We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Gladstone Rd | Allenstown, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely perfect for a stopover in rockhampton. You can park right outside your room, you have cable TV, clean and tidy bedroom, en suite bathroom with all the toiletries you need, comfortable beds, air conditioning, mini bar etc. Wifi is also good.

Not sure what else you could ask for for a quick stopover- friendly service as well.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy1960, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Nicky,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We are happy that you enjoyed our motel
We look forward to seeing you again when next you pass through Rockhampton.
Have a great day.

Peter & Kathy Boland
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
17
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I checked in on spec. There were only two family rooms available, the rate I got was $135. The gentleman at check-in was great, warm, welcoming and friendly. Was the room worth the price? Honestly no. There was a wafting odour (smelt a bit like urine but may have just been damp, not constant, it would just assault your nostrils at random intervals). The cold water tap in the bathroom requires the strength of Hercules to turn it off. There were a couple of short hairs on the bed linen and a dead insect on the pillow (probably not their fault). I requested fresh milk which never turned up. Parking is problematic, it took a couple of goes for me to get my Ford Focus into a park between a pole and another car, good luck in a 4wd, just weren't any other parks. For 28.50 I ordered what was described as pan fried reef fish with crispy potatoes and veges in lemon butter sauce. Fish was a little overcooked, potatoes were as far from crispy as it is possible to, but the veges were nice and fresh - a bit overpriced for what it was, but it's a motel and sometimes it comes down to paying for convenience. I ordered fruit salad and a latte for breakfast. The fruit salad was lovely, the latte was made on UHT milk and I can't stand the taste of it and so I couldn't drink it. The manager was apologetic for all of this but I would never stay again.

Room Tip: This hotel has both ground floor and first floor rooms. It is right on the highway so try to get so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Patricia,
As we have previously apologised when you made this review through Best Western, there is not a lot more I can say. However, what I didn't tell you was my wife had taken ill on the night you stayed which left me to run the Reception, Restaurant & Bar all at the same time, I know this was not your problem & I am sorry that I unintentionally forgot to send up your fresh milk, but had you called down to reception with a reminder I would have got it up to you immediately. You also left after Breakfast in the morning without even calling into reception (which I was still manning) to return your key & to advise us of your disappointment other than doing so hiding behind your pen on a global forum. I can only apologise again and hope that in the future you give someone the opportunity to correct any mistakes.

Regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was a welcome stop over for us on our trip up the east coast.We had driven 6 hours from Hervey Bay heading for the Whitsunday's so this was a good place to stay to break up our long journey.
The room was very clean and so was the bed, we had a nice meal in the resturant and breakfast was good the next morning.Peter & Kathy who run the place and very nice and helpful and we enjoyed the pretend auction of the French girl in the bar .
The only negative thing to say is that we were woken about 1am with a group of ' cattle men' still drinking outside their room and they where quite noisy.
Overall a good stay and it's good for a stop over but maybe not for much longer.
Thanks a lot Joanne& Keith

Room Tip: Ask for quite room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

- The beds were dirty (as if large chunks of sand were at the bottom of the double and single beds)
- The spa/pool was non-functioning. When I broached the issue of the spa/pool not working properly, I was told, “Well to be honest, when I was here a few months ago, the spa wasn’t working properly then either. And now the owner believes it to be a hazard as children and spas don’t go well together. So it’s not supposed to be working”. Ignoring an issue does not solve it. The spa/pool should have been blocked off instead of just sitting there.
- The road entrance was dangerous. It was difficult to pull into the driveway, especially if there was another car in front of the reception area. The parking spaces were extremely small. If someone parked beside our car, my husband could not open the door enough to enter the vehicle.
- The restaurant is expensive/over priced.
- The staff were friendly and helpful. They just had a "my hands are tied" attitude about our issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

was a cheap and cheerfull room, only downside is the lack of parking. We went out for dinner and upon our return was no parking left so we had to park on the street. wi-fi is also a bit wierd in that only one device at a time can be connected which is annoying when more than one person has a laptop with them in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy1960, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, as this is sometimes the only way we know when our staff & relief managers are not following our guidelines or if there is a problem with our facilities.
With our Wi-Fi provider there is only 1 password per device but you can obtain a separate password for as many devices as you wish. I'm sorry this was not relayed to you.

We hope the you will continue to stay as Best Western properties.

Happy travels.
Kathy Boland
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wow, what friendly and helpful staff. Kathy was fantastic as too was Nikita.

Great room, clean, neat, quiet. I enjoyed my stay here, and will stay here every time I'm in Rocky.
You must try the dining room, the steaks are great. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a very personable friendly hotel. Recommend on that alone. I stay in a lot of motels and there are only one in fifty who can remember your name. This is the one in fifty. There is some road noise but not excessive. I have had a lot worse. The room was clean, the bed comfy and the service exceptional.

Room Tip: Request a room as far from the road. If you have significant luggage ask for a ground level room. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn

Address: 139 Gladstone Rd | Allenstown, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this recently refurbished Rockhampton motel located close to the city centre, Botanic Gardens and the City Heart Mall. Welcome to Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn located on the south side of Rockhampton, about 5 minutes from the city centre and within easy reach of shopping, dining and entertainment. The Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn offers 34 rooms with Austar cable TV and broadband Internet access. The motel’s fully licensed “Blue Heeler” Restaurant and Cocktail Bar features an a la carte contemporary Australian menu. For those who enjoy a drop of wine, the motel’s extensive cellar is sure to please. From Sparkling to Shiraz, there’s something for every occasion.Adjacent to the restaurant and bar is a function room suitable for group bookings, meetings, conferences, training sessions, video presentations and private dinner parties. This Rockhampton motel’s additional amenities include a tropical pool area and fully equipped gym. For friendly and knowledgeable staff and a convenient location in Rockhampton, make a reservation at this Rockhampton motel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rockhampton
Rockhampton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.