We looked for a 4 star hotel as we wanted to stay somewhere nice with amenities. The reviews of this hotel were mixed but decided to give it a go, given the positive ones were quite good. We don't usually do reviews with such a low rating, however given our experiences here we really felt we had to do an honest review. We like to check out other people's reviews to try to help us with our travel plans so thought we had better contribute.
Shuttle service to and from airport great, nice friendly drivers. They didn't have kids car seats but we had taken our own so not an issue for us. So if you need them, better to check that they will have them when you get there or take your own although it is luggin around quite a bit. First impressions at arrival is, where is the reception of this 4 star hotel? Arrived and they had free luggage storage, great. There are roadworks in the Gold Coast at the moment, affects the main street. Luckily we were on the top floor so the sound was not too bad. Good location, a short walk to the shops and touristy things at Cavill Avenue where there is also supermarket. Finally checked in. The lady at reception said she had called to advise that the room was ready earlier but I did not receive any calls. No bellboys, you need to take your bags yourself. There was an girl who accompanied us to our room, who was doing a hard sell on the hotel's time share scheme. We did not want this at the time of check in as tired travellers and found it difficult to politely excuse ourselves so we could attend to the kids who were knackered. We were open to attending but only if one of us did so, which they did not allow and we did not want to leave the kids with anyone even if they did have a kids club. We found that Wyndham had little "stalls" all over the Gold Coast promoting their time share presentations, luring you in with cheap tourist attraction tickets. So if you can be bothered to sit through it you can get some discounts but it was not for us.
The hotel room smelt horribly of air freshener and was not clean. Bathroom was flithy. There were yellow urine stains around the base of the toilet, and a terrible blocked drain smell. On closer inspection we saw what looked like rotting toilet paper in the floor drains. Reception arranged for a cleaner to do the toilet, who showed up with a soapy towel to do a "full service". They didn't have a solution for the smell. The rooms were also dusty and did not look like it had been serviced ready for new occupants. The blocked drain smell never went away. We had advised reception, and a manager about the smell and that it should be cleaned, it was never done. We had to leave the fan on all the time to try to dispel it. The beds were rock hard, the trundler was slightly better. One of our blankets was filthy with marks and discolouration which we did not discover until we were leaving. The top floor was great however, lovely view of the hinterland. We had requested an ocean view without paying the $20 extra to guarantee it, and got a hinterland room instead, but we really enjoyed it. Lovely to see the water during the day and the nights at night. Totally recommend the higher floors. We had lovely large sliding doors so we could open them up to get a breeze. Unfortunately we could not open these doors very often as the neighbours were smokers and would always be out on the deck smoking and the smoke would come into the rooms and the ash onto our side of the deck. Recommend checking that your neighbours are non smokers.
The rooms are not serviced only a service after 7 days, so you need to keep up with cleaning your own towels. Fully contained with most things you need, washing machine and drier were great, dishwasher which we didn't need, and oven stove and microwave. Handy when have kids and/or you want to prepare your own meals on holiday to avoid fast food all the time and save a bit of money. We just shopped at the local Woolworths and Coles supermarkets at Cavill Avenue although there is a convenience store across the road and a bottle shop nearby too. Very handy. We did get a vacuum from reception as it needed a vacuum well before 7 days.
The pool was lovely, heated tepid with a bit of sand that the kids can play in. Nice warm spa pool next to it. Recommend taking your own pool towels if you have room in your luggage as they charge $3 per pool towel. There is no playground, but the pool was a big hit with the kids. There is a bbq area that has a stainless steel grill and we never used it. Also a gym also never used it. They had some discounts with our package, including WIFI a fixed amount. Found it was not good reception on top floor, better reception at level 1 though. No facilities to print although reception did offer to print if we emailed them a document.
The buffet breakfast was good, had a fair selection hot food, cereals, fruit, not overly flash but we were happy with it, lots of kid friendly cereals as well. Bar staff very friendly and helpful. The espresso which you pay extra for was great. The percolated free coffee was too weak, so worth it paying for a nice espresso. Reception Staff helpful with buses. A short walk to the bus stops to access the theme parks and the shopping malls. We just bought Go Cards and put some credit on it from a 7 Eleven and got around with those. You can get refund of card deposit and remaining credit from the Tourist Info stall at Cavill Avenue and other places.
Good they had DVD hires at the hotel.
The reception area not very obvious, we arrived at the other side where they had the drop off area which was not very flash. They have pamphlets for the various tourist attractions and some restaurant takeaways. The Chinese Restaurant downstairs were horribly rude so we didn't take our business there. The Italian place was nice, friendly, the food ok. Vapiano at Cavill Avenue was awesome. Pancakes in Paradise close by was good, not flash but yummy pancakes and so filling if you get the largest stack.
So overall, I wouldn't go back. Barely 4 stars in our experience. More of a 3 star experience, although that does not mean a 3 star would be less clean. On arrival you don't really get the impression of a 4 star hotel. The hotel room was substandard without the basic need to be clean. Some of the furniture and cutlery plates chipped etc. Some of the other services and amenities they had were great, including the breakfast and pool which we really enjoyed. If you do not want to be marketed to for a time share then you may want to avoid. Fairly close to all amenities and accessible to public transport to access the tourist attractions. But a hotel room with the smell of blocked drain is not something we would return to.
Ask for as high a floor as you can to get away from any traffic noise. Both sea and hinterland view...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.
I am so sorry to hear the issues that you endured during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies for our lack of attention to detail and cleanliness of your unit. The cleaning issues that you have reported are completely unacceptable and I will be discussing this with housekeeping. I will also be addressing staff on the way this was handled (or by the sounds of it not handled) when you were kind enough to bring this to our attention.
I will follow up with the cleaning issues you encountered and if you would like to discuss this further we would love to hear from you. Our phone number is 07 5579 6500 or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Please also be advised that we currently have our management staff inspecting rooms prior to guest arrival to ensure that this serious issue is not encountered again.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the apartment facilities, the pool area and the view from your room. We want you to know how much we appreciate your visit to the resort, and how much we value you as a guest. We hope that you will give us another opportunity at Wyndham Surfers Paradise in the future as I am confident we will exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your comments.
The Management Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.