We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, a great interactive cave experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capricorn Caves

Capricorn Caves
30 Olsens Caves Road, Rockhampton, Queensland 4702, Australia
+61 7 4934 2883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wow, a great interactive cave experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited the cave in the late afternoon and didn't expect for any tours to be available to us. Tours are run each hour between 9am and 3pm, this is the basic cave tour. If you are wanting a more specialized tour, these are less often and need to be booked. The tour was $28, which I initially thought was a bit pricey. There were 3 of us on the tour and the young guide was informative, professional and knowledgeable. The cave tour was the most interactive that I have been on, and it took about 1.5 hours, with plenty of discussions amongst us about times past, photo ops, etc. At the end of the tour, I felt I had got my money's worth, and the fact that there were so many scheduled tours, I didn't begrudge the entrance fee.
If you are in the area, well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KazLoudspeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The did this tour first time 14 years ago and have wanted to go back. We took our kids and family this time and everyone had a great time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Messyg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Well run tour. lasted just on an hour and the cathedral in the cave was amazing. Open to all ages and tracks well maintained.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannibal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Make this a place to stop at.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a little gem. Our guide was knowledgable and interesting. She was able to explain the natural history of the caves as well as the european history of them as well. The caves are quite accessable and most people can easily negotiate their way through the cave tour. The formations are not as spectacular as some cave systems in Australia, but this did not make them uninteresting. Well worth the side trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
2 reviews
“must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

please see this place other wise you are not visited in rockhampton and every will love it, we love it and come back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 20griffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capricorn Caves also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Capricorn Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing