We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Budget.No Comfort” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
The Sands Holiday Apartments
40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Wollongong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Low Budget.No Comfort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We got this unit on the internet hoping to find a low budget comfortable place with ocean views views. The number of the unit was 203 Second Level. The ocean views we got which was seen when you went onto the side balcony. That wasn't too bad. Clean enough after I had swept the place and mopped around where the cleaners had missed.. Then everything was downhill. The furniture in the living area had seen better days with chipped arm rests and frayed cushions. One bedside table where there should have been two. I don't think that the place had been vacuumed for a while because the level of dust and sand that came up when I swept the carpet was pretty bad.
I had difficulties getting a good night sleep because the mattress was so uncomfortable. After trying to put up with it for three days I removed two lounge cushions and put them on the bed under the sheet so that I could have a bit of comfort.. When I explained to the caretaker she was not very helpful. if the units are all privately owned it wasn't her problem. It was a case of out of sight out of mind as long as they get the money. I have had a spinal fusion, but I don't tell everyone my problems. It took me a few days for my back to settle when I found another place that had better facilities.
Maybe the units are not all like this one but please don't go into number 203

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    8
    2
    10
See reviews for
6
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Stayed for 1 week at this hotel, perfect location, cannot complain. Clean but very outdated decor, big balcony with lawn furniture, was able to sunbathe out there early in the day! Old and not fancy but location makes up for it, good value for your buck. Kitchen with dishes but no soap or cleaning supplies. Lots of shops within walking distance though.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights with 3 friends. There are 2 rooms apartment, where one is so small is non-existent. Room is filled with chlorin's smell. Having difficulty to breathe and sleepp at night. Swimming pool is very very small compared to the one shown in the website. Owner is arrogant and very rude. We were only 10 minutes late from checking out, she scloded us rudely and demanding Aus 15!!! If I am not mistaken, she is called Lynne. Horrible stay experience

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We have stayed at The Sands for the past three years during holidays in September. I cannot say enough about the location, so close to everything. The 3 different apartments were all good value although every one had something wrong with it. Only niggly things, a mop without a head, a half blocked shower rose, taps that would not turn off or that the knobs fell off in our hands, tv remote control did not work even after three battery changes, an insect screen fell off one of the windows, one year no tea towel or kitchen cloth. You supply your own dishwashing and laundry detergents but the landry and kitchen are good value. Nice large balcony but no chairs to sit out there, only a low lounger which makes it impossible to see the ocean, so standing is a must. The apartments are very clean though, the lift is a bit dodgy but it gets there. If you just want a place to rest your head while out most of the day, this is a good one. I was a bit disappointed that the price shot up an extra $15 a night from the last two years, so this might have been our last visit. The location is the only reason I would go back.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — traffic below could be noisy on weekend nights
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the sand hotel for a week in June. The building is really tired from the outside, and could do with some work. People who do stay here do not do so for the modern facilities. This hotel however boasts one of the best locations close to all the action and across the road from the beach. The rooms are basic, however are clean. It also had good laudry facilities within the room. The staff are friendly and helpful.

If you want a high class, ultra modern stay in the hotel holiday this is not for you, however, if you want to be close to Cavill Street, within access to all buses, shopping, seaworld, whale watching and the beach, without the mod cons, this is an excellent choice. The price? around 80.00 per night, so a bargain.

Would I stay there again? If I was after a cheap holiday, definitely. However next time I think i would like to have alittle more luxury and may do some days at the Circle on Cavill. I do not regret my stay at the sands and my wife and had a great sleep each night on the comfortable bed listening to the waves crash onto the shore each night.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Tired building but not a show stopper
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: 40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Sands Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.