We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Steaks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Western Hotel

The Great Western Hotel
Cnr Stanley & Denison Streets, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
07 4922 1862
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 125 Restaurants in Rockhampton
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Dined here last week and had an MSA Black Angus steak, medium rare, and it was beautiful. The side dish of chips which where beer battered, and the salad was fantastic. The Diane sauce (with bacon in it) accompanying the steak topped it off. Well Done!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    36
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“slightly overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The restaurant is a western saloon, the steaks were good but side dishes could be better. Prices are on the upper side and even for a Saturday night the place was quite empty. I expected more to be honest.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ate here last week after looking at trip advisor ratings. I had the 400gm rib steak on the bone, chips and vegies with dianne sauce ($34). I was really happy with the meal. It didn't take too long (which it can cause I order well done) and tasted good. No complaints about the meal at all. Also, what was great was the fact that you didn't have to pay extra for the sauce! Almost couldn't finish the meal.

One annoying part was that the payment for drinks and meals are separate so I couldn't leave the credit card for a tab to pay for all at once.

At the bar I had to wait ages to be served even though I am sure that I was there before some of the local workers who were ordering drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at the Great Western”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our meals were huge but awesome. Well worth every cent. Staff really friendly too. A pub with atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Awesome Country Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed across the road at the Denison and couldn't have found a better spot for dinner....
Steaks were magic and coked to perfection, beer was cld and service typically friendly

It's a country pub, don't venture into the public bar if you don't like a bit of colourful language....it's what it is and has no pretensions...we loved it and hope to return on a rodeo night with the kids

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Western Hotel also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to The Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.