We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Spot to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Douglas Queenslander

Save Saved
You added The Port Douglas Queenslander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Port Douglas Queenslander
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Spot to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location close to marina, shops and beach, very well presented and very personable managers - what more could you want! Would love to go back.

Port Douglas just about the best spot for holidays in Australia, for winter bound southerners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    75
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
64
150
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very pleased with our recent stay at the Queenslander. Lovely and quiet in a convenient location- only 5 minutes walk to the beach and a few minutes walk to Macrossan Street. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit overlooking the pool. The unit was spacious and clean and we had plenty of room for all 4 of us. We would definitely return to the Queenslander next time we're in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights at the Queenslander. Julie and Gavin were fantastic, and helped us with any questions we had about the area including the best restaurants, tours, etc. Julie handled all our bookings for tours and transport, so we only had one bill to settle. The apartment was set up beautifully and we had everything we needed. The location is perfect, close to town but far enough away for peace and quiet. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay very much. The 1 BR apartment had everything we needed. Located in a perfect position, walking distance to everything but in a quiet location. The hosts, Julie and Gavin were most helpful with everything, including booking our tours and providing all the information we needed for our stay. Would definitely choose to stay here again when we come to Port Douglas next!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Conveniently located just a 5 minute walk away from the main throng of Port Douglas and the beach. My room was annexed from the main building (one of 2 I think) and was roomy and clean with a comfortable bed. However it felt like it needed a little TLC, for example, the ceiling fan needed painting or replacing and the fridge was a little battered - neither were major issues but did take the edge of what could be a pleasant room. A few other things to pick up on which I didn't notice whilst booking (it might be in the small print somewhere but if it is, I missed it):
1. Guests are expected to put your own rubbish out into the bins on the side street
2. Room cleaning is every 7 days - nothing in between
2. Toilet roll is not included in provisions (there was one roll provided but any further requirements are down to the guest to purchase)
Overall the stay was satisfactory but for me it's the little things that make the difference and I think the owners have the balance slightly wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

in 2012, we booked a 2 bedroom apartment(for 2 couples) at the Queenslander and were so pleasantly surprised by the size of the apartment, trhe furnishings and the warmth of Gavin and Julie that we booked again this year.Gavin and Julie put a great deal of effort into maintaining the type of complex that is welcoming and well maintained . The grounds, including the pool area, are lush. For privacy there is a balcony where we sat and read or took some of the meals we prepared in the kitchen. We had use of the outdoor grill and each apartment had its own washer/dryer. The location is just two blocks from Macrossin Street, 2 blocks from 4 mile beach, and a short walk to the wharf area. We developed the bad habit of walking for ice cream each evening-just because it was so convenient. We will return again. It's like a home away from home.

Room Tip: A one bedroom apt is fine for 2 people. We had more than ample space when we were two couples shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, no problems with arriving after reception had closed for evening and leaving before reception opened in the morning. All tours were arranged through reception without any issues.

The place is 2 blocks away from Four Mile beach, the Marina and the main High Street. Had a one bedroom self-catering apartment, that had all the facilites needed.

In summary, very pleased with accommodation, stayed for 5 nights and would stay there again if I return to Port Douglas. Recommend for anyone who doesn't need to be waited on all day long.

$60 for a week's WiFi access was only disappointment

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Douglas Queenslander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Douglas Queenslander

Address: 8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Port Douglas Queenslander 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Port Douglas Queenslander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Douglas Queenslander Hotel Port Douglas
The Hotel Port Douglas
The Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Douglas Queenslander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.