We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friendly Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant

Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant
39 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
(07) 4099 5974
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Friendly Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great Chinese food, making good use of produce from far north Queensland, food consistantly of a great standard.

Staff very friendly and welcoming, with special thanks to Han.

Would certainly recommend this restaurant for a pleasant evening out!

Book in advance as is always busy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    87
    32
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lovely food, wonderful location and fabulous cocktails! Ask for a seat outside and enjoy the passing parade.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in PD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sometimes you need something reliable: Chinese food. We dropped in on Jade Inn after touring all day and they were just the ticket. Turns out, they are more than that: their young son is on his way to becoming a well-regarded master chef. His awards are all over the wall and he was there when we came by, doing everything you need to do to make a good restaurant click: cooking, picking up, schmoozing, serving drinks, etc.

We didn’t realize all this until we tucked in, realized the sauces were completely different than we’d ever experience and looked up in puzzlement and pleasure. We’d been so pooped, we’d missed the trophy case!

Since we hadn’t planned to “dine,” we hadn’t ordered an entire meal – just beer and sustenance to get us through the night (intelligent beer selection available here!). We can truthfully only say the chicken vegi satay was very rich and the four-star chicken and vegi stir-fry with Schezuan sauce was exciting. If we’d had the time, we’d have re-ordered but, alas!, it was time to collapse. I’m only reporting on this one because it looks very promising. Hopefully, another traveller will follow for us

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sooooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Food is always excellent and the staff make you feel like a part of the family. Almost always very busy, so make sure you book in advance!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food even sitting on the pavement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Walking past this restaurant during the day didn't really pay too much attention to it but the red Chinese lanterns all lit up at night and the crowded tables certainly drew our attention. the place was full so we took a table out on the pavement - didn't stop the food from being absolutely amazing - piping hot and lots of it. One of the nicest chicken and sweetcorn soups I've had in a long time. Also try the lemon chicken and the honey prawns.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.