We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympus Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Olympus Apartments to your Saves list
Olympus Apartments
60 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland QLD 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you want to come to Surfers Paradise, the Olympus Apartments are definitely the place to stay. Not only do you get spectacular ocean views (floor 5 & up for the best views), you can Whale Watch from your balcony (during June-Nov), stroll 2 blocks into the Heart of Surfers Paradise or see Margaret downstairs at reception for lots of goodies to hire at affordable prices (or in off season when its quiet she'll let you rent them for free) to head down to the beach with. You won't find any friendlier managers, you will leave wanting to come back again. Thank you Margaret & Alan, you guys are fantastic and we can't wait to be back on the Sunny Gold Coast in January.

Room Tip: Higher floors are definitely more worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Amazing ocean views from dawn to dusk in our 9th floor apartment. Room is very clean with complete amenities. Beach, shops, bars and tourist attractions are just a walk from our location. The management team of Margaret and Alan are excellent. They are like our parents. My family just loved the place - Surfers Paradise and Gold Coast in general. Our two weeks stay is not enough. But every holiday has to come to an end. We need to work hard and look forward for the next one. See you soon Olympus apartments!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed the break. We stayed on the 4th floor and the views were amazing. The location is really excellent as you are meters away from the beach and just a 5 minuite stroll away from the shops and Cavill avenue. It a bit like a home away from home. Youve got your wasing machine, dryer, the cooking facilities are good. Hob, oven, toaster, microwave, kettle and all necessary utensils. There is free basement parking, this was brillant as we barely moved the car for the whole trip as we were able to walk everywhere. it is a little bit noisy but I would not expect any different while staying in a busy seaside location. The only thing i could fault is that it does not have any airconditioning, I can imagine it would get quite hot in the summer as the doors and windows are floor to ceiling glass panes. I would definatly come back here again as the price is very reasonable and the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The views over the ocean are spectacular and the location is perfect. Due to their positioning to maximise the views, the apartments do lose the sun early (from about 11:30am in August).

The room was bright, airy, clean and fully functional. The pool is also really pleasant and not crowded.

During the week, we found the apartment very peaceful and relaxing. However, we stayed over two weekends and both weekends we got very little sleep due to the fact there were loud parties with music and shouting in the room next door until 2am. Surfer’s is a magnet for young party-goers, so I’m sure this would probably occur no matter where you stayed during the weekend.

The Wi-Fi was terrible - slower than dial-up and constantly dropping out. Very frustrating!

All in all a lovely place to stay, but improving the wi-fi and not allowing big groups over the weekend would make it better.

Postcript: After posting my review on Tripadvisor, the hotel manager emailed me asking me to remove my review because it was “cruel”, “defamatory” and “not true”. A somewhat hysterical reaction to a review that rated their hotel 4/5, I thought! She assured me the wifi had been improved and that there are now “safeguards in place to make sure they do not accept groups over the weekends.” Welcome improvements. However, I don’t appreciate being approached by the hotel manager directly and basically being called a liar for writing an honest account of my experiences. I shared the positive and the negative because that’s what Tripadvisor is about. I mentioned the weekend noise because it could be a problem for elderly or convalescing guests. And I mentioned the wi-fi because it would be a real issue for business travellers. Rather than bullying guests to remove reviews, they should take constructive criticism on board and make improvements. Hopefully they have in this case.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I chose Olympus apartments for 2 reasons. It was in the same block as the conference I was going to and it was right on the beachfront. I stayed with my daughter and her 15 month old baby on the second floor (room 7). Waking up to the sunrise over the water was a lovely experience, but I had not accounted for how noisy it would be, which took a little getting used to. The apartments themselves are older but still quite comfortable and they are fully self contained and had laundry facility in the main bathroom, an ensuite which was a nice surprise and a balcony overlooking the beach. They didn't seem to have heating in the rooms (we were there in Winter), so I was glad to have taken my doona with me. I would probably stay there again but would request a much higher floor mainly because there was a lot of noise from the street below. All rooms face the oceanfront and have glass from floor to ceiling, so sunrise is lovely. The staff were delightful and we were allowed to leave our car in the park after checkout which saved us finding somewhere else to park for the last day of the seminar. This motel is walking distance to almost everything in Surfer's Paradise and there are so many different eateries to choose from. I thought I was in heaven. You really must try Tampinyaka (pretty sure that's spelt incorrectly), but it's worth the experience. To recap: older building, comfortable, fully self contained, laundry, ensuite, spectacular views, lots of street noise and ocean noise on lower floors, friendly staff, walking distance to most things, did I mention the view.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel, but be sure to request a higher floor to avoid some of the street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very strategic location; located at Surfer Paradise...in front of the beach.
Walking distance to Cavil Ave. There's plenty of souvenir stores around the corner.

Apartment comes with free wifi and foxtel. Kitchen has all the necessary utensils. Balcony is facing beach...which has a magnicificant view! Rooms come with extra pillows and blankets.

Definitely will stay here again in our next visit.

Staff was friendly and no hassle in late check-in and early check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taranaki NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are going to Surfers for a break why not stay where all you can see is the sea and all you can hear is the waves. book a high floor unit and you can lie in bed in ther mornings and only see sunrise and the sea from your bed.very good hosts as well and a tasty tid bit of things to do in the lift every day. Multi channel foxtel gives full coverage of all news and sport

Room Tip: Requst a high floor (above floor 5 for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympus Apartments

Address: 60 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland QLD 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olympus Apartments is located on the beach in the heart of Surfers Paradise. All our apartments face the ocean with panoramic views and all have a full kitchen and laundry. Our modern apartments offer guests a home away from home. Our friendly staff can help you organise activities to make your stay a truly wonderful experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Olympus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Olympus Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympus Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.