We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross 4WD Tours

Southern Cross 4WD Tours
5/3078 Surfers Paradise Blvd, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
+61 7 5574 5041
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$73*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Cross 4WD offers a range of 4WD Eco-Tours and customized packages throughout the Gold Coast Hinterland and surrounds. From Guided nature walks, animal spotting and bird feeding to off-road driving, wine tours, conferences and overnight camping, every tour is a unique experience and is catered around what YOU want to do! A day with SC4WD as a real experience not just another bus tour.Over 16 years of Hinterland Tour experience
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We took this trip recently and had the most amazing day. We were picked up in a very smart 4WD car, it looked brand new and was really comfortable. There were only 4 of us on the tour so it was almost like having a private tour. Our tour guide Royd made the day really good fun and also because he was local to the area was able to tell us a lot about the places we visited. We drove off road up the bumpy mountain track which I loved. There were lots of little extras, like a boomerang lesson ( we had this again with another tour but they just let one person throw a boomerang twice and then tried to sell us all a boomerang), a whip cracking lesson, both were great fun. Lunch was included, as a vegetarian I was a bit wary about this because it was a BBQ, but it was really nice, it was away from the crowds and we had a swim in a nice, clean stream. Really relaxing and we had a lot of laughs as well.

I would thoroughly recommend this tour, it's very good value for money compared to others and much better quality. I would recommend taking a full day for this rather than a half day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic 4WD in Gold Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

"We were in Gold Coast in November 2012. We have tried a 4WD experience with Southern Cross 4WD.

We were a family of 7 pax (3 young children, my parents and us).

Royd was our guide for that day.

He was very informative and knowledgeable about the area he brought us to.
We were on this full day private arranged tour and we have no clue what to do with the itineraries.

Southern Cross brought us to the Tamborine mountain to try out a 4WD off road experience. Subsequently, we have some morning tea in a church building. As we have missed the timing for a pre-arranged glow worm tour, we instead headed for a hiking in the rain forest at Joalah, section of Tamborine Mtn whereby Royd introduced the destruction of the tree by Termites, showed us some turkey and their nest and a waterfall. Then we head off to the glow worm caves for a glow worm visit. We have a short visit at the Gallery Walk when we request to have a wine tasting session. Royd introduced us to the winery called the Boutique winery. They have lovely wines there.

After that, we headed to a farm for a privately arranged BBQ meal to have a sumptuous lunch. You could choose fish, chicken or beef for the main meal and plenty of greens and fruits as well.
After lunch, we have a go at boomerang throwing, whip cracking and running around the farm for the children.


Therafter, we went to the mountain around O-Reilly's whereby we went for a treetop walk and we seen fantastic view of the mountain around O-Reilly's. We even have bird feeding session there where lots of bird and parrots perch on our head and shoulder during the feeding session.

As it is coming to an end of the trip, Royd brought us to a lookout point where we have a spectacular view of the Gold Coast scenery from far. We have taken a lot of photograph here as well.

Overall, it was good entertainment for us as Royd was able to arrange so much items into one day trip and he was also very fun and humorous to be with. We even spotted many Kangaroos and Wallabies along the drive. He is a really good guide to be around with."


One point to remember, You should use the wifi on board to detail your location on Facebook.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gold coast Lamington National Park And Tamborine Mountain 4WD Eco Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a fab time time on this all day tour .the off road driving was lots of fun. We were given lots of information about the areas we were traveling in. Lunch was delicious royd did a great job on the bbq, Enjoyed the tree top walk and wild bird feeding at O'relilys .I even got a birthday cake. Excellent value for money would highly recommend this tour

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A must in Gold Coast..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

When I arrived at Gold Coast, I was quite disappointed with d whole area as it was laid back n quite...but after I took this tour on d second day, my family n I were overwhelmed by d activities the tour has included in d package..there was bush walking, parrots, lunch, gift shops n of course our fantastic guide, Neville...thanks to u guys for d wonderful experience..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Vale Qld
2 reviews
“Gold Coast hinterland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The all day tour was brilliant from start to end. Neville is insightful and informative. We went off road driving, walking in a rainforest, m/t at gallery walk, lunch at a farm in behind Canungra and a tree top walk at o'reilly's. Great views, great food, great guide, GREAT EXPERIENCE for all ages.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Cross 4WD Tours also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Springbrook, Gold Coast
 

Been to Southern Cross 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross 4WD Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.