We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seabean Tapas Bar Restaurant

Seabean Tapas Bar Restaurant
3 / 28 Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland QLD 4877, Australia (Formerly Billy's by the Sea)
+61 7 4099 5558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Tapas, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Seabean's tapas bar is open from 3pm come along and sample some of our authentic Spanish dishes, along with a beer, wine and of course carafes of sangria located on our own relaxed corner of Wharf and Warner street where you can sit back and enjoy stunning views ,watch the sun go down behind the mountains as the boats sail home whilst sharing delicious plates of sumptuous tapas , With the help of our friendly staff, enjoy a Spanish tapas banquet of your choice or choose from our mains selection featuring paella, jamon rolled pork loin, steak and more And embrace the continental way of sharing the occasion with friends and loved ones Sunday breakfast from 8.30Am just across the road from the market, followed by lunch until 2pm. (Then time for siesta) Still the home of our famous coconut creme brulee, served in the 1/2 nut. We are vegetarian and gluten free friendly.
Wallington, Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere and great rapport with the waiter, and not at all pretentious. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented, fresh fish and meat. Lovely setting over looking the wharf. Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    97
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I attended Seabean this evening with my partner. After 5 days in Port Douglas with bad customer service and average food, Seabean was a superb find. Our waitress was very and friendly and lovely (Dutch lady, we didn't catch her name). I don't understand the previous review about the staff rushing them. We say here tonight for a good two and a half hours and did not feel rushed once. The opposite really, we wanted to stay longer. The tapas were reasonably priced and sensational. All up we had 8 different tapas between us with very nice Spanish beer and wine. The food was absolutely delicious and the combination and contrast of different ingredients and flavours were amazing and complimented each other well. The only disappointment is that we found this place on our last night here otherwise we would have dined here daily. Thank you to all the staff for a great evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Truthful review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

On one of many visits to port douglas . We found sea bean very ordinary in food and service . Feel we were rushed through our meal. Impression from staff they were in a hurry to move us on even though they were not busy at the time were there. Would not recommend to visit , there are many more places to eat .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great little restaurant on waterfront in wharf street. Read the reviews and gave it a try. Our second time here, we loved it so much. Great choice, good size servings and good value. Crispy prawns are the best, very tasty and great presentation of tapas. Do yourself a favour and try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tapas meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stopped in for quick meal after a day out on the reef. Luckily we were there early as it filled up pretty quickly after 7pm. Was nice to be able to sit outside with a little bit of breeze, even if it was basically on the footpath as the road and footpath were very quiet in the evenings...

Food and cocktails were great, with large tapas selection on the menu and a number of special items on the blackboard that changed every night. Food was very tasty, quick to arrive and good sized portions for the prices.

Staff were friendly and attentive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seabean Tapas Bar Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Seabean Tapas Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabean Tapas Bar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.