We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Douglas Queenslander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Douglas Queenslander to your Saves list
The Port Douglas Queenslander
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This accommodation was very clean n handy to everything. There's a pool for everyone to enjoy and a BBQ area. We liked to make our own tea and cook so we had a kitchenette. The service was excellent too.I would recommend it for all. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was number Ten and it was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed here because we like to self-cater.
we were given a ground floor suite because I am partially disabled and it was perfect
we were impressed it had a washing machine and tumble dryer and one sachet of powder
the kitchen had adequate facilities and complimentary coffee/ tea and milk on our arrival
the owners Rosemary and Damien were most helpful. they provided bookings for trips and helped with any advice we needed.
they had sweets in foyer which was a nice touch.
we would definitely revisit if we went to port douglas again

Room Tip: amazing value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello trishchaf2015
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Port Douglas Queenslander and the facilities we are able to offer. It was a pleasure to meet you both and you certainly made the most of your time here and exploring the surrounding area. We hope you enjoy the rest of your fantastic holiday and hope to see you again, Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was raining. Cyclone Nathan was hanging around. We were curled up in our apartment which our hosts had provided on the lee side of the prevailing wind and rain. The apartment was roomy and comfortable and we could sit out on the balcony without getting drenched. Undercover parking was a plus.Games were provided by the owners to while away the time. Hosts were always available to assist and answer queries.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello sydneyowl
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your apartment, the facilities we are able to offer and time in Port Douglas.
Cyclone Nathan..................................his first attempt left Port Douglas looking very clean and green, his second attempt was a non event here - mother nature?!
The board games have been very popular with guests and we have added to the selection available for guests to enjoy.
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a delightful family breakaway. The pool is just divine for all ages. Rosemary and Damien are extremely helpful and accommodating. The rooms are homely and have everything you need. Great airconditioning for this climate! We'll be back!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Gypsyjev
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family and a joy to see the children enjoying the pool.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again,
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Port Douglas Queenslander. It has excellent facilities and is on a very convene its location - walking distance to shops, marina and beach

We cannot think of anything negative to say. The owners seem to have thought of everything that is needed for a comfortable stay and are themselves friendly and helpful.

We would fully recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Janetfarr
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it was lovely to meet you both and we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities we are able to offer and our location. We hope you enjoy the rest of your amazing holiday.
I hope to get back to Barron Falls soon and get a photo as spectacular as the one you took!
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the last week of February 2015. Well maintained property and very helpful owners/managers. They helped us with organising sight seeings, pick up and drop from/to airport. The two bed room apartment we stayed in was clean, well furnished and had a fully functional kitchen. Damien is a cricket enthusiast like me, so we had a lot to talk about

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Gopakumark2015
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you and your wife and help you make the most of your time in Port Douglas. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here and the facilities we are able to offer. Cricket is always a very welcome topic of conversation with Damien especially when he finds someone equally interested in the game!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your amazing holiday, Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Queenslander for 3 nights and were impressed. The property's is ideal as a base for exploring the rainforest. Unfortunately we had really bad weather but Rosemary and Damien's hospitality made up for this. There was a minor problem with our AC and we were moved to another apartment immediately. Then we were given a substantial discount because of the inconvenience - very generous and thoughtful .
Rosemary's advice on local restaurants is spot-on.

Room Tip: Can't comment, both apartments we had were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Owner at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Christine B
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Port Douglas Queenslander and we really appreciate your understanding with the problem with the air conditioning unit which we were able to resolve.
It was a pleasure to help you make the most of your time here and recommend some of the fantastic restaurants we have in Port Douglas.
Safe travels Rosemary & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Douglas Queenslander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Douglas Queenslander

Address: 8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Port Douglas Queenslander 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Queenslander offers 17 air-conditioned accommodations with washers/dryers and DVD players. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Each accommodation is individually furnished. Accommodations at this 4-star apartment have kitchens with full-sized refrigerators/freezers, microwaves, cookware/dishes/utensils, and dishwashers. Bathrooms include showers and hair dryers. Complimentary Wi-Fi. Printing and fax facilities available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Port Douglas Queenslander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Douglas Queenslander Hotel Port Douglas
The Hotel Port Douglas
The Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Douglas Queenslander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.