We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best residence in Surfers Paradise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3018 Surfers Paradise Blvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not the best residence in Surfers Paradise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We did not have a reservation when first arriving in Surfers Paradise so we decided to wing it using our experienced "nose" to find a 2BD residence. There are tons of available residences online but for us we like to see what we get prior to spending.

The two bedroom was, ok, 17th floor with a distant ocean view. The biggest problem was that they service the apt. only once a week and not well at all so we felt like we were living rough. Once a week for $249 AUD is some expensive.

The pool area was ALWAYS filthy. The elevators often full with armies of potential clients for the time share options. Buyer beware! Breakfast was just plain bad.

Avoid this one...

P.S. Full disclosure, we were there over Christmas/New Years 2010/2011 the drop down starts only in Feb. 2011

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyndhamsp, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear EskB,

Thank your taking the time to place a review of our resort and your stay from 1 year ago

We appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative as it makes us aware of which areas need improvement

As we are a resort and not a hotel, we do not offer daily servicing. We keep our rate as low as possible due to not offering the inclusions that a hotel would. When the room is serviced the rubbish is removed, towels are replaced, bed linen is replaced and remade, light bathroom clean, vaccum and mopping of floors, replacement of condiments and amenities. If the service was not completed to our standard, please let us know so we can follow up with housekeeping. We do not know if there are issues unless we have been notified. In the rare occasion the rooms have not been serviced to standard, the cleaners are sent up to re-service the room.

Our public area cleaners work constantly throughout the day from as early as 3am, to ensure our resort is spotless. This includes cleaning of 17 corridors, the large pool and BBQ area, reception, bar & cafe, ground floor, etc. This is a very big job for the small team and they keep up a great standard. As the pool area is occupied by guests all throughout the day, there is always going to be something that needs tidying. Our cleaners roam this area throughout the day and clean constantly. I do apologise if this was not up to standard when you used the pool and BBQ area.

As we have 192 units in the resort including in-house owners, permanent tenants, guests and Worldmark Club Owners, we are constantly busy all through out the day. Unfortunately we cannot help that our lifts are busy which is why the resort was built with 3 rather than 2

When you stayed in February 2011, almost 1 year ago, we had only just implemented our buffet breakfast & breakfast menu. It was only on a trial basis to see if our guests liked the service and to get as much feedback as possible to provide what our guests wanted. After a few months, our breakfast was up and running properly and we have had a full bar/lounge almost every morning for the past year. I apologies that you did not enjoy your breakfast, if you happen to have breakfast with us again you will find that it is now a great success and provides a range of everything

Our high season is the end of December & all of January, where we run at nearly always 100% every night over this period. Because this is high season, our rates are higher than if you were to stay in the mid year. The rates drop again at the very end of January. February although being 'low season' is also a very busy time of year with guests waiting until after the Christmas/New Year rush. Our rates are also determined by the current market - we keep our rates inline with all of the other resorts in Surfers Paradise, and most of the time we end up being cheaper.

I apologies if our resort was not as you expected and if you did not enjoy your stay

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future so we can show you how great our resort and standard really is

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    83
    27
    16
    3
See reviews for
85
86
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spilsby
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights 21st December as a family of 7, in 3 Delux apartments. If we had realised we could have saved the cost of one apartment as advertised as "2 double beds" meant one double bed in 2 rooms. Spacious is the word for the apartments with all facilities, kept clean and smart with wonderful balcony views both inland and towards the Ocean. We could have stayed longer very happily but we had other visits planned within Oz. The resort was superb with easy access to the local attractions which pleased our grandchildren. Our special thanks go to the staff who were without exception, extremely helpful, cheerful and efficient. From our first experience with reception, which included a helpful guided tour from a young lady of the facilities (swimming pool, bar and BBQ area), to being given helpful "tourist information" to aid our short visit, we could find no fault with the staff. Our only minor criticism relates to the cost of internet access, which should be free in all hotels as it is in many hotels around the world, but appears to be an "extra" in most Australian hotels. A minor annoyance for holidaymakers looking to book local attractions as opposed to "expense account" of business people. Rooms had evidence of occupation from previous visitors with minor "scuff marks" on the walls. There is no restaurant but there are many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance (many of which have free wi-fi access). That aside, we are looking forward to a further visit to Wyndham on a future visit to Oz (we visit every other year to family ex-pats).
Anita & John

Room Tip: From our experience, the relatively low extra cost for delux rooms is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Hi Anita & John,

Thank you for taking the time to place your lovely review of our resort on Trip Advisor

We love our resort and think we are in the perfect location and have great facilities. We are so glad to hear you think the same!

