We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 98

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 98 to your Saves list
Motel 98
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   98 Victoria Parade, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WI-FI &BOTTLE WATER
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, convenient and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. Room with king bed very comfortable. Bathrooms have been upgraded. In central location on river, quiet for sleeping. Reasonably priced. Stayed two nights on way north. Would recommend to anyone on a short stay.
We enjoyed a peaceful rest, while having the city close by.

Seniors from Adelaide





Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Denise N,

Thank you for your lovely review of '98' and we are really glad to hear how much you liked our Luxury King size beds and fully renovated bathrooms during your short stay with us.

As we are the only Motel situated on the River in Rockhampton away from the highway road noise and train lines, ensuring our guests enjoy a peaceful, quiet nights rest, without interruption.

We look forward to having you stay with us again if you are ever back in Rockhampton.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all the team @ '98'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
32
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here recently as travelodge was booked out. This motel is nice enough. The restaurant is worth a visit. The owners are very helpful. Free wifi is included. The location is pretty good. Rooms are ok, nothing flash but Clean and tidy. Would stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear 30daysinNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to review '98' and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location, cleanliness and service of the Motel nice and enjoyable.

The stand alone "Steakhouse 98" restaurant has been Rockhampton's leading restaurant for over 45 years and we are glad to hear you enjoyed it as well during your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again if you are ever back in the Beef Capital.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all of the team @ '98'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I travel every second week for work & Rockhampton is a place I work in regularly. Motel 98 is definitely my favourite place to stay. Doogan, Verity & their staff always make me feel at home, remember my name & go out of their way to make my stay have the extra special touches that the larger hotel chains lose. The meals are always fantastic, rooms are clean & there is plenty of space to work effectively...even with a huge king sized bed! To get this sort of quality & service you usually pay upwards of $30-$50 more in this region. I love that the rooms are not on any road front so you don't get the incessant traffic noise that is in a lot of the Rockhampton Hotels. It is right across the road from the beautiful river so it is great to go for a walk on the beautiful walking trails. The only small complaints I have is that there are not enough rooms & it is quite often booked in advance (for obvious reasons), so I miss out on getting a room on a lot of my spontaneous trips. The other is that they have had the same menu for a long time. When travelling this often, I love to have different choices in my cuisine. Very minor complaints however. You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jacsyd,

So great to hear that you enjoy staying with us and how it feels like a home away from home. We strive as Boutique Motel owners to create a very comfortable, home away from home stay each and every time.

Being to the only Motel in Rockhampton located on the beautiful Fitzroy River, it gives us access to some great walk/running tracks along the river for our guests. We have taken your feedback about some more variety on our Steakhouse '98' Menu and have included some weekly specials as well to keep some more variety up as well.

Thanks again for all of your feedback and we really look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Rockhampton.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all of the '98' team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My family are really tired by the time we drive to Rockhampton from cairns. Upon reaching , we are warmly welcomed by the manager.
We stayed for 1 night in dec , near Xmas, too bad that the restaurant was closed for the festive period , so we don't get to try, menu looks delicious.
We stayed at the 2nd level, room was a good size, bathroom has the top rain shower head which is relaxing . There are a few eatery , we pack food back coz we were tired. Cutlery n microwave provided along tea facilities.
Overall my family enjoyed the stay very much !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Cher188,

We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family stay with us on your trip down from Cairns and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our 2nd level 2 Bedroom Family rooms with private balconies are some of our most requested, so we are very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed them as well. I will pass on all of your feedback to all of our wonderful hard working team and thank you again for sharing your stay with us. We hope to see you again if you are ever back in Rockhampton.

Safe travels and very best regards,
Doogan and all of the team @ '98'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Massively overpriced tiny room with a comfortable bed. Onsite parking in an non-secure carpark, no river views or any views for that matter. Stayed in an executive King B&B, breakfast was great - we forgot to go down for it and the reception called to have it sent to the room. Breakfast was simply bacon eggs coffee and juice - nothing too special.
Pool looked nice, didn't go in it though. Bathroom was as TINY as the room. VERY disappointed in paying $180 for a room I took two steps to cross. When we got there the interconnecting room door was unlocked into someone's room - not very secure for them. This was quickly rectified by the lovely reception staff. All rooms are configured the same though so no upgrades or larger rooms available.
Incredibly comfy "king" bed, no middle hump despite being two singles pushed together with a mattress on top. Not a proper king however as my feet could touch the bottom and I am only 6ft.
TV was riduculusly small and fixed to the wall at one angle. Coffee was packet nescafe (for $180 4tar room!!), nice selection of teas and a TINY TINY kitchenette space. No space to eat breakfast either, one was at the desk the other on the bed.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, all are the same, but maybe one on the second floor non-carpark side as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Eelhsa_rehtul,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Motel 98 Rockhampton.

We have a large amount of guests who simply love our top of the line Luxury King Size beds, we know how important sleep quality is when travelling, so we are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed it.

As a Boutique Motel though we do understand some rooms are configured differently than others. The 2nd level rooms are our most requested by our large and extensive repeat clientele as they have a private balcony attached to each one, which are perfect for relaxing while overlooking our lovely tropical gardens and pool area. We also highly recommend it is a great place to enjoy some room service breakfast or dinner as well.

We have also noted with our Housekeeping team an added in double check procedure of all interconnecting doors to make sure this isn't missed again in the future.

Thanks again and safe travels,

Doogan and all of the "98" team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Excellent customer service, reasonable rates, very tidy and comfortable rooms. All staff were accommodating to me and my two boys. Perfect for a what I needed. The restaurant was a little pricey ($15 for a kids meal?) for dinner but breakfast was both reasonable and yummy! Either way if it is accommodation you are wanting it is great.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Robert P,

Thank you for your kind words on your stay with us. It was lovely hosting you and your family and I know Matt (our Exec Chef) and the team will really enjoy reading your comments about the yummy breakfast as well and service experience during your time with us.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all of the "98" team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Unhappy with the standard of a so called 4* hotel with 2 singles put together as a king dirty shower and glass standards needed to be lifted for us to come back and ther are no riverfront rooms be hapoy to overlook a dirt car park and a dirty pool

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Isaacmary,

Thank you for the high score for our location in your review as we also think we have the prime location on the River close to restaurants, bars, lovely walk/running along the river and a Coles shopping centre 100 metres behind us.

We are sorry to hear though that you were disappointed with our beds as we have a large amount of feedback on them and how well people sleep when they stay with us.

We have informed Housekeeping about your shower as we strive for 110% excellence in this area at all times. Unfortunately with the pool, we had the pool pump break down on Christmas eve and this was rectified and fixed on Boxing day and is back to crystal blue standard that it is normally kept at.

Thanks again for taking the time to send in your feedback and we really hope you come back and stay with us in the future.

Warm regards and safe travels,

Doogan and all of the 98 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 98? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 98

Address: 98 Victoria Parade, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel 98 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rockhampton's Riverfront precinct on the banks of the beautiful Fitzroy River, Motel 98 offers an oasis with tropical gardens, resort style pool and leading Rockhampton Restaurant Steakhouse 98. All executive king suites have been redecorated inlcuding pillowtop beds for a luxurious sleep. From our location we have a Coles & Target Shopping centre only 100 metre's away and then 3.4K's to the Rockhampton Airport and less than 40 minutes drive from stunning beaches and islands of the Capricorn Coast. A few minutes walk or a short drive will have you at major shopping centres or in the CBD retail precinct ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 98 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 98, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.