We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ordinary overnight stay at rockhampton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Southside Holiday Village

Save Saved
You added Southside Holiday Village to your Saves list
Southside Holiday Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southside Holiday Village
283 Lower Dawson Road | Allenstown, Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
caloundra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just ordinary overnight stay at rockhampton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This caravan park is supposed to be a four and a half star park in Rockhampton. We stayed on an ensuite site which did not have a slab and the ensuite, although clean, was the smallest we have seen. And we have seen many. The park seems to be bounded by the main highway and the rail line together with the sound of aproaching planes. All not helpful for a quite nights sleep, particularly with trains shunting carriages throughout most of the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    8
    11
    8
See reviews for
17
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

As we were on our way through to Emerald, we needed a stopover just for the night. We checked out van parks on the the internet and found the Southside Holiday village rated 4.5stars, called ahead to arrange a site and ended up with the an en-suite site for $50.

When we arrived the traffic going southbound was blocking the entrance and assumed it was due to roadworks. The site we were given had a slab, and was a drive-through (easy access), however, the ground was a long way from level and we ended up parking on the slab. OK for one night.
The ensuite was tidy and somewhat clean(looked like it was built in the 70's), but hadn't been used for a while judging by the dust inside.
The horrendous part was all the noise surrounding this van park. It is wedged between a railway shunting yard and the main highway. Trucks roaring past all night long, trains shunting until 2 am, as well as sounding their klaxon everytime they would travel over a nearby crossing....no such thing as a peaceful nights sleep here.
Most of this van park is filled with onsite accommodation and storage sheds and anyone and everyone wandered in and out of the place. Doesn't make you feel very secure.

I have stayed in better 3star van parks than this. Try to avoid it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

On booking I enquired about games room and BBQ area, staff said yes we have these facilities but failed to tell us they where closed (they should have honest staff) Ants where terrible inside, the bed sheets smelt yukky and smelt like sewage inside villa, other than my rant the village was nice. Would not stay again after not being told of the facilities closed as games room and BBQ area is why we booked there....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We rang ahead to book a night here! Big mistake! I couldn't believe the audacity of the woman on reception! We asked for a powered site for our van! She said that they had none left an they only had ensuite sites left. Our van already had one so we had no need for that site and did not want to pay the extra. As I said thank you but no thanks and was about to hang up the phone the lady said hang on a minute, a powered site has just come available! So I said I would take it. So we got there and set up site we also noticed that the park was no where near full there were hundreds of powered sites available. So the lady had lied to us on the phone and there were still sites available in the morning! So it wasn't a matter of others coming in late to fill the sites!
It didn't get better from here only worse! Unbeknown to us the lady had parked us on a site backed onto mining train railway! These trains didn't start coming in until 11pm! I am usually a very heavy sleeper but these trains kept me up all night, coming in every 30minutes and so loud they even shook the van! As there were so many other sites why when the park was empty did she not put us on a site away from the train line??? For $38 a night it was the worst stay we have ever had! Very cheeky sales tactics too, not impressed in the slightest!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

On our Family holiday saw that this park advertised 4.5 stars, checked it out online, rang made the booking for van site with our top tourist membership. What a mistake. Small van sites, over grown lawn not maintained. No edging done and van sites are the minority in this cabin infested village. Tradies and contractors are the main patrons in this hole. They must have employed Dodgy Brothers Inc. for there star rating. 2.5 stars at best Camp kitchen you have to pay for the BBQ's that hardly get hot on the first dollar. I checked out the ensuite sites and it looks like a water tank with a door put in it. They need check out Big4 parks rated 4.5 stars and see the real difference. Southside is not a Family friendly park. Should've gone to Big4.

Room Tip: Come live with the tradies and contractors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed over night on our way south to the Sunshine Coast. The Big 4 at Rockhampton was booked out so we decided to use our Top Tourist membership at this park. There wasn't a shortage of cabins in fact there WERE more cabins than caravan sites. The cabins were clean but at $140 less 10% they were a bit pricey for what you got. There are other parks around for the same price who offer a better standard of accommodation. With the Bruce Highway was at the front and the train line at the back it is not a place for a light sleeper. Some of the staff could have been friendlier but it takes all types.

Room Tip: Not for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for two nights in a cabin. Found the cabin very nice and clean and tbe staff were very helpful. But you do here the highway noise and the trains

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southside Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Holiday Village

Address: 283 Lower Dawson Road | Allenstown, Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty lodging in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Southside Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southside Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.