As we are a resort and not a hotel, free internet service is something that we do not provide. You will find that most resorts do not offer this these days, whereas hotels still do. However, we provide the service of being able to book ANYTHING you wish, any tours, transport or themepark tickets, even checking you in for your flight. Next time you stay with us, please remember we are here to help you enjoy your stay, and can book anything for you rather than you having to do it yourself.

I have forwarded your review onto all of our staff to thank them for their outstanding service

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 13th floor for a week in early December. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The air conditioning in particular was excellent, having separate controls for the bedroom to the living area. our room faced the hinterland rather than the ocean, but the views were still excellent. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. Our only gripe with our stay was the over zealous attempt by one if the staff members on check in to have us sit through a presentation to sell time share or something like that. We made it very clear to her that we were not interested, though she tried multiple times to encourage us to merry with get at a later time. She even asked if she could contact us later in the day in or room. After declining the offer she did get the message and the remainder of our stay was hassle free. The proximity to quality restaurants and the beach made it an excellent choice. We wouldn't hesitate to start here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear AntonRic,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our resort on Trip Advisor

We are so glad to hear your enjoyed our resort and rooms! I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our hinterland view. Most guests tend to request and ocean view, however it is not much of a view of a night time. The hinterland view on the other hand, is beautiful at night.

Thank you for notifying us of the issues regarding our sales staff. As we are a combined property of regular resort rooms and Worldmark Club rooms, our sales staff want everyone to experience the Club and what it has to offer. However in saying that, they should also not be making our guests uncomfortable and pushing them into attending a presentation. We will be following this up with our sales department to ensure all staff are trained thoroughly.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

We checked in on Xmas eve for the two nights. Reception was in an odd place where its quite its hard to see unless your heading closer inside where the restaurant bar is.

Room was not in good order. First problem was bed sheet was filled with holes. We thought it was strange because its a 4.5 star apartment not 3 star. The dryer's door won't close. They really need to replace that. Shower head had problems & we needed up fixing it ourselves. Last problem was dishes were unclean from the last tenant & we end up cleaning them.

So many issues and its not worth the price of our stay. It's a lifetime experience of nightmares & I don't recommend this place unless they do something about updating the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear GucciBabe,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our resort on Trip Advisor

We appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative as it makes us aware of areas where we need to improve

In regards to our reception being on level 1, the council would not allow the reception area to be the ground floor due to the large footpath & bus stop that they required out the front of our resort. Because of this, all of our ground floors plans had to be changed and we were forced to move our reception upstairs. It is not ideal, however we have two large entrances to our resort and haven't had any issues of guests not finding us.

I am sincerely sorry of the issues of your room, bed & tumble dryer. There is no excuse for this and our rooms should be up to our 4.5 star standard. I am not sure if you notified reception of this however we would have replaced all linen and remade the beds, fixed the dryer & shower head. We shouldn't have any issues in the room, but we don't know to fix them if we are not notified. Housekeeping do not use the dryer in the rooms which is why this may have been missed, but should have notified us of the shower.

As our resort is only 2.5 years old, we are in no need for an upgrade/refurbishment, but I definitely agree that our standard was dropped when cleaning your room, and there should not have been any issues whatsoever. I will be following up with our housekeeping and maintenance departments to ensure all rooms are checked thoroughly before being called to reception as ready.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future, so we can show you what our great high standard really should be.

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

When I had booked here I was sceptical - one of the only places available at a reasonable price a week before Xmas holidays. Finally before confirming I had to make sure and read every review site I could find. In the end with the reviews as they are I decided why not.

Upon arrival well before standard check in time Caroll at the front desk checked and ensured my room was available to check in early. We had some miscommunications over the deposit but she took it upon herself to make sure it was resolved without issue. She was an amazing help and great first impression!

