We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Circle on Cavill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Circle on Cavill to your Saves list
Mantra Circle on Cavill
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Hobart, Tasmania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in a 2br apartment for 10 days, level 13. The location was great, only a few minutes walk to the shops, beach and restaurants. I liked the security of the hotel, tags to enter the doors, floors and car park. Apartment was open and bright, beds were comfy, spa was great. The couch and coffee table were a little worn and could be replaced. Balcony was nice but only sunny for a brief period in the morning. We had views of both the river and ocean which was great. Washer and dryer in the room was really convenient. Housekeeping forgot us a few times and we had to ask for new towels etc. but that was ok. A few minor things such as a steamer for cooking was missing and the bathroom sink bubbled up when running water and smelt strange. Overall the room was nice and comfortable, great location of the hotel, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, it sounds like you enjoyed the views of the hinterland and ocean from the two bedroom apartment on level 13. Thank you for your notes on the smaller details that we missed, your feedback helps us to improve our standards and overall consistency as a team. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    286
    125
    72
    64
See reviews for
263
321
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed for a week in December. The view was amazing! And the location was ideal. However, for a four and a half star rated hotel we were disappointed. As much as the staff were polite we found there to be poor room service. Bathroom was cleaned once in our 6 night stay. Towels were replaced however wet ones left on floor. Shampoo etc were replaced only once, had to go to safe way to buy my own! Cigarette buts still on balcony from previous guests.
We decided to hire a movie one night. TV remote batteries were dead and DVD remote didn't even have any! Service was good to replace them for us but i would have thought a four and a half star hotel would have little things like this checked before new guests arrive. Blinds were inadequate for the 4.30am sun that rose. Early mornings every morning!


Room was nicely set up but furniture very worn and old. Walls/doors damaged defiantly in need of maintenance. Also had some trouble with knowing what floor we were on when using lifts as the display indicators were not working.

Overall was not value for money paying for a 4 and a half star stay. Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

First time visit to the gold coast and must say, this is a stunning place to stay. Me and my was located on the 23rd floor (was expecting the floor would be over 40th floor as paid for extra for ocean view room) for 4 nights. The room was very clean with housekeeping everyday. Staff was very responsive as the first night we had problem with the toilet which someone came to fix within 10 minute of notifying them. The view from the room was good but was mainly blocked by the Hilton hotel. This place may not be suitable for family kids as there are loud music playing by other guest or from the ground floor, (yes you can here noise from the ground floor) but for us this wasn't really an issue as we were out till late most nights. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your simply amazing review! We really appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experiences with our Trip advisor community. The property is located a few blocks from the beach however all of our Ocean View rooms have huge views out to sea where you can watch the boats and Whales in the Whale watching season!
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed following the purchase of a deal. We were told it was five star and while the view was great the amenities were not. The lifts had apparently had water damage a number of weeks ago and were still not fixed leaving you to guess what floor you were on. This was a subject actively discussed by guests who had complained to management (including having their Facebook comment deleted). The main bedroom was just a shell without a bedside table on one side and no table lamp for my husband causing us to purchase a cheap one. In addition, all the globes in any of the lamps were faulty. There was no TV in the master or anywhere to put your clothing.
There was a group of bands playing extremely loud music every night up until 8.30pm causing you to have a very unsettled evening meal despite having the doors closed and being on a high floor. I'm glad we had no young child to settle. Management should have not allowed this while advocating a family environment.
The window covering were a poor cousin to block out causing us to be awake at 4.30 am every morning with the sun shining in over the water.
Will never stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear DeniseK1957
Thank you for your review following on from your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any dissatisfaction with your stay. I have noted your comments in particular about the lifts. The resort did experience water damage to a number of lifts and we are sincerely apologetic for any disorientation this caused you during your stay with us. There was an event on during your stay with us and the Circle on Cavill Retail area had a number of events in support of this for visitors and locals to enjoy. I can appreciate that these events are not always to everyone’s preference and I appreciate your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you be returning to the Gold Coast in the future and I would be happy to ensure you have a more enjoyable stay with us.
Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Whilst there is no denying that the Mantra does have excellent facilities, the pool is wonderful, the gym is excellent and so is all of the other facilities the views from room were amazing and a create location. But I recently stayed at the mantra circle on cavill for 6 night with 8 of my friends in the sub penthouse, it had a wonderful location right in the middle of everything, so it was easy to get around but you would understand my disappointment after being charged $856 each being a total of $6848 for 6 nights, which we didn't mind paying knowing we would be staying in a nice hotel for the week, when we encountered all of these problems; when we entered our room to see a small living room small kitchen with a single door fridge, tiles had chips in it, brown stains on the table around the tv, the master bedroom had a queen sized bed the other room had 2 singles pushed together to resemble a double sized bed the other bedroom had 2 singles plus 2 trundle beds, although the en-suite was very nice. Thinking that this was how all the other rooms were presented i ignore all of the imperfections. 2 days in the dishwasher breaks down, and the reception tells me that we don’t get a daily room clean because we don’t all get that package, the cleaners just come daily to take our rubbish, which i don't mind vacuuming. But when I went to use the vacuum cleaner, it is broken. i notified reception about the broken dishwasher which they said wont be fixed till the day before we leave but they would send up the cleaners do the dishes which was nice, but didn't happen until the next day when i called up again they finally came up. As for the broken vacuum cleaner they said we could borrow one from the maids for a few hours when we needed. By this time we had also run out of toilet paper for which i called up and asked for some more and some clean towels which were told we had to wash our selves, the women brought up 2 rolls of toilet paper for between 8 people.. seems logical. Trying to ignore all of the issues another group of friends were staying in the other tower paying the same as us in another sub penthouse i decided to visit. To my amazement their apartment was twice the size of ours, their kitchen was dramatically larger with a double door fridge, 2 balconies and rooms with beds to a better standard. Feeling extremely ripped off i went down to reception to address the issues and concerns with the apartment that my friends and i were paying so much for, in a nice way I began to explain, to only have the staff be so rude and uncooperative explained its not their fault but the owners of the rooms as they furnish the apartment. The women at the desk further began to use rude tones and interrupted me saying again its not their problem there’s nothing they can do. The ignoring my issues and rude manners which can only be assumed due to the fact that i am only 18 (still seen as a child), as when i called my parents to tell them of the issue due to me getting no where with the women at the front desk, they were treated extremely different by the staff when they called to complain being extremely apologetic and seemed to be willing it fix the issue. The staff sent up some new towels and some extra toilet paper and seemed to call the issue resolved. Not only would I NEVER stay at the mantra again due to the poor service, but it seems that when you book at the mantra you don't know if you are going to get what you paid for when you stay there as all the rooms are different quality, but priced at the same. To me it’s NOT worth the gamble even though you think you are staying at a 5 star hotel. If you do decide to stay in the mantra in one of the sub penthouses DO NOT stay in room 2483.

