We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Coffee House to your Saves list
The Coffee House
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   51 William Street, Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped over for one night on a trip from Brisbane to Far North Queensland. We had a one bed room apartment with the lounge room set up with a sofa bed for 3 adults. The apartment was well set up with a kitchen to enable meal preparation for a longer stay. the rooms were clean and comfortable and there was a good shower/ bathroom. The location was convenient, and we managed a walk to a convenience store as well as to a nearby hotel for our evening meal. The restaurant/coffee shop was not open on Saturday night when we were there. As our unit was on the first floor, we had to take bags up a set of stairs which might be an issue for some travelers as there was no lift.

Room Tip: No lifts for first floor units, so if lugging ports up a flight of stairs is an issue, request a gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
22
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I Travel allot with work, and I usually have trouble falling asleep, even in my own bed. but the coffee house, beds & pillows are amazing, i litrally pass out as soon as my head hits the pillow.
The owners are fantastic and the staff are very friendly.
would reccomend The coffee House to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed just one night for business - the hotel is in a great location central to the city and the staff are friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, quite large and clean and tidy with an amazing spa tub. The vegetarian room service breakfast was enormous and extremely good. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here for about 10 weeks. Rooms were clean, free 1/2 hour wifi everyday. Cooking facilities (stovetop and microwave plus a decent sized fridge). Washing machine and dryer. Hot water to my room went out one day and they fixed it straight away. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Good coffee in the restaurant. A 1-minute walk to the centre of town. It's also just across the road to the Sunday markets so I could stock up on fruit & veg for the week.

Staff who can take the time to say hello with a smile goes a long way in my book!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the restaurant get better wifi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Attended hotel after hours and found the after hours system to work okay. Rooms tidy, nothing fancy. Was in the spa suite but didn't use the spa. Staff where more then happy to tell me where to find a decent meal after hours. Bed was comfy had a decent night sleep. A little outdated but value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I have to make regular trips to Rockhampton for business and family catch ups. We used to stay at The Edge on the river but the cheap fit out and lack of character made us look for an alternative and we have found it.

It's not the newest, or very modern for that matter but it is perfectly located, right in the heart of town. It is immaculately clean and the apartments are well laid out. We have stayed in several of them and the standard is consistently good.

There are lots of gardens throughout the grounds which add to the overall effect of a small oasis with a lovely pool too. You can sit on your balcony overlooking this from some rooms.

My only nit pick and it is small, is that sometimes there is no milk or water in the fridge when I book in. Otherwise, it is a pleasant and homely place to stay.

Room Tip: I like 9 as it doesn't have a weird green kitchen and is close to the entrance and restaurant. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean tidy good amenities nice coffee tea & biscuits (not that International Roasted floor sweepings rubbish). Decor not to my taste - heavy rosewood furniture - but quiet well kept and good location with friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coffee House

Address: 51 William Street, Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Coffee House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.