The building and rooms are very well presented. The decor is modern yet suited to the style of holiday destination and thankfully minus the wicker furniture!

The facilities and amenities on site mean u really don't have to leave. Breakfast on site buffet $15! Why walk to a cafe for 2 pieces of toast?! The pool and BBQ area are also pleasant and very well taken care of. Will be using those this afternoon :)

Usually I wait to leave a property before putting this up but couldn't wait - very impressed :)

One slight downside... Maybe one more person during breakfast woul be good. The lady on Xmas day was a little flustered with requests coming from all sides to clean up and for more this an that. I did feel sorry for her :(

Otherwise I will most likely be back in December next year for my annual break!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Hotwog4all,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our resort on Trip Advisor.

I am glad you stayed even after reading some negative comments. It is very disheartening to read the bad reviews, but we still have guests who stay regardless and enjoy it here as much as we do. We are extremely grateful for this and for guests like yourself

I have forwarded this review onto Caroll so she can be reminded of what a great asset she is to our team and to keep up the great work. She is a fantastic staff member and has outstanding customer service

Thank you for your understanding regarding our very busy Christmas breakfast! Unfortunately we were unable to provide enough staff, and our Food & Beverage Manager Simmone had an extremely busy morning. Most guests were understanding of this, which made it a lot easier for her

We are looking forward to welcoming you again next Christmas! If you email us directly, please remind us that you are a return guest so we can offer you a discount

Thank you again for your lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed for 3 or 4 nights in March 2011. I think we had one of their deluxe 1 bedroom apartments. We really loved the modern furnishings and the full kitchen - it was the sort of apartment you could permanently live in. The room was clean, and there was a nice big balcony. We were on the side of the building overlooking the Gold Coast hinterland, which is quite a nice view.

Everything was great here. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a package deal we'd booked online and this included breakfast. The food was very good, and it really was excellent value considering what we'd paid.

We also like the location as it's a fairly short walk to the 'main drag' of the Gold Coast, and also the beach. We were on the 7th floor, and found that there isn't too much traffic noise from the Gold Coast Highway. We used the gym, and found this facility to be good. The pool area is nice and modern too.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNSurfersParadise, Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear AmandaMaree81,

Thank you for taking the time to place your lovely review of our resort on Trip Advisor.

It gives us great pleasure reading reviews such as yours, and hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay and love the resort as much as we do.

We agree that Wyndham Surfers Paradise is somewhere you could live permanently, and we have a lot of guests who think the same and moved in!

Once again thank you AmandaMaree81 for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, and we really love it! The apartment is equipped with dishwasher,microwave,washing machine,dryer and kitchen utensils including cutlery. Everything is clean. We also get complimentary undercover car park where we can park our rented car. Location wise is alright, about 4 blocks away from the busy surfers paradise. However, the reception was not very friendly when we check in. No housekeeping, therefore you need to call reception to refil your toilet paper etc. Need to wash and dry your own towel(washing machine) etc. Need to wash your own dishes(dishwasher). Need to dispose rubbish to designated rubbish chute located near the lift. A bit of housework....apart from that, we really love it!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNSurfersParadise, Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Hk1999,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and were happy with the facilities in your apartment. We take pride in our resort and love hearing about our guests recent stays.

In regards to reception not being friendly on check in, I apologise for this and will be speaking to all staff to ensure we are keeping the high standard of customer service that we are known for. I apologise that this was lacking during your check in and can ensure that this will be followed up.

In regards to no daily servicing and having to clean your towels, etc, as we are a resort and not a hotel unfortunately we do not provide daily servicing. That is why our apartments are equipped with such facilities as dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier so that you can cater to this yourself. Most guests do not like the housekeeping service which is why they would prefer to book a resort over a hotel. Resorts are generally cheaper than hotels of the same standard as we do not provide daily servicing, we do however provide a service for stays of 7 nights or more. We do replenish the condiments and amenities and can also replace the dirty towels with clean ones free of charge. However yes unfortunately you do have to contact reception if you require extra amenities or fresh towels.

Once again thank you Hk1999 for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Blvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.