We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steakhouse 98

Steakhouse 98
98 Victoria Parade, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
07 4920 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 118 Restaurants in Rockhampton
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The place to find Rockhampton Accommodation is right here at Motel 98. While there are a range of Rockhampton Motels to choose from, Motel 98 has stood the test of time and is the Rockhampton Motel of choice for the business, leisure and holiday traveller. Located in the heart of Rockhampton's Riverfront precinct on the banks of the Fitzroy River, Motel 98 offers an oasis with tropical gardens, resort style pool and leading Rockhampton Restaurant Steakhouse 98. All executive king suites have been redecorated inlcuding pillowtop beds for a luxurious sleep. From here you're only five minutes drive from the Rockhampton Airport and less than 40 minutes drive from stunning beaches and islands of the Capricorn Coast. A few minutes walk or a short drive will have you at major shopping centres or in the CBD retail precinct. Motel 98 Rockhampton specialises in corporate business, sporting and other groups and family holiday accommodation. So if you're looking for a clean, well appointed Rockhampton Motel with friendly and attentive staff who understands service, together with a quiet convenient location off the highway, then Motel 98 is for you.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The food is very consistent, I have eaten here a few times over the past couple of years and have always enjoyed the meals. Quite decently priced.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    22
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“upperclass restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very nice setting, the staff are very professional and there is a variety of good items on the menu, bit pricy but nice for a special occasion, its nice to have atleast one place in rockhampton with some class that you feel as though it is worth dressing up for. The oysters and the options of oysters were amazing! and my lamb was cooked perfectly, however my partners pork belly was unusual and rather small for the price paid

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pricey and small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is very nice, overlooks the river but you can't see that from inside. We have been quite a few times and although I love the place I always feel a bit let down with the portions. A while back I had King prawns in a lavender foam, sounds very posh. I got 3 prawns, so sides or bread. Just 3 prawns on this massive plate. $25 for a starter, I felt ripped off. Then I had fillet steak, beautiful, but so small. That came with a small bunch of grilled tomatoes and a butter sauce, the veg and potatoes are extra. So if you don't eat much go here.
The puddings are nice but that can add anything from $10/20 to the bill.
We paid $300+ for two gin and tonics,2 starters, two steaks and a bottle of wine. All presented very nicely and staff are superb, but at a huge cost.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Entertaining VIP Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We recently entertained some foreign VIPs (business clients) who were keen to try steak in the Beef Capital. The team at Steakhouse 98 went out of their way to provide exceptional service on the night, accommodating all of our needs and even providing some 'off-menu' items.

The ambience and location are first rate, the service was exceptional, and the food was superb. Its a nice surprise to find this level of quality in Rockhampton, we will certainly go again for both private and business dinners.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great cook, terrible waiter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We are spending a few nights in Rockhampton. One of the reasons is, obviously, the steaks.

We both ordered a steak. My girlfriend a 38 dollar one and I took the 29 dollar Angus steak and even pointed at it. Everything great, steaks were top. Then the bill came which was rather high. Instead of 29 dollar I had eaten the most expensive steak on the menu of 69 dollars!!

After double check with the waiter, because I didn't think this was right, he just said: 'yes, you had that one because you pointed at it.' So I had to pay and he didn't even say sorry. Or offer me a coffee as a nice gesture.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steakhouse 98 also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Steakhouse 98? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steakhouse 98, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.