We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capricorn Caves Family visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capricorn Caves

Capricorn Caves
30 Olsens Caves Road, Rockhampton, Queensland 4702, Australia
+61 7 4934 2883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
“Capricorn Caves Family visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great accommodation and great service. Very peaceful area to stay. Caves tour was great too. Our American family who visited with us had a ball.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    55
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wow, a great interactive cave experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited the cave in the late afternoon and didn't expect for any tours to be available to us. Tours are run each hour between 9am and 3pm, this is the basic cave tour. If you are wanting a more specialized tour, these are less often and need to be booked. The tour was $28, which I initially thought was a bit pricey. There were 3 of us on the tour and the young guide was informative, professional and knowledgeable. The cave tour was the most interactive that I have been on, and it took about 1.5 hours, with plenty of discussions amongst us about times past, photo ops, etc. At the end of the tour, I felt I had got my money's worth, and the fact that there were so many scheduled tours, I didn't begrudge the entrance fee.
If you are in the area, well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The did this tour first time 14 years ago and have wanted to go back. We took our kids and family this time and everyone had a great time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Well run tour. lasted just on an hour and the cathedral in the cave was amazing. Open to all ages and tracks well maintained.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Make this a place to stop at.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a little gem. Our guide was knowledgable and interesting. She was able to explain the natural history of the caves as well as the european history of them as well. The caves are quite accessable and most people can easily negotiate their way through the cave tour. The formations are not as spectacular as some cave systems in Australia, but this did not make them uninteresting. Well worth the side trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capricorn Caves also viewed

 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Capricorn Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capricorn Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.