Room Tip: if you decided to stay at the mantra make sure you ask for the good room or else you might not
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Katelyn a

Thank you for your review. I can confirm that the apartment you stayed in was as per your reservation through Schoolies.com. I am sorry that you were dissapointed with the apartments overall standard when comparing this to another apartment that your friends stayed in, I am unsure on the apartment that you viewed. The 3 bedroom apartments are located from level 33 of the towers and positioned in various aspects of the building therefore each apartment is individual. Whilst we appreciate your comments and feedback I would like to assure other Tripadvisor readers that the unit is a great 3 bedroom apartment on level 48 of the North Tower with huge ocean views. Thank you agin for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Again stayed here for Gold Coast 600, our 4th year at Circle on Cavill. Again room was top quality pool and BBQ areas still as good as ever. The location was even better this year with the V8 Superfest events in the 'Circle' retail area, and will improve again next year with light rail network right at the front door!. Little things that we did not was some maintenance inside the building such as walls in the common areas (that had obviously been damaged numerous times by other inconsiderate guests) and carpets had not been repaired properly, other than this all good.

As mentioned could not recommend this place more, we love it, and unsurprisingly we have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Everytime we have stayed here we have been on floor 45+ (lucky!), the higher the better for the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear RoadTrip56
We loved reading your review following on from your return annual stay with us over the GC600 event. It is great to hear from our guests that return time and time again and the overall experience is as good as the last time! Thank you for your comments on the resort facilities being top quality. The GC600 event was a huge success and we certainly enjoyed the buzz it brought to Surfers Paradise. We are looking forward to the light rail network opening early 2014, this will improve transportation in the area and allow our guests to experience more of the Gold Coast. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a 7 night stay with a 15 month old toddler. We had the best time, owing to the wonderfully kind and attentive staff, and the amazing location making quick trips to the supermarket downstairs for more nappies and baby wipes a convenient breeze. Of special note was the eager staff, who upgraded us to an amazing oceanview room on the 38th floor. Could not fault a thing, We left feeling very relaxed and sad to leave. Thank you to the Mantra Circle Team and keep up the excellent work, cant wait to stay with you again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review, it is great to hear from our guests especially that you had a very happy stay and enjoyed the location, convenience, ocean view and our attentive happy staff! We truly enjoy offering our guests the best experience and we are so glad your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more family holidays on the Gold Coast.
Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Circle on Cavill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Circle on Cavill

Address: 9 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Circle on Cavill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Circle on Cavill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Circle On Cavill Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Circle On Cavill Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Circle on Cavill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.