We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch spot in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Inlet

On the Inlet
3 Inlet Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 5255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best lunch spot in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We visit Port Douglas annually and always find ourselves lunching at On the Inlet. The views are absolutely stunning. That combined with the excellent food, informal but attentive service and excellent cocktail list has kept us coming back. We loose hours relaxing and enjoying that magnificent view. Can't wait to do it again next year!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On the Inlet, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Mat and Marni, thanks so much for stopping by to review On The Inlet. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch whiling away the hours by the water-it's lovely to hear, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    248
    83
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best stake I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location and wonderful food, shame we didn't find it until our last night in Port Douglas. If you purchase one of those "Entertainment" books you also get one main course free which makes it excellent value for money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On the Inlet, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Russell for your kind review. We hope to see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The waiter was very knowledgeable in helping us select our fish. I usually opt for Barra, but decided to have coral trout. My husband had the fish of the day - mulloway. Both were excellent.
The dessert menu was also good.
Me -Warm Chocolate Fudge Cake w/ raspberry compote and king island double cream.
Him -Trio of fresh made sorbets w/ chilli, Mint and rockmelon salsa.

Will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On the Inlet, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Marie,
thank you so much for your lovely review. The freshly caught Mulloway on our Specials board was rather delicious! thank you. I'll pass on your positive feedback for both the Special and the Coral Trout to our fishermen.
(And while I'm dutifully tucking away Weetbix right now, I'm dreaming of the chocolate fudge cake you finished your night with....)
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, service was excellent and the food was delicious. Will definitely go back on our next visit to Port Douglas. An alternative would be The Tin Shed a little further up the inlet should you not be able to get a booking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On the Inlet, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review-we do look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Port !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daylesford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We popped in for a quick bite but stay for hours, Terrific food and if you enjoy seafood you'll love this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On the Inlet, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Richard,
many thanks for taking the time to provide your review for On The Inlet. As a team, we very much appreciate your positive experience (especially when we saw your chef's uniform in your profile picture ;))-thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you up north again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On the Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Inlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.