We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanging at the Frangipani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frangipani Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Frangipani Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Villa 3, 13 Andrews Close, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon Suite Best Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
Austin,TX
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hanging at the Frangipani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Frangipani B&B in Port Douglas. Overall I really enjoyed my stay. Leona and Bob do all they can to make you feel like you are home. Bob is always happy to spend every morning having breaky with you and discussing all things Aussy! :^) I liked the breakfast every morning of fresh fruit, cereals, and toast. Bob even went for gluten free bread to accommodate my diet needs!!!

The rooms are comfy and well appointed and if you like the sound of birds in the morning, you are in for a treat. The three guest rooms overlook the courtyard and swimming pool which make you feel like you are in a rain forest. You can use a private entry to your room or enter through the main house. Leona is always welcoming. I spent a couple hours in the pool and it was very nice and peaceful. They also have bikes you can use on the beach.

Talking about the beach, the B&B is all of a 1 minute walk to the beach - very easy access. The beach was awesome to walk both in the morning and eve. The ocean was really nice to swim in and the sand is like powder. Awesome if you ask me.

I really liked the Port Douglas area. It has a little bit of everything for a nice holiday stay - shopping, good restaurants, nite life to boot - not crowded. It takes about an hour to drive to Port Douglas from the Cairns airport, but it is a really scenic drive. It is also close enough to easily take a rain forest tour or go up to Mossman gorge for a nice swim in a fresh water creek.

Overall I would recommend the Frangipani for those wanting a more personal experience when visiting Port Douglas - Bob and Leona are very nice hosts! Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: If you plan to go on any excursions during your stay at Frangipani, Leona is the person to talk too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The biggest problem about writing this review Frangipani is what to say that hasn't already been said in previous reviews.
Firstly let me just comment on your host Leona and Bob , wow what a couple, so so accommodating in every way!!!! This was my first stay in a B&B and I enjoyed every second. The house is amazing and my room was the same , with an excellent open plan , so the garden felt a part of your room. The bed ,pillow and linen were very comfortable and lead to wonderful sleeps. Leona's breakfasts were amazing , which included a plate of fresh fruit with no less than 12 different tropical fruits to enjoy each morning , with many other delicious breakfast goodies to start your day with. The house is only a stone throw from the beach , which is wonderful to ride on with bikes available at the house to use any time. I had a wonderful 4 nights at Frangipani with Leona & Bob .
I can't recommend Frangipani highly enough , it is a little patch of heaven in the tropics you should not miss.
Many thanks Leona & Bob for such a wonderful time .
I will be back..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A beautiful b&b, with a wonderfully restful atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for Leona. We had such a good stay. I would highly recommend this b&b and would love to go back. Great eatery very close by (short walk), and lovely breakfasts at the b&b

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is an exceptional b & b, professionally managed by approachable and caring hosts. The architecturally designed residence had guest accommodation in mind whilst the open plan living area enables the beautiful pool and surrounds to be enjoyed. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and one must be proud of this exposure to Australian excellence in holiday accommodation to the 95 percent ratio of overseas travellers. Well done and thanks for such a perfect holiday experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We love staying at B&B places and this was one of the nicest we have stayed at. Leona and Bob were so friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, position was great as easy access to the beach - it's only 5 Min drive to the shops. The villa has a lovely pool. Leona and Bob have lots of tips and helpful info and booked a great rainforest tour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I went up last year in the July holidays to compete in the Cairns soccer mini cup which was being held in Cairns (1 hour drive south) but I thought I would extend it into a holiday. I went out to Low Isles where we all went snorkelling straight off the beach and Leona directed me to many other tours and restaurants. The room was beautifully set out and you can tell that they've put effort into it because it really does show.

The pool looks amazing and one night I went into it and it was extremely relaxing. I loved waking up to the sounds of the birds in the morning so I went down to the local zoo to eat breakfast with the birds.

All round it was a great trip and I have already booked another one these July holidays with my sister.

Edinson Cavani






(Tim Brown)

Room Tip: The red room has a spa bath but less views over the pool and back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

3 days of R & R
Great house for a relaxing stay. Walk along Four Mile Beach ( which incidentally is not four miles long) to Port Douglas Central or a short drive.
Hosts very helpful.. dropped us into Port Douglas main street.. about 5 min drive.
Wonderful Breaky with lots of interesting fruits.
Dined in some lovely restaurants.. a special is Nautilus.. but you must try Salsa ( across road from little chapel).. fantastic linguine!!
Rooms were great with a small fridge and tea making facilities.
Love to get back there sometime.

Room Tip: Liked our Green room as it had two windows in the bathroom and also a window above our bed head
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frangipani Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Bed & Breakfast

Address: Villa 3, 13 Andrews Close, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive B&B Accommodation you only dream about. An intimate couples retreat, honeymooners delight, or a place for anyone to simply getaway, relax, and unwind surrounded by the beauty of nature. 3 Stunning rooms to choose from.This stunningly luxurious two-storey villa will truly embrace, and make you feel like you never want to leave. Perfumed Frangipani trees purposely shade the entrance and welcome you as you arrive at Frangipani Bed and Breakfast. Downstairs the home is open plan living with bi-fold doors that open out onto the large outdoor entertaining area, and your own secluded heated swimming pool. Huge palm trees and tropical ferns add to the ambience and relaxation of your very own tropical setting. The top floor has 3 main bedrooms all with their own private balcony, bi-fold floor to ceiling glass doors, uninterrupted views to the inviting pool and tropical gardens below. Each room contains its own private en-suite, with a king size bed which can be converted into two large single beds. As well as having its own bar fridge with tea and coffee making facilities provided, and brand new LCD flat screen TVs. Frangipani B&B has direct access (no crossing roads) to the pristine sands of Four Mile Beach and the crystal waters of the Coral Sea only a short 100 metre walk. The perfect place to watch the sunrise over the horizon, or ride the bicycles (provided) along the sand. A Tropical Continental Breakfast is served downstairs as a buffet each morning and is all-inclusive.There is direct access to your room via an alternate outside route, so you can come and go as you please at all hours without having to go through the main house if you don't want to. Features of this B&B also include bicycles that you can use to ride along the beach, and a new undercover table tennis area. Features also include: Barbecue, Air Conditioning, All Linen Supplied, Refrigerator, TV, Clothes Dryer, Iron, Washing Machine, Hairdryer, Transport arranged, Bath and Pool towels, Brochures, Heated Swimming Pool, and Tour Bookings.Check out a recent TV review on YouTube, search: Frangipani Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.