We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a beach facing apartment if possible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Circle on Cavill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Circle on Cavill to your Saves list
Mantra Circle on Cavill
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get a beach facing apartment if possible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very well appointed apartment, spacious light and clean. The only down side was the construction work on the Gold Coast light railway starts at six in the morning and goes on into the night, very very noisy! obviously not the fault of the hotel. Request a beach facing room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Ozzyjock

Thank you for your review of the well-appointed apartment, cleanliness and views. The Light Rail project is coming to an end very shortly, the works being completed is the beautification process to install the stations, footpaths and palm trees. We look forward to the project being completed and the Light Rail bringing a convenient transport system to the Gold Coast. For other reviewers of this post, the works are very minimal and noise complaints are next to none, please do not be concerned on any noise issues from this project should you be considering a stay at Circle on Cavill. Thank you for your tips to select a Ocean View apartment.

Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    321
    136
    78
    71
See reviews for
298
347
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2br apartment at circle on Cavill and upon check in we were told that the aircon wasn't working and that we would need to spend a night at the apartment as no other apartment is available until the next day. This was pretty upsetting considering the high humidity and heat in January.

We made a booking through YouStay not through Mantra so be aware that Mantra manages approx 70% of the apartments at Circle On Cavill and the rest are managed by dodgy Gold Coast holiday estate agents. If there's a problem with your property, it's hard to get these fixed. I literally had to make a huge fuss to get it all sorted. At the end, You-stay upgraded us to another hotel which was very nice but we still had to endure a horrible first night.
In addition, these Gold Coast agents rent the one bedroom plus study as a "2 bedroom". We had no blinds in the second bedroom.
Be aware- there are no 2BR 1Bathroom apartments at CIrcle. All 2BR should gave 2 bathrooms too so if you are given one fat broom, it's a study!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear My-voice-oz
Thank you for posting your experience at Circle on Cavill having stayed through an offsite booking agent YouStay. We would have welcomed the opportunity to have you stay as a Mantra guest as I am confident that we would not have expected you to stay in an apartment with faulty air conditioning during the heat in January. We hope you enjoyed the Gold Coast and on your return stay will choose to book with the Mantra team.

Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews I was really reluctant to book this hotel but being Mother's Day weekend we had left it so late it was the only one left in a good location. Sleeping on the beach or sidewalk would have been cleaner.
The first room we were in was absolutely shocking. Filthy in fact. Even the bed sheets were still dirty, didn't fit the bed, there were boob marks on the windows where someone had obviously found it funny to leave their mark! The furniture was falling apart too. I was in the process of goin home when I decided to call reception. It has to be said that they were very helpful. I was asked to take all our belongings to reception which we did. On arrival we were asked to wait whilst another room was checked by housekeeping. We were given a new room and it was lovely. We were obviously upgraded. The staff dealt with it very very well and I have no issues with them at all. The problem I have is I still wouldn't return. If I have to be upgraded in order to get what we paid for, a clean comfortable room, I wouldn't risk booking here. It's a shame because the location is excellent and the staff were very apologetic but this is a party hotel. It has been abused and the cleaning staff obviously do not clean properly thinking that all their customers are the same. We are not. Especially when paying 220 a night! Next time we will book earlier and go to the Sofitel which is beautiful and every room is stunning and clean. Mantra.....you need to sort this hotel. It was my first and last experience of a Mantra hotel. Ergh.....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Sara D
Thank you for review however I am disappointed with your feedback. I would like to assure you that the team at Mantra Circle on Cavill are in no way complacent with the standards. It is unfortunate that you checked into an apartment that was not presented to our normal high standard. As a guest you absolutely did the right thing in contacting our dedicated team for assistance. It is pleasing to read that we immediately room moved you to a new apartment and prior to giving you the keys we checked the apartment to ensure our mantra standards were in place for your stay with us. I am sorry that your initial experience and our teams exceptional customer service and commitment to ensure you had a great stay with us was not enough to have you return and stay with us in the future.

Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at Mantra Circle on Cavill yearly since 2009. We live in Queensland, got married in Western Australia, and decided to stay at an old favourite for a few days in September 2013 before heading back home. We feel that was a bit of a mistake.

I understand that some apartments are owner-occupied, and others are managed by Mantra. So I understand that people are actually living there. On our floor, we had owner-occupier's children running up and down the hallway screaming, and another owner-occupier drilling all day in the apartment next to us. Fair enough I suppose, I am after all, just a guest. But it did put a very big negative on our stay. There just didn't seem to be any common courtesy, not even for each other.

There was a period of time where out of 6 lifts, only 2 were moving people around, but even then the lifts weren't taking people to where they actually needed to go. The maintenance of the apartments is in a steady decline, gradually getting worse. We used to let management know about poor maintenance we encounter, but every time we stay, it's yet another room with poor maintenance. I'm not sure if it's a case of Mantra not caring, or the landlord not caring.

