We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas to your Saves list
Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the spa rooms and was a relaxing and enjoyable stay. These rooms are the priciest but with a jacuzzi, swim up deck and spacious living, bedroom and bathroom areas you feel like you are in your own little apartment.

Everything was modern, and even though we were based on the non-heated pool the water was still lovely temperature. You can't beat the location of this place either, its within walking distance of the marina and town.

Would definitely come back for another stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    133
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
20
510
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Shantara is five minutes walk from McCrossin Street and the beach; reception are knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and the gardens and pools are well maintained.
The hotel is perfect for couples of all ages who want a relaxing holiday with the opportunity to both tour the rivers and the rainforest and sample world class restaurants within ten minutes walk of Shantara.
Already planning another visit utilising our "returning guest offer"!

Bob & Judy Burnet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A wonderful, quiet place! Couples only is a real treat. Stayed in a studio room for a week and this was fine. Beautifully clean and well thought out. Comfortable bed and pillows. The barbecue area was a great surprise - everything you needed including plates and cutlery, plus everything you need to keep it clean.
Great location, close to town so no need to use a car.
Will hopefully be able to stay again in a few years time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights. Excellent place to stay, and mid-week service. Great location, 5 minutes walk to Marina, Beach, Town. Staff were very helpful, rooms were nice & clean, nice big shower. We have recommended it to others and would definitely stay there again. A+++++

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Port Douglas for 1 week. It was one of the best holidays I have ever had, and the staff at Shantara were part of it, they recommended romantic things we could do together like the Sunset sail, which was great.

We stayed in a 1Br swimout apartment, the pool was warm for a late night swim, it was clean, comfortable and I loved the way they were finished with the Japanese style shutters. The shower & spa bath were great.

The beach and Main Street are very close by so no need for taxis or busses.

I hope to return one day.

Room Tip: The swim out was convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Shantara for 3 days, and it was so relaxing and quite. We booked a studio room which was on the top floor, and it met all our needs. The room had all we needed to make a quick meal for breakfast, we were happy not to have the larger kitchen in the 1 bedroom appartment because we wanted to explore all the excellent resturants Port had to offer.
The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the pool was warm and welcoming for a swim, and the gym had all I needed to work off those wonderful dinners.

The Shantara was well located to the Main Street, beach and marina, only a slow 5-10 min walk to all.

I found the staff here happy to help with all my enquires and point us in the right direction for tours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollymook, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great Apartment (1BR APT) Quiet location & handy to all facilities with 2 blocks to Main St, Beach & Wharf. 2 great solar heated pools but 1 is warmer than the other.

Minimal cvooking facilities (no oven) but great BBQ area by pool.

Room Tip: We chose not to have any cleaning while we were there as we were not in the room that often
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools- heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.