We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price worth it for location.. but a bit shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olympus Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Olympus Apartments to your Saves list
Olympus Apartments
60 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland QLD 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Price worth it for location.. but a bit shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Location great, bedroom and living area very comnfortable.. but overall in need of an update. Bathroom grotty!
On the Esplanade so a bit of traffic/people noise.. but this wasn't an issue for me

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We travelled as a family to the Gold Coast for the first time and we were very happy with the 2br apartment. The place has minor faults (rust, wear and tear), but overall the apt was clean and the kitchen was adequate. The view is beautiful and a great location to be in to enjoy the vibe of Surfers Paradise. Helen at reception was lovely and was alway so friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Olympus. warm welcome and friendly staff. Our apartment was clean and the king bed was comfy. A great place to stay.
Ken and Pat.... Melbourne

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Olympus Apartments has been around for a while but is well maintained and in a great location- in fact right over the road from the main beach area. Where can you get a one bedroom apartment in good condition for less than $100 a night by booking on the discount web sites?.
We arrived late afternoon to a friendly welcome by the front desk and were soon in our apartment after having parked our car in the security basement carpark (included in cost). We were on the first floor and noticed all apartments have a balcony facing the beach, a real bonus. Our unit was a little tired but neat and very clean- a fresh coat of paint would work wonders. Our bedroom had a comfortable queen size bed, bathroom has a shower, no bath, kitchen is small but well equipped,however, no dishwasher. There is a small dining table and two lounges . The tv has foxtell at no extra cost.The laundry had a newish washing machine and a dryer. There is no air con but ceiling fans and there is a sea breeze if it gets hot at night.There is a small heated pool, a half size tennis court and a covered bbq area with a quality bbq. The grounds are neat and well kept. The apartment is a short walk to the main shopping area and restaurants. It was quiet during the week but a bit noisy at night on the weekend - but not a serious problem. Olympus gets 10/10 for location, 10/10 for price and 7/10 for the unit itself. We enjoyed this place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

So many choices on Gold Coast. After reading other positive reviews, called Margaret at Olympus directly and were able to book the exact apartment we were looking for. Oceanfront view with balcony--awesome! Very attentive management; friendly and helpful. Grrrreat location; close to everything. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping, Thai massage and surf lessons. Thank you, Alan, Margaret and Mark (your lovely wife too) for making our stay so effortless and comfortable---won't soon forget that panoramic oceanview!

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

No wonder they make you pay the $210 per night upfront...The bedding was filthy, visibly stained and horrible to sleep in. The couch and cushions were dirty. Presence of cockroaches and ants. Old towels and dirty bathroom. Extremely smelly foyer due to old carpet. TV didn't work properly. Wouldn't recommend apart from the good location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGOAGO, Manager at Olympus Apartments, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
None of the comments in this review are true. If this was written by a genuine guest they would know we do not charge $210 per night, they would have been delighted with our new crisp white sheets and towels and our new blankets and they would have enjoyed our beautiful apartments meticulously cleaned by our Japanese cleaners. All our TVs are checked before guests arrive, pest contol is carried out regularly and our foyer carpets are vacuumed daily and steam cleaned every month. TripAdvisor readers need only read the other reviews of Olympus to realise just how misleading and untruthful this review is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hotel is literally a stone throw from the heart of Surfers Paradise, the pacific views from our apartment were spectacular, and I don't think I've stayed anywhere in Australia that had as friendly and helpful management.

The apartment we stayed in on the 7th floor was a little tired, especially the kitchen and bathroom as expected and no air con, however the fans were satisfactory and the LCD TV came in handy.

The pool is small but heated, and theres a good sized sauna, with shower and toilet in the pool facinity, along with the tennis court. Much to my amazement (and enjoyment) these facilities were not in use by anyone else during our stay.

In summary, this hotel represents great value for money right across the road from the beach with exceptional service. I would recommend to couples of all ages and singles, but not families due to the tiredness if the hotel, pool size and theme park bus location.

I will be staying here again!

Now catching the local bus to the theme parks (all except sea world) is a 5 minute walk, so I would recom

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympus Apartments

Address: 60 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland QLD 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olympus Apartments is located on the beach in the heart of Surfers Paradise. All our apartments face the ocean with panoramic views and all have a full kitchen and laundry. Our modern apartments offer guests a home away from home. Our friendly staff can help you organise activities to make your stay a truly wonderful experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Olympus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Olympus Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympus Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.