I'm not sure if we're going to go back for a 6th year in a row.

Room Tip: Hinterland view is tends to be cheaper than ocean view, and there's always something to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Christina R
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is great to read all about how you have been visiting the coast and Circle on Cavill for a number of years and we truly enjoy welcoming our return guests back and appreciate their loyalty. Please can you email Tara our Reservations Manager circle.res@mantra.com.au when you are next looking to make a reservation and we will ensure you are well looked after as a return guest. Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed in a one bedroom spa apartment and I must say I was not expecting the size!
The full kitchen and laundry made it perfect for longer stays. It was clean, tidy, facilities were fantastic, staff were friendly. Will stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear jedmo
“Love it” great review!! Thank you.
Great to hear that overall you were very happy with the apartment size, cleanliness, facilities at the resort and our great customer service. See you next time.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s'pore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The views were awesome. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise...Woolsworth just downstairs...near shopping area and eateries. Room was very spacious and clean. They were unable to check us in earlier than 2pm. Whole family was falling asleep in the lobby after a sleepless night flight.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better views and less obstruction from buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Y72
Thank you for your review and your comments on the great location and facilities. It is great to receive your feedback about the overall apartment and the high level of cleanliness. I am sorry that we were unable to confirm an early check in for you on this occasion; we do try our best if we have availability however please understand this is not always possible. We look forward to your returning to the Gold Coast in the future.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed 3 nites in this serviced apartment during our Gold Coast stay. Apartment is very nicely furnished with a modern contemporary theme. We stayed in a 2 bedder apartment with a jacuzzi bath tub in the masterbath. It is clean and fully furnished. Apartment is serviced daily. Only problem we had is a faulty n eccentric air con/heater. It kept showing error message and after a while, all is well then the same error message will appear again. Thank goodness the weather wasn't that cold yet though it was a bit chilly at night.

Location wise it is at a fantastic place. Below it is a huge Woolsworth supermarket and it's near many restaurants! Hard Rock Cafe Gold Coast is literally a stone throw away! Korean, Thai etc... restaurants are all around the area. Shopping mall is nearby too. Thus this location is great for families n all to explore the Gold Coast area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear medgor
Great to read your review and that you enjoyed the location of the apartments and that the overall standard and cleanliness expectations were met. Please accept my apologies’ for the issue with the air conditioner and heater in the unit. I am confident that the team have attended to this maintenance issue following on from you advising our team during your stay of the error message.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Circle on Cavill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Circle on Cavill

Address: 9 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Circle on Cavill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of two residential towers, Circle on Cavill offers luxury accommodation for couples, families or business delegates looking for a relaxed holiday in Surface Paradise on the Gold Coast. With its central location, proximity to the beach and direct access to the Circle on Cavill shopping precinct, Circle on Cavill ensures you will never be short of things to do. Circle on Cavill boasts spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments, all consisting of self contained state of the art kitchens, laundry, bathroom including spa, flat screen televisions, DVD player, stereo and cable TV. Circle on Cavill has many onsite facilities including two lagoon style pools, fully equipped gym, sauna and spa, as well as a children's playground and games room. Relax in the Zen garden terraces overlooking the extra large LCD television located between the two towers. Circle on Cavill is perfectly positioned to take advantage of the iconic Australian beach culture and the contemporary international entertainment to make it a very sort after destination. CIRCLE ON CAVILL HAS A STRICT 'NO PARTY POLICY' (DOCUMENTATION TO BE SIGNED ON ARRIVAL). Circle on Cavill Party Policy: - Each apartment requires a guardian of legal age (18 years or greater) - Parties are not permitted in apartments - Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 10pm - Excessive noise will not be tolerated - Excessive levels of alcohol are not to be brought onto the premises - Apartments are to be left in original condition on check out or additional charges will apply Failure to comply with the above will result in immediate eviction from the premises. Circle on Cavill reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. Circle on Cavill is a mixed use building that includes residents, permanent tenants and holiday rental apartments. Circle on Cavill apartments consist of city, river, hinterland and ocean views. One Bedroom Apartments are located from level 5 with city, river and hinterland views One Bedroom Ocean View Apartments are located from level 13 Two Bedroom Apartments are located from level 5 with city, river and hinterland views Two Bedroom Ocean Apartments are located from level 13 Three Bedroom Sub Penthouse Apartments are located from level 35 with ocean, river and hinterland views Apartments are assigned on the day of arrival, with levels & views allocated depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Circle on Cavill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Circle On Cavill Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Circle On Cavill Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Circle on Cavill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.