We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capricorn Caves

Capricorn Caves
30 Olsens Caves Road, Rockhampton, Queensland 4702, Australia
+61 7 4934 2883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Rockhampton
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Yeppoon, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Natural beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Was raining slightly when we visited, but didn't inconvenience the experience. Interesting to see where the water drips down and forms the stalagmites, and stalactites. Great natural attraction not relying on spotlights to provide theatrical content. Bridges and stairs, but mostly flat and even. Very knowledgable tour guide. Finishes off with a tight, dark squeeze out onto a rope swing bridge. Only 'hairy' bit for a claustrophobe, like me.
Over all quite a pleasant experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    48
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting and Different Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Take a break from driving and take a tour through these caves. Interesting and Educational. Children will love it. Wheel chair friendly. Picnic tables available. There were wallabies and bush turkeys freely roaming around the grounds when we got there. Take insect repellent as you will need it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to tie the knot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Beautiful place to see friends or family married, fantastic, romantic and once again beautiful, a must see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Caves were an excellent idea for a quiet wedding.
Food and service excellent.
Rooms very basic and could do with refurbishing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lights spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We visited on December 5th and it was a cloudy day. However as we left the main cave the sun came out and we moved to the lights cave. My sister was over from the UK and we were able to experience the shaft of light shining down onto the mirror ball. Amazing. I'd love them to do the Carols by candle light again. Ticket only of course. Friends had a wedding there in 2008, fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capricorn Caves also viewed

 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Capricorn Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capricorn Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.