We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prawns in bucket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Inlet

On the Inlet
3 Inlet Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 5255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 97 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Prawns in bucket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely little spot for a light meal. Casual and comfortable on the water. Prawns in a bucket and a cocktail - delicious.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    278
    97
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Recommend On The Inlet, if possible book a table early by the water, the best food and dining experience we experienced in Port Douglas, though ordered whole coral trout , a red snapper was on plate, nevertheless it was delicious, whole, crispy moist with delicious Thai flavours

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Port Douglas it was the pick of the restaurants. Fresh seafood, well presented and excellent staff. We had the reef fish for main which was a coral cod cooked perfectly. The staff are attentive and friendly. The restaurant is on the mariner and is a terrific setting. All in all a great night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent New Year's Eve here and the food was fantastic with a great view of the fireworks. The food was really fresh. I had the fish curry and it was just perfect not to much spice with just the right amount of heat. We had the bucket of prawns to begin with and then threw the shrimp shells in the water to feed the fish. Very kid friendly

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The Best in Port Douglas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We ate here for dinner several times because it was so fresh and tasty. The coral trout was our fave dish, The fresh sashimi was a perfect starter. The setting cannot be beaten and it was great seeing the big grouper George each evening as the sun set.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On the Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Inlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.