We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location And No Kids !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location And No Kids !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a one bedroom apartment. Very spacious and clean, with a great view of the pool. Amenities were first class and we missed out on nothing. Perfect location for us. An easy stroll to the beach every morning, followed by a short walk to our dinner at night. Wished we had stayed longer. A guaranteed return visit ASAP.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    120
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
19
466
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parkes, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 8 nights in a one bedroom apartment on the second (top) floor. The apartment was spacious, modern and exceptionaly clean with everything you could need for a relaxing break including a huge comfy bed. The staff are very friendly and helpful providing information about Port Douglas and booking tours etc. The location is great, close enough to the main shopping area and restaurants and a short stroll to the beach. The pool area is also very good providing a mix of sun and shade and a pleasantly heated pool.
The no children policy is an added bonus for those looking for some peace and quiet.
We highly recommend the Shantara and woud definitely return next time we're in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 7 nights in a studio pool deck apartment,it was spotless with a modern high quality decor,having your own pool deck meant every morning waking up to what seemed like paradise right outside your door,even on a rainy day it felt great to be there,there is great BBQ area that has 2 separate BBQ's with everything you need prepare meals supplied
It is located just 5 minutes from the start of the main st ,and it takes another 5 minutes to get to the end the main st so everything is within a easy walk,it is a 10 minute walk to the Marina so it is just perfect,walk any of the restaurants,in town then a nice walk home.,5mins walk to 4 mile beach it does not get much better .

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a pool deck it is well worth the extra,if you like a bit of space the 1 bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Shantara Apartment (1 Bedroom with a Jacuzzi). It was spotless, spacious and very modern. The bed was comfy, and the Jacuzzi outside was just an added bonus - would definitely recommend one of these rooms! It was our anniversary whilst we were here, and Management gave us a bottle of Jacobs Creek and a note congratulating us.. It's the small things that make the difference!

We had direct access to the non heated pool which was a little too chilly for us, so we spent most of our time in the heated lagoon like pool. We had BBQ facilities right next to our room which was fantastic and we used them every night, they give you everything you need e.g salt and pepper, foil, BBQ utensils etc.

Check in was quick and easy and the staff are very polite and welcoming.

All in all would I stay here again? In a heartbeat! Was great that they don't take kids under 16 as well, made the whole environment very tranquil and relaxing :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narnia, null, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Shantara for 5 nights. We found the apartments to be well kept and in good condition. The pool was nice and the outdoor BBQ meant we didn't always have to eat out and could comfortably make our own dinner. The location is 5 minutes walk from the middle of Port Douglas and still close to the beach.

Room Tip: The pool deck rooms have less room than the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My boyfriend and i had an amazing stay at the Shantara. Staff were polite and helpful but not intrusive. Pool was fabulous to relax next to. Our room was perfect. We stayed in a studio room, loads of space for two. I couldn't speak more highly of Shantara.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcoming service. Clean well appointed rooms. Self contained rooms well equipped and included thoughtful supplies including herbal tees and washing up liquid. Should we come to port Douglas again we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools- heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.