We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Could Want !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Douglas Queenslander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Douglas Queenslander to your Saves list
The Port Douglas Queenslander
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All Could Want !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Firstly we were received a friendly greeting by Rosemary and given some information and the keys. Damien helped us with our luggage to our lovely and immaculate one bed unit. We swan in the pool which had comfortable lounges and some very handy pool noodles for extra relaxing in and around the area!! We also used the bbq ( which came supplied with tools, oil and condiments ). The complex is located within easy walking distance ( even for us ) to both the Main Street or the beautiful marina.
In Port Douglas you are spoilt for choice with so many great restaurants, cafes and bars but our unit was fully equipped for cooking your own meals.
Our highlight to our trip was sailing out to Low Isles on the Wavedancer and snorkelling with the turtles,
Many thanks for our very relaxing stay to Rosemary, Damien and daughter.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello groove011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at The Queenslander. It was a pleasure to meet you and help you make the most of your time here, our location, facilities and pool area are great for a relaxing holiday.
A day our to the Low Isles is a fantastic experience especially if you are lucky enough to see and swim with the turtles.
Safe travels Rosemary, Damien & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    25
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location - walking distance from everything you need, good value, clean comfortable rooms with good aircon and very helpful staff! Would highly recommend staying here. Pool and great bbq facilities outside too.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Stephanie C
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Queenslander, our location and the facilities we are able to offer our guests. The barbecue is very popular and a great way to cook in this amazing tropical climate.
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundi, India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were two couples in a two bedroom apartment. We couldn't find any fault with this accommodation and recommend it to anyone. Plenty of room, comfortable furniture in lounge and comfortable beds. Also great to have laundry facility. Pool area very nice.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello sandpmp
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback, its great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Port Douglas Queenslander. All our apartments are well equipped for a self catering holiday and have laundry facilities in each apartment which are extremely popular with guests who are travelling for a longer time.
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to spend a few days - convenient walking distance to shops and watering holes - excellent and friendly service - all modern conveniences supplied - extremely clean and ample under cover parking.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Exkiap1
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and its great o hear you enjoyed your stay at The Port Douglas Queenslander and the facilities we are able to offer.
Our location is ideal for guests who like to park their car and have a relaxing holiday, just a short stroll to the shops, restaurants, beach and marina.
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 7 nights for the final leg of our journey up the East Coast and we found it a good choice for location to shops, restaurants, beach and marina which are all within easy walking distance. Apartments were well equipped, staff friendly and helpful and the rates were pretty good. Wifi was included although there was a computer available near reception if you needed it. We made use of the pool on a couple of occasions too. Covered parking if you have a car.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Alan W
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback, its great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Queenslander.
Our location is ideal to walk to the shops, restaurants, the marina and beautiful four mile beach.
It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you had a good journey home,
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a 1-bedroom here for 5 nights and we enjoyed the property, the staff and the location. This place is clean but VERY bare bones however, so be prepared for that. They do not supply most of the basics like facial tissue or paper towels, but they do have small bars of soap, a little shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in addition to bath towels and beach / pool towels (which we were very happy about!). Each place has a washer/dryer and a kitchen and they have dishes, glasses and a dishwasher with included dish washing soap. Our place was a bit dark during the day - we saw the one across from us and it had lots of natural sunlight - so if you want more light, I would ask ahead for a "sunny" location. I wish we had thought of this. Another thing we noticed right away was how simple the bed was - like a futon but with a regular bed frame. We were so worried the bed was going to be uncomfortable but to our surprise, it was actually quite nice and we had no problems sleeping!!! The other thing to note is that the tropical birds are quite loud at odd times (almost every morning before dawn we could hear them) so ear plugs are a must if you are a light sleeper. It's a wonderful sound, but can get a bit loud. As far as the staff, we were greeted by Jackie and she was very helpful with our bags (helping us carry them up the flight of stairs, as there is no elevator!) and she was extremely knowledgeable about the local tour information! Very nice to talk to and very friendly! They can book just about any tour you want to do! The location is great too - much further from the downtown shopping area than we thought it would be, but it was great because it was very quiet at night and we always enjoyed the short walk in the morning and at the end of the night! Just lovely looking at the stars and hearing more birds! It's also a very short (and lovely) walk to the beautiful 4-mile beach! Overall, this was a good choice for our 5 night stay in beautiful Port Douglas!

Room Tip: See notes / review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Ashley H
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday in Port Douglas and stay at The Queenslander. It was a pleasure to meet you and help you make the most of your time here, Jenny has extensive knowledge of the area and tours available to guests and is always happy to share her knowledge and help guests achieve the most from their time here.
All our apartments are fully self catering, we offer a starter pack for guests when they arrive which includes toiletries, selection of teas, coffee, milk and laundry powder.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday,
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was staying at a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment with a friend. It was modern and clean, comfortable and was large enough to have privacy when we wanted it. we stayed for a week and loved it I could have stayed longer. The pool area was relaxing and the barbecue next to the pool was perfect for relaxed outdoor eating The property is very convenient with a short stroll to Macrossan Street with shops and cafes or to the Marina and free undercover parking.I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Luv2eeet

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback, its great to hear you enjoyed your holiday at The Port Douglas Queenslander.
The 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartments are a great choice for guests who like space while away on holiday. Our pool and barbecue area is very popular with guests who like to relax by the pool or enjoy a barbecue in our wonderful tropical climate. We hope to see you again if you visit this beautiful part of Tropical North Queensland,
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Port Douglas Queenslander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Douglas Queenslander

Address: 8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Port Douglas Queenslander 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Queenslander offers 17 air-conditioned accommodations with washers/dryers and DVD players. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Each accommodation is individually furnished. Accommodations at this 4-star apartment have kitchens with full-sized refrigerators/freezers, microwaves, cookware/dishes/utensils, and dishwashers. Bathrooms include showers and hair dryers. Complimentary Wi-Fi. Printing and fax facilities available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Port Douglas Queenslander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Douglas Queenslander Hotel Port Douglas
The Hotel Port Douglas
The Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Douglas Queenslander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.