the gold coast. Ohh and gorgeous coffee from the food store this AM. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear RenaePayne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise, and thank you for extending your gratitude to the front desk team, I will ensure this feedback is passed on. I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you in this instance and that your early check in made your stay with us even more enjoyable.

I am delighted to note that you found the coffee at the food store great, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Surfers Paradise when you are next on the Gold Coast.
Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences

Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location, while the signature restaurant Salt grill by Luke Mangan, is highly awarded and specialises in modern Australian cuisine. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.