We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Inlet

On the Inlet
3 Inlet Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 5255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Contrary to the comment of 10th August, my husband and I and Sir Bill dined there on several occasions. We requested the French girl as we found her outstanding and her attention was spot on. Sorry we had to leave Port Douglas after a month but look forward to dining here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    249
    83
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and enjoy the PD sunset!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Really great place to watch the sunset. Staff are friendly and accommodate allergies! The local fish and chips is a must, the seafood platter is nice - but I have had better. Nothing beats the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great spot, great menu and very good service. A not so good dish was not charged and staff were very apologetic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came to have a beer and see the Giant Grouper George. A little crowded with families there to see the Grouper but we found a cute little table in the back with views or the pretty harbor. No show by George but now worries because the Fish Taco & Beer Special was the bomb! we'd go back for the tacos!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been lucky enough to dine here over a few years and every year we return it never disappoints. We always start with a drink while viewing the groper feeding - although we've never been lucky enough to see George. It really doesn't matter as there is no better place to enjoy a sunset drink over the water with a bucket of fresh prawns! Once we move to the restaurant the waiters are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We enjoyed a sushi platter followed by a fantastic crispy fried local fish with asian salad. Stunning! Their kids menu is great and plenty of colouring in ensured we had a relaxed and enjoyable night. I can't wait to come back next year again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On the Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Inlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.