We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Queenslander Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Douglas Queenslander

Save Saved
You added The Port Douglas Queenslander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Port Douglas Queenslander
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Our Queenslander Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Queenslander. We had an Envelope waiting with our names on it and also an Instrucion Leaflet. We also were very much surprised and delighted with our accommodation. It was very well presented, Garden setting was beautiful & we took many photos of the setting, the apartment was also spacious and nicely laid out. All amenities were to out liking. Swimming pool had plently of Sun so we were very pleased with our Hosts Gavin & Julie were very good hosts and always ready & available to help us when we return to Port Douglas again we would select the Queenslander & highly recommend it to others. So once again thank you for making our stay confortable and pleasant. Tom & Lila.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We would certainly love to have you stay with us again Warm regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    74
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
60
147
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangerei
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very good stay. Good hosts, you could not ask for better. We did not need much help, but it was great to know they were there to talk to. Room facilities are good, we ate breakfast on the verandah each day. Pool is good, I spent a lot of time in it. The apartment was comfortable and spacious. Parking is provided and is relatively secure. The Queenslander is a 5 min walk from town, so location is good but not perfect. It looks slightly aged, but that is not a problem because everything you need is there.
Only one snag - the colony of bats outside is great fun, but gets a bit loud and bratty just before dawn.

Room Tip: If you don't sleep well, ask for a room at the back, away from the bats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased that your enjoyed your holiday in Port Douglas. There is nothing nicer than enjoying breakfast from your patio or balcony.

The fruit bats are protected in Australia and sometimes roost in the trees in Port Douglas looking for food as some of their usual nesting areas were destroyed by Cyclone Yasi They do departed as quickly as they appear and can change their nesting areas each year.

Kind regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our fifth trip to Port Douglas and the third time we have stayed at The Queenslander. That says something, doesn't it? Perfect location just 5 mins from the main street, idyllic garden setting and pool/BBQ, spacious rooms well equipped, hardly any traffic noise. The hosts, Gavin and Julie, are Kiwis, so of course they are terrific!! What more could you want?

Room Tip: No lift of course. The lower you are, the closer you are to the free library in the foyer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We just loved having you stay with us again. It was lovely to meet your family and catch up with all your news. We look forward to your next holiday with us.

Warm regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I used the Queenslander recently ( Monday 15/10 and Tuesday 16/10) as the very first part of our travels around the East Coast (just concluded this weekend) .

As always you'd want a trip to start well and it really couldn't be faulted in the slightest !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The accommodation was spotless, superbly equipped (including a great barbecue area), located and furnished.

Julie (one of the owners - her husband Gavin being away in New Zealand) is an absolute diamond - nothing being too much trouble for her and always having a permanent smile on her face setting the right tone for your holiday.

Port Douglas is a truly lovely little place but its enchantment was added to by the Queenslander and Julie.

As this was our first trip to Australia we had hoped it would full of fond memories and the simplest thing to say about Port Douglas is to say that if (when !!!!) we go back we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else other than the Quenslander.

Our huge thanks go to Julie (and Gavin of course) for setting the bar for things so highly and then meeting our expectations with such ease.

Don't think about booking anywhere else - don't waste your time with further research as you have already identified the jewel in Port Douglas's crown by reading this note.

If it was possible to give something 11 out of 10 then this would be one. Once you've stayed here you'll know exactly what I mean and I'd bet my last dollar that you'll be writing a glowing review just like this one.

Once again our grateful thanks in kicking off our Aussie trek in such a brilliant fashion. We'll be back (and so will any of our friends who come to Port Douglas !!!).

Fondest regards

Mick and Karen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You were such a delight to have stay with us and we were very interested to hear the details of your road trip and were pleased that you will have taken away some very special memories of your adventure.

With a very best regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We liked the spacious apartment, the ideal location, the quietness, the pool and surrounds.
Our hosts, Julie and Gavin, were terrific.
This was our third stay at The Queenslander ... we will be back.
Sue and Ron

Room Tip: We liked to be top floor and front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It was lovely to have you stay with us again for your holiday in Port Douglas. We know that you always enjoy the Village lifestyle which is in nice easy walking distance.from our complex.

Warm regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Was recommended to stay by friends who have been returning for some 12 years. We really enjoyed our stay, although next time we would stay in a one bedroom apartment, rather than the studio. Just nice to have a lounge to relax on, instead of using the bed.....next time! Having a self contained apartment was great, as we could eat a good brekkie before heading out for the day. We often strolled back for lunch, as the property is only a block and a half away from the main shopping area. The pool wasn't overly large but the surroundings were lovely and tropical and we could've enjoyed a BBQ by the pool had we chosen to. The fact we didn't have to take loads of clothing was great, as we could use the washing machine in our room and everything would be dry within a few hours (or you could use the dryer).

We met Gavin on our first night and he told us that he and his wife, Julie, were off to have a little break of their own for a few days, so we dealt with the lovely Jenny (and her cockatiel). Jenny was extremely helpful and offered some excellent recommendations for dining, amongst other things. She was a delight.

Mid-stay, Gavin & Julie returned. They looked relaxed and told us stories of their adventure too. Gavin was busy in and around the property a lot, so most of our dealings were with Julie. She is a wonderful hostess, with loads of good advice.

We would not hesitate to stay again and happily recommend it to anyone looking to relax and enjoy a place extremely close to absolutely everything! We loved it.

Room Tip: Gave a low rating for the fitness centre and restaurant, as there is no restaurant and didn't se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were sorry that we were not here for the full length of your stay but Jenny is always wonderful to our guests. We did manage to get three days holiday which we really did appreciate after an extremely busy season. We always enjoy chatting to our guests and discovering the wonderful travel experience they have had. We hope you have taken away some special memories of Tropical North Queensland.

Warm regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the first phone conversation to the minute we walked out the door, we were made to feel special. Gavin and Julie were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
The 1 bedroom apartment was very spacious. It was clean and had all the amenities for a great stay. It is in a great location with a 5 minute walk in each direction to the shops, restaurants, beach and the marina. The pool area was great, unfortunately we didn't get time to use it as we were out exploring beautiful Port Douglas and surrounding areas.
Our 4 nights were not enough and we will be back at a later date. We would definitely stay at The Port Douglas Queenslander again.
Dinah & Jim

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenslander5050, Manager at The Port Douglas Queenslander, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for writing a review . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully when you return you will get to enjoy relaxing around our pool.

Warm regards Gavin and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Port Douglas Queenslander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Douglas Queenslander

Address: 8-10 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Port Douglas Queenslander 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Port Douglas Queenslander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Douglas Queenslander Hotel Port Douglas
The Hotel Port Douglas
The Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Douglas Queenslander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.