We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Narnia, null, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Shantara for 5 nights. We found the apartments to be well kept and in good condition. The pool was nice and the outdoor BBQ meant we didn't always have to eat out and could comfortably make our own dinner. The location is 5 minutes walk from the middle of Port Douglas and still close to the beach.

Room Tip: The pool deck rooms have less room than the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    122
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
19
476
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My boyfriend and i had an amazing stay at the Shantara. Staff were polite and helpful but not intrusive. Pool was fabulous to relax next to. Our room was perfect. We stayed in a studio room, loads of space for two. I couldn't speak more highly of Shantara.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcoming service. Clean well appointed rooms. Self contained rooms well equipped and included thoughtful supplies including herbal tees and washing up liquid. Should we come to port Douglas again we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I spend our first week of our honeymoon here in a studio apartment with private pool access. The place is very nice, clean, comfortable and a GREAT location to the main street. There are a few things that could have been a little better, because we stayed 4 nights and not 5 we didn't get ANY room cleaning at all, the garbage cans are very small so we had to take out our own trash and really wasn't quite sure were to take it or what bin to place it in. Also, I have no problem re-using a bath towel or pool towel for 2 days but 4 was a bit much. The private pool access wasn't so private at least for the location of our studio, we didn't mind, our neighbors were great but it was a bit confusing on who chairs were whos. On the first day we arrived I went to lay out and I felt like I was using the neighbors chairs even though they had 2 more by thier apartment. As far as the staff on our day of arrive the 1st women we dealt with was amazing very nice helped us book our day trips and gave us all the information we needed.. The lady that was there the rest of the time was not so accomidating, it seemed like anytime we asked her a question or needed something we were annoying her. Also when I needed to reconfirm at dive trip because of a booking issue that was my own fault I asked her how to dial out she told me and then I kept getting back to her it wasn't until the 3 time I was directed to her that she told me she needed to make the phone call and have them call me because all reservations go to them 1st.. This would have been nice to know on phone call one expecially since I was charged for all the call, not that is was a lot of money but just the fact.
No matter what the place was great and we would higly recommend it I just think for the price and the 5 star rating some things could improve..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for having stayed for your Honeymoon at Shantara and we are very pleased to receive your review of recognition.

The Shantara web site noticeably states that we have optional rates with “daily servicing” or “without daily service”. Upon check in we also go through the booking and advise our Guests the option that they have chosen during their stay at Shantara and offer the daily service as an optional extra should they require this service on the days that they choose.

On the guest key card booklet that we hand out it is written where the bins are located, we also have a sign in the cupboard where the bin is located in the rooms explaining where the rubbish can be emptied.

We do ask our Guests if they have pre-booked tours so we can reconfirm the tour for you, I do apologies that you may of experienced some awkwardness over this.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week at Shantara resort in a one bedroom apartment. It was extremely clean and well positioned within easy walk to the shopping area, restaurants, marina and Four Mile Beach. Our apartment was spotless with full kitchen facilites, a comfortable king size bed, spa bath and a sunny balcony overlooking the pool. The resort was very quiet and private with two pool areas to choose from. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our apartment was serviced during our stay with clean linen.Overall we would highly recommend a stay at this resort!

Room Tip: one bedroom apartment is spacious and top floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Shantara certainly is very quiet. Unfortunately we booked through a third party who said that this was a 5 star resort on par with Le meridian etc. It isn't that. The studio rooms are very tiny. It's like sleeping in your kitchen. Unfortunately when we stayed the place was full and we couldn't upgrade. Our romantic holiday was dashed a bit. There is no bar or any atmosphere on site so if that's what you're looking for then this isnt for you. But if a clean ( rooms don't get cleaned daily though) place is what you want and close to all amenities then this will be perfect. We wanted a 5 star flash place.. For our romantic getaway this wasn't what we pictured :(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments and it is appreciated that you have acknowledged that the property is well maintained for our Guests.

The Shantara web site clearly states that the property is “apartment style accommodation” we do not advertise that we have a restaurant or bar area. It’s a shame that people do not do their research prior to making their booking on what their holiday criteria is ! The studio room is reasonably priced as are the large 1 bedroom apartments.

The Webs site is available for you to make a decision on what type of accommodation you wish to book when going on holidays, to go on an idea on what one may of imagined it to be is not a fair comment to make :(

Thanks again for having stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i stayed at the Shantra with my husband and inlaws. we had a studio room which for us was all we needed, it was good size for a studio, was clean and had fridge, kettle etc. my inlaws had a 1 bed apartment (they werent keen on the idea of a studio) and there room was great. full size lounge/kitchen area with good size bedroom.

the resort itself is small (which is a good thing), pools were great, plenty of room to relax. and great location, only a 5 min walk up to the main street in Port Douglas or less than 5 mins to the beach!

staff were friendly and more than happy to assist with any questions we had about day trips, restaurants etc. they booked our airport transfers, trip out to the reef and my inlaws trip to the daintree rainforest, all went without a hitch. great service, i would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools- heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.