We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wrong Choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hinterland Day Tours

Scenic Hinterland Day Tours
14/9 Beach Road, Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
0755315536
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic Hinterland Day Tours offers the best selection of Day Tours on the Gold Coast. Visit the most popular attractions South East Queensland has to offer at the best prices GUARANTEED! Compare other brochures, see our extra value for the same tours. Take up our latest offer of book any two tours and receive O’Reilly’sfull day tour absolutely FREE. Although the majority of your tour is spent at your chosen destinations, we understand that coach comfortis also an integral part of your day tour. Depending on passenger numbers, both small deluxe (21 seater) and luxury coaches are used for maximum comfort during your travel. So why not, sit back, relax and have aqualified tour guide show you the places you’d never find!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Wrong Choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We only had a few days in Surfer's Paradise and wanted to make the most of the sunshine before heading back to our cold & snowy home so we perused the brochures at our hotel for a tour that would get us out to see some of the countryside and was scheduled at night. The Glow Worm tour seemed the perfect fit, at $97 pp for 3 of us, it was quite an investment but we hoped it would be worth it, we were wrong!

While personnel were friendly and knowledgeable (including the driver, tourguides, gift shop operators), the tour itself was quite lacking. I don't understand what on that tour could be worth $100 each.

The "Glow Worm" stop was interesting, but the man-made grotto seemed a little "hokey" --all you could see were some tiny little lights stuck in around the rocks and they keep it pitch dark in there, warning about spiders all around, so who wants to look closely and try to verify if there are really any "worms"? Then we walked through the rainforest while our guides pointed out some interesting foiliage and wildlife (which consisted of a few mice and a well-fed possum in the trees above the gift shop).

The next stop was Springbrook Observatory. This was actually wierd -- a very cluttered office/gift shop area with a big telescope out back which was housed in a separate, but similarly cluttered building with a removable roof But, alas, it was too cloudy to actually look through the telescope so we were invited to sit on any number of chairs arranged in a circle around the room (everything from old lazy boys to retro kitchen stools). While the astronomer host was very nice and seemed knowledgeable (I would not know enough to question his authority), it just seemed very unreal. Again I question why this tour would ever cost $100pp - it's certainly not the watery tea and hot chocolate offered with sponge-cake at the observatory.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    29
    4
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“O'Reilly's Tambourine Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We cannot recommend this tour too highly. To be able to get so close to such treasures of nature as our wonderful rain forests and have the benefit of an enthusiastic and highly competent driver/tour guide like Keith made for a trip we will remember for a very long time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful day out with beautiful scenery and the driver was an excellent tour guide, just a few of the many key highlights that made the activity worth while.
Thanks keep up the good work!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Australia zoo tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The coach arrived promptly at 7.40am to pick us from our hotel we arrived at the zoo at about
10 am. We spent 6 hours at the zoo and the guide Gary picked us from the zoo at 4.15 pm.

So we had lots of time at the zoo!
We watched the crocodile show at the zoo at about 12.30 and had lunch at the food court there.
There were many attractions at the zoo and we particularly liked the kangaroos!
There were many kangaroos lying on the big piece of grass area where we can feed, touch an
take many photos with them!

Other photo opportunities include photos with koala bear, snake and alligator.

Other interesting animals in the zoo include very colorful and beautiful birds, sleeping wombats!
elephants, giraffes, rhino, red panda, and many other animals.

There was ample time to go round the zoo.
We liked this zoo.
Only problem we had was that there was no bottled water or drinks available after about
3.30pm! So please buy drinks before 3 pm if possible !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day up in Springbrook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I recently took a tour up to Springbrook mountain and Buck's exotic fruit farm. We loved every minute and thought it was worth every penny. Garry was our driver and he was wonderful, talkative and informative but left you alone if you wanted to spend time taking pictures and exploring on your own. A perfect tour guide. The waterfalls and rainforest were spectacular (you don't see this type of thing back in the USA) and we couldn't get over how beautiful everything was. We loved our lunch at the English cottage (Springbrook manor) and Garry knew the perfect time to take us before it got too crowded. The food there was just delicious. Ending the day at the fruit tasting and seeing all of the products that Buck and his family made out of his all organic fruit was the perfect ending to a perfect day. Definitely worth the money and Garry picked us up at our hotel as well as dropped us off which is included in the price. If anyone is wanting to see a different more serene side of the Surfer's Paradise area this is the day tour to go on! We loved every minute, thanks again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic Hinterland Day Tours also viewed

Springbrook, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Scenic Hinterland Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hinterland Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.