We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Douglas Queenslander

Save Saved
You added The Port Douglas Queenslander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Port Douglas Queenslander
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
centro Italia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good location and management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spend 5 nights in August 2013 in Queenslander and we enjoyed our stay. The location is good, 5 mins walk to four miles beach and same distance to main street with restaurants, bars etc..
Julie was always very open and available to provide her best support to all our requests (tour, trasportation arrangement and booking).
We arrived late night and we were very pleased to see that we were upgraded to 3rd floor 2 rooms apartment and not studio, thanks again Julie! The property is well maintained and kept, I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd or 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    74
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
61
147
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Port Douglas Queenslander. Fabulous location - five minutes to the beach / shops / cafes & restaurants. The accommodation is clean & comfortable & managers Julie & Gavin were lovely & helpful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Ok serviced apartment. Looks bigger and better in the pictures than in real life, for example the pool area is tiny and I didn't see anyone using it. For a 4* accommodation I would have expected more comfortable bedding (no proper doona/duvet). Noise issues on the Saturday night. You're expected to take out your rubbish when leaving. Centrally located if you don't have a car. No shop, restaurant or cafe in the complex. The owners were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We would recommend you always read all the information provided before make an accommodation booking. We are not a hotel. We are a self catering complex. We have achieved our four star rating because of our very happy guests comments. All complexes ask guests to take out their rubbish before leaving - even some hotels. All apartments have doonas and blankets for the guests to use. No self catering apartments have shops, restaurants or cafes. We wish you many more special holidays but please check all sites when planning your holiday. Kind regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We do not often give a 5 star review, but this establishment earns it. On arrival we were greeted like old friends. Our apartment was on the first floor and the view from our balcony was of tropical bush. Clean and comfortable with a great balcony which we had most of our meals on. Although just back from Mudlo Street, we had little problem with noise. we never closed curtains or windows - all the windows had fine mesh outside to keep away any flying unwanted guests! It was only a few minutes walk to the beach or the shops and harbour. All the floors were of white tiles which helped to keep the place cool - the only small problem we had was that if you wanted to sit up and read in bed, the bed started to roll away from the wall on its castors!!! we fixed this with some un-needed clothes under the castors! Would we recommend this accommodation? Most certainly!!!

Room Tip: The higher rooms would have a better view, however only three stories, the front units would have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at The Port Douglas Queenslander in mid June. We found the location close to everything. The beach, town and marina were all only a 5 minute walk away. Our two bedroom suite was fresh, modern, spacious and quiet. No sign of the terrible bats we had heard so much about, I think they may have moved to central Cairns. The hosts Julie and Gavin were friendly and allways happy to help. The only critiscism I have is that they take the whole self catering thing to the max. So make sure you buy plenty of loo paper because after the first roll your on your own and its user pays all the way. You also have to supply your own detergents etc. But really this is minor stuff, it's a lovely place and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathmont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well it's fantastic to be able to stay in a place where you are so delighted because of the pristine condition of the apartment and the beautiful gardens and swimming pool, so much so that you would be happy to unwind by not going out at all! However the Queenslander was lovely to come home to after a relaxing stroll in the town which is walking distance but not so close that you don't have a peaceful environment if you want to chill out quietly. The feeling of coming home was largely because of Julie and Gavin who made me feel as a single person incredibly comfortable and welcome. Julie was very wise and informed in her advice about best trips from Port Douglas.
Will definitely have to return to Port Douglas to regenerate the batteries and the Queenslander will be my choice because of the quality of the apartments, the friendliness and commitment of the managers and the location which is ideal. Love the bird chorus in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location close to marina, shops and beach, very well presented and very personable managers - what more could you want! Would love to go back.

Port Douglas just about the best spot for holidays in Australia, for winter bound southerners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Douglas Queenslander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Douglas Queenslander

Address: 8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Port Douglas Queenslander 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Port Douglas Queenslander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Douglas Queenslander Hotel Port Douglas
The Hotel Port Douglas
The Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Douglas Queenslander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.