We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked Cactus at the Saleyards Hotel

Crooked Cactus at the Saleyards Hotel
Gladstone Road, Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
07 49221822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 118 Restaurants in Rockhampton
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“unreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

my favourite place to eat in rocky hands down. quick service and great food and it is reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Burnt tasteless food, bad service. Go elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having eaten at restaurants all over Australia I can honestly say this is the worse food I have ever had at a restaurant.

We arrived and were greeted by the staff after looking around blindly and directed to our table. We hadn't even sat down before our host walked away talking back to us something about the bar.

We were served in a reasonable amount of time and our orders came out after a hour. The food though as pictured was burnt in places and overall very bland in taste. I went with the combo, wanting to try a bit of everything and was very disappointed. The misso chose the chicken enchiladas which she stated was gross.

Having decided the meal wasn't worth finishing we proceeded to the register where I spoke to the staff member about the meal. Not caring the slightest other than saying she would tell the kitchen staff she demanded the money and we left never to return.

Overall being a company owner (not in the restaurants industry) I believe the staff require more training.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamKRockhampton, Owner at Crooked Cactus at the Saleyards Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback we think its great that customers have the opportunity to express their opinions on sites such as these. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy the food you chose. We can say that you did choose 2 of our most popular dishes, ones which we do not genrally receive negative feedback about. We take many measures to listen to and react as necessary to customer feedback and when needed make improvements or changes to both our food and our services. Whilst our menu has been a constant work in progress, changing flavour combinations to appeal to a wide range of people, and introducing more tex-mex style dishes, the chicken enchiladas and the combination plate (the two meals you choose) are ones which we have stayed true to authentic Mexican flavours and probably not something that you would find in the more commercial chain Mexican restaurants. After successfully operating the restaurant for 4 years now and expanding 3 new areas to accomodate the increase in customer demand, we do understand that Mexican food is not to everyones taste but appreciate people coming in to give it a try. However your comments were passed on to the Chef by the staff member who served you and it is important to us to hear all customer responses and we will take on board your comments regarding required staff training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

crowded, not good value for money, ordinary tasting food, won't be going back, ever! we reserved a table it was crowded into a corner and everyone trying to get past kept bumping into my chair, the food took forever to come out and was very bland, would not recommend this place to anyone

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ticks all boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

atmosphere is great, prices for food and drink very resonable, staff were attentive although they were very busy, and over all food taste'd wonderful. will be back there for sure .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
“AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

i went there on a saturday night with a couple fo friends, great live music a couple of young boys who were out-standing. The staff were all dressed up for "day of the dead" and it set a great atmosphere. The food came out in a reasonable time, it was quite busy so its understandable. the food was delicious and fresh and as close to mexiacan as rockhampton can get, defiently filled me up.
had a great range of drinks although if i had to fault it we did wait a fair bit to get served for drinks and for them to come out, but they did taste nice so that was an upside.
would defiently reccoment it and will defineatly be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked Cactus at the Saleyards Hotel also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Crooked Cactus at the Saleyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked Cactus at the Saleyards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.