We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment, peaceful, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas to your Saves list
Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, peaceful, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were travelling around Oz for our honeymoon and wanted to stay in Port Douglas for a week.

We chose Shantara as it was Kid free. It was self catering which we love as we like the choice of eating in or out and having breakfast at anytime we want! It is also a short walk away from the main strip and the beach. And looked lovely!

We arrived from the airport via a shuttle bus, and the receptionist booked our return journey for our departure. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Upon arrival, the room wow-ed us. Lovely kitchen/ lounge area. The kitchen had everything you need. the bed and pillows were so comfy, the shower was lovely and we had a huge spa bath.

We chose a room with a pool deck which was a good choice, and added to our leisure! All rooms have a balcony area too.

The room was provided with plenty of towels, including towels for the pool.

In the room there was an information pack, which had plenty of information about local restaurants and bars, including Shantara's recommendations as well as take away/ delivery menus. The pack including information about tours, trips and general info on Port Douglas.

If you're after an all inclusive 5* hotel this place isn't for you, but if you like a bit of luxury and to do you own thing than this place is perfect for you as it was for us.

If we get the chance to go back to Australia, we would definitely return as it was one of our favourite parts of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    133
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
20
510
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were here on a 3 night weekend break from Sydney and it was lovely. The room was spotless and kitchenette was well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful in booking tours/ restaurant tables etc. If you don't have kids and want some peace and quiet then this is the place to be! We are already planning our return trip to Shantara.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Shantara have got it spot on with this resort. Great base for doing numerous excursions. We did the reef snorkelling trip with calypso, really accommodating, dive was great, food was surprising very good and staff were bubbly and very helpful and met all needs. We also did the kuranda railway and sky rail tour, again would recommend. Both of these were booked by the shantara with no hassle. Rooms were just what you wanted, clean, all the mod cons and tastefully done. Would recommend getting a room with decking area and access straight to pool as its beautiful with all the tropical plants and trees and still really warm, which makes for a great swim at night with the whole area lit. Great location as well, 5 mins walk to all the restaurants on the main strip, zinc was extremely good. Loved Port Douglas and loved the Shantara!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Shantara Resort was chosen for our 7 day holiday for its location, value, star rating, reviews and no kids policy. It proved to be a good choice and was just as pictured on their website. The location is great and close to the beach and main street for resurants, and the kitchen was well equiped if you like to self cater and not eat out all the time. The apartment was comfortable and fittings to a high standard. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the pool with sun on the balcony which was nice. The pool is quite small and is overlooked so not great if you want more privacy, but the water was lovely and warm. My husband made good use of the gym on site which had all you need for a good workout. The staff were pleasant and helpful with bookings and questions. The resort does have a lovely tropical feel about it and Port Douglas itself was a relaxing place to visit.

Room Tip: Which room your choose would depend on the time of year you are staying, our 2nd floor one bedroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Modern holiday apartments with two pools, a day spa, and close to Macrossan street. Definitely convenient and pleasant. This holiday resort is opposite Peppers resort Port Douglas so we found it good to cross the road to dine there, as Shantara has no in-house restaurant.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and there is a microwave and fridge and cutlery and crockery provided as well as a TV and DVD player. There is both air-conditioning and fan. The plantation shutters also give the apartments elegance and privacy. The bathroom had a huge shower cubicle but no bath. Luxury range shower gel and shampoo, conditioner and soap were provided also. The rooms are not serviced daily but can be for a minimum charge.
We enjoyed our stay in Port Douglas and Shantara resort and spa was a great place to return to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I headed here for a short break and as soon as we entered the Shantara, we knew we had found a little gem. The resort is in immaculate condition and looks like it has only recently been built (last 10 years).

We had a studio apartment with a pool deck that caught the afternoon sun and it was the perfect place to unwind after exploring what Port Douglas and the surrounds has to offer.

The resort has a no children policy and the lack of noise around the resort is welcoming.

The resort is less than a 5min walk from Macrossan St where all the shops and restaurants are located.

If you don't fancy heading out for dinner, Shantara has BBQ facilities for all guests to take advantage of.

We would definitely recommend Shantara to friends and family alike and anyone who is after a relaxing mini-break

Room Tip: Try to get a room that gets the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Shantara Resort Room, which included both a internal & external spa. The rooms were large, with both Bedroom & Bathroom being very generous in space. The apartment has direct access to the pool & the external spa is housed in a private alcove, very well setup in all. The ambience of the place was very relaxed. We found the ten minute walk to the centre of town perfect for the return trips in the balmy night , after you had experienced one of the many high quality restaurants that Pot Douglas has to offer. I would happily recommend this accommodation. The staff were friendly, helpful & efficient. Note the beach is also only a 5 to 10 minute walk away

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools- heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.