We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockhampton Botanic Gardens and Zoo

Rockhampton Botanic Gardens and Zoo
Spencer Street, Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Rockhampton
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A beautiful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Loved the Botanic Gardens - no wonder they are heritage listed. Some magnificent trees, lots of variety; beautiful large lagoon with abundant birdlife; very tranquil. Good coffee at the kiosk, lots of friendly birds hanging around in hope of a little something. The zoo is undergoing some major upgrades, so not a lot of it was accessible. The bits we did see were a bit sad looking, but will no doubt benefit from the upgrade in due course. And seeing it's all free, who can complain?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    74
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of the oldest botanical gardens in Queensland and in my opinion the best! Wonderful walks, great lagoon with an abundance of bird life and also some crocs. A well stocked canteen as well as a gift shop completes an experience you won't forget.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Something for free!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I loved the Gardens and the zoo, and the fact that it was free! It reminded me of a local gardens that had cockatoos and monkeys, in my home town, some 35 years ago!
The gardens were diverse and extensive, with a lovely outlook situated on top of a hill. The zoo had plenty of animals, particularly Australian, and I loved the Chimps the most. It made me want to live in Rockhampton, and be able to bring my children here often. A lovely place to visit for a walk, a picnic, or have a sit down in the cafe. Loved it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Gardens and Zoo were an oasis, with beautifully tended gardens and a delightfully presented Zoo with an assortment of native Australian Fauna, in an assortment of well kept environments.

The Gardens were very peaceful and the Banyan garden area worth a visit in itself, to see a tree planted 120 plus years ago and the magnificent way it had spread and multiplied, but stil stayed the same tree.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet day with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A nice spot without any cost. We took a small bar b q and found a great spot where we could play cricket and kick a football about. However if you're interested in plants and trees there is a huge variety here, and all marked so you know what you are looking at. They have a small zoo which is free which has a gorilla, monkeys, koalas, kangaroos, birds [etc] and it is very pleasant to walk around to look at the animals. There is also a war memorial and I understand Anzac Dawn services are held there. There is also a large lagoon with ducks, A very pleasant place to visit for all ages

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockhampton Botanic Gardens and Zoo also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Rockhampton Botanic Gardens and Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockhampton Botanic Gardens and Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.