We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zinc Port Douglas

Zinc Port Douglas
3 / 53-61 Macrossan Street | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
7 4099 6260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Auckland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Group dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a great dinner here for 13 people. After initial problem with booking -was booked for 2 instead of 13, the hed waiter went out of his way to accomatde us all, setting up a table in the outside area. Our waitress was very friendly and didn’t hesitate to take numerous photos for us all. The menu was extensivd and cateed for all tastes, a good selection of gluten free and vegetrian also. All our meals came out in a timely manner without any problems with the late influx of a large crowd. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere of the restaurant is great.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    290
    83
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere, service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Had dinner at a corner table near the street - beautiful evening, fun to people watch. Excellent service and white tablecloths made this restaurant feel "fancier" than others in town. I had a VERY yummy baramundi with veggies and husband enjoyed his kangaroo and salad. Walkable to hotels, looks warm and inviting as you walk by, not inexpensive, but this is not a burger at Dave's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service,nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Dined at Zinc.
Service was brilliant and food was good.
We went there because it looked inviting and it was near the hotel.
We were not dissaointed

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were last at Zinc 3 years ago. Went back tonight and everything was well done. Service friendly, informative and timely. Menu intetesting and varied. Cocktails before the meal as we arrived early. We were given a perfect table for two. Well run and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very disappointed this visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We always make Zinc our first port of call when in Port Douglas, with wonderful stunning memories of gorgeous food, and have recommended this place to all our friends who plan to visit P.D. This time, we were eager to repeat the same wonderful food experience and were dismayed to see it had almost turned into a child's crèche. There were five assorted strollers/pushchairs full of tired kids who should have been in bed, whingeing. We decided to not dine there as it was like a Zoo. Just had an expensive glass of wine in their bar - it was hard to find a place to sit. One considerate Mum and Dad, complete with stroller and crying kid took over six seats, with their feet up on the nice chairs, and the noise was so loud, we didn't even bother to ask them to move their crusty bare feet. Yuk. Sorry Zinc - we normally love you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Port Douglas also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Zinc Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zinc Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.