We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Douglas Queenslander

Save Saved
You added The Port Douglas Queenslander to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Port Douglas Queenslander
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a lovely stay here in a two bedroom apartment. It was very comfortable, spacious and clean. Julie and Gavin were very helpful and welcoming. We loved that we could walk to everything - shops, beach, marina. Only negative was that we had to come back to Melbourne weather! Thank you

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground level at the front and we found this to be easy to pop out and back to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We agree that The Port Douglas Queenslander is ideally located being only five minutes walk to the main street in The Village, Four Mile Beach and The Marina. We are pleased that you got to experience our nice tropical weather. Kind regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    75
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
64
150
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a ground floor two bedroom apartment which was very clean and easy to access. The location of the PD Queenslander makes it really easy to access the township by walking. Julie and Gavin were very good hosts and happy to help whenever asked. A great 7 days spent in Port Douglas with great accommodation. Thank you

Room Tip: If someone has mobility issues then they would need to have a ground floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your holiday in Port Douglas. Our location is very popular with our guests We were pleased that you got to explore our Village.. Yes we would advise anyone with a disability to contact us to ensure they have a suitable apartment for their needs. Kind regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Top location within easy walking distance of everything Port Douglas has to offer - which is heaps! Julie was soooo lovely, welcoming and helpful - even coming to wave us off when we left but maybe that was just to make sure we left after our last night antics??? ;) The only negative was that it was a bit noisy but I'd still definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ladies We were delighted to have you stay with us you were wonderful guests. We laughed at your "nights antics" and were sorry we did not join you. Kind regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were lucky enough to pick up the studio apartment at a bargain price from booking.com. we were pleasantly surprised at how comfy and well equipped it was. We had an easy walk to shops, marina and beach. There were a few noisy people walking past during the night occasionally but didn't keep us awake. Thank you Julie and Gavin for a pleasant stay, interesting chat and travel advice.....We'd recommend the queenslander!

Room Tip: Studio apartment was great as we didn't have to use stairs....also quiet secluded part of garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in our studio apartments. They are located in our garden which surrounds you with tropical plants. We are pleased that you liked the easy walk to the main street in Port Douglas Village, Four Mile Beach and The Marina.

All complexes in Port Douglas can sometimes experience a noise issue. It is the late closures of the hotels or wedding venues .We always listen to ensure they are passing by so they do not continue to disturb our guests.

Warm regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I must say we have never stayed at an accomodation that made us feel so uncomfortable and un welcomed . We travelled 7 hours arrived at 6:30 with three adults and our daughter aged 4 to be greeted with the most hostile welcoming , we were told so forcefully that children were NOT WELCOMED !!! and paper work pushed in our face that we should have read the "fine print" sorry but who reads the the fine print ! We were then told she could stay if she was to be kept quiet and not to run around !!! Then feeling like we didn't want to tread on any toes our daughter and I were made to feel like we could not make ANY NOISE ! Following that night we had to tell our ADULT neighbours to be quiet at 3 am because they were keeping us up with noise ! ( our child wasn't heard at all ! ) then the following night after a wedding we were attending we arrived home at 11:30 waiting in the car park at the enterance door we were waiting for our friend to come down and let us in , my hubby and I were having a conversation to be supprisely attacked but he manager screaming at us to SHUT UP !!!!! After my hubby gave it back - slittely inapropiatly we we were told to get our bags and get out !!! We went into our room quietly packed our bags absolutely digusted and waited to leave first thing in the morning . Leaving our keys in the door the room cleaned we got in our car at 9:30 to be chased by these people AGAIN !!!! Insulted reminded children were not welcomed and we were to be black listed !!! I have never ever felt so attacked unwelcome and discriminated ! We payed our accomodation you can not tell me people were not to make ANY NOISE what so ever it should be advertised as a retirement village I will NEVER RECOMEND THIS PLACE it was the worst experience we have ever had !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Foul Mouth Guest. These guests shocked us with their behaviour. They booked an apartment for four adults but arrived with their three year old daughter.despite sending them a confirmation email stating guests had to be over 11 years of age. As she was a delightful little girl we made an exception for their two night stay - and advised them to check in next morning as they were late arrivals - they did not check in.

Just before midnight we heard a lot of noise on our driveway and when we investigatewe found they were screaming loudly as they were locked out and did not have their key with them. We opened the door for them and asked them to stop making so much noise as they counld be heard all through the compled. The response was loud abuse and foul language from the male stating in was only midnight we had no right to complain.

On their departure day we approached them when they were leaving as they had not checked out and returned our keys. His nasty attitude condinued and we were shocked at the foul langage he used in front of his little girl. They left a very messy apartment. They also smoked in their apartment despite all the information displayed that we are a non smoking complex and smoking is only permitted in our designated area.

Our inhouse guestswere disgusted hearing such terrible behaviour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Port Douglas is a very popular and mostly expensive resort so we were pleased to find the Queenslander at a reasonable price. The accommodation was spacious and well equipped and an easy walk to beach, marina, restaurants and shops. The managers made us feel very welcome and arranged all our trips for us. There is free use of a computer with internet which is useful for online check-in and printing boarding passes.

Room Tip: There is building work on the town centre side but this didn't affect us on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed staying in your apartment and found that we are just five minutes walk to the main street in the village as we as Four Mile Beach and The Marina. Our guest enjoy being able to walk to the many restaurants for dinner.

We do provide our guests with free internet access from our communal computer located on our ground floor.

The developer who has purchased the adjacent property has now cleared all the waste materials, much to our delight.

Warm regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Fantastic accommodation. 2 minute walk to everything, on a quiet street. Super friendly hosts. The one bedroom apartment was light, airy, spacious, modern and very clean. No noise after the 9pm pool/bbq curfew. Perfect!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We were delighted to have you stay with us. We are pleased that you got to experience Tropical North Queensland and have taken away some special memories.

Warm regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Douglas Queenslander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Douglas Queenslander

Address: 8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Port Douglas Queenslander 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Port Douglas Queenslander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Douglas Queenslander Hotel Port Douglas
The Hotel Port Douglas
The Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Douglas Queenslander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;