We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shantara apartments- Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shantara apartments- Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I spend our first week of our honeymoon here in a studio apartment with private pool access. The place is very nice, clean, comfortable and a GREAT location to the main street. There are a few things that could have been a little better, because we stayed 4 nights and not 5 we didn't get ANY room cleaning at all, the garbage cans are very small so we had to take out our own trash and really wasn't quite sure were to take it or what bin to place it in. Also, I have no problem re-using a bath towel or pool towel for 2 days but 4 was a bit much. The private pool access wasn't so private at least for the location of our studio, we didn't mind, our neighbors were great but it was a bit confusing on who chairs were whos. On the first day we arrived I went to lay out and I felt like I was using the neighbors chairs even though they had 2 more by thier apartment. As far as the staff on our day of arrive the 1st women we dealt with was amazing very nice helped us book our day trips and gave us all the information we needed.. The lady that was there the rest of the time was not so accomidating, it seemed like anytime we asked her a question or needed something we were annoying her. Also when I needed to reconfirm at dive trip because of a booking issue that was my own fault I asked her how to dial out she told me and then I kept getting back to her it wasn't until the 3 time I was directed to her that she told me she needed to make the phone call and have them call me because all reservations go to them 1st.. This would have been nice to know on phone call one expecially since I was charged for all the call, not that is was a lot of money but just the fact.
No matter what the place was great and we would higly recommend it I just think for the price and the 5 star rating some things could improve..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for having stayed for your Honeymoon at Shantara and we are very pleased to receive your review of recognition.

The Shantara web site noticeably states that we have optional rates with “daily servicing” or “without daily service”. Upon check in we also go through the booking and advise our Guests the option that they have chosen during their stay at Shantara and offer the daily service as an optional extra should they require this service on the days that they choose.

On the guest key card booklet that we hand out it is written where the bins are located, we also have a sign in the cupboard where the bin is located in the rooms explaining where the rubbish can be emptied.

We do ask our Guests if they have pre-booked tours so we can reconfirm the tour for you, I do apologies that you may of experienced some awkwardness over this.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    122
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
19
476
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week at Shantara resort in a one bedroom apartment. It was extremely clean and well positioned within easy walk to the shopping area, restaurants, marina and Four Mile Beach. Our apartment was spotless with full kitchen facilites, a comfortable king size bed, spa bath and a sunny balcony overlooking the pool. The resort was very quiet and private with two pool areas to choose from. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our apartment was serviced during our stay with clean linen.Overall we would highly recommend a stay at this resort!

Room Tip: one bedroom apartment is spacious and top floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Shantara certainly is very quiet. Unfortunately we booked through a third party who said that this was a 5 star resort on par with Le meridian etc. It isn't that. The studio rooms are very tiny. It's like sleeping in your kitchen. Unfortunately when we stayed the place was full and we couldn't upgrade. Our romantic holiday was dashed a bit. There is no bar or any atmosphere on site so if that's what you're looking for then this isnt for you. But if a clean ( rooms don't get cleaned daily though) place is what you want and close to all amenities then this will be perfect. We wanted a 5 star flash place.. For our romantic getaway this wasn't what we pictured :(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments and it is appreciated that you have acknowledged that the property is well maintained for our Guests.

The Shantara web site clearly states that the property is “apartment style accommodation” we do not advertise that we have a restaurant or bar area. It’s a shame that people do not do their research prior to making their booking on what their holiday criteria is ! The studio room is reasonably priced as are the large 1 bedroom apartments.

The Webs site is available for you to make a decision on what type of accommodation you wish to book when going on holidays, to go on an idea on what one may of imagined it to be is not a fair comment to make :(

Thanks again for having stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i stayed at the Shantra with my husband and inlaws. we had a studio room which for us was all we needed, it was good size for a studio, was clean and had fridge, kettle etc. my inlaws had a 1 bed apartment (they werent keen on the idea of a studio) and there room was great. full size lounge/kitchen area with good size bedroom.

the resort itself is small (which is a good thing), pools were great, plenty of room to relax. and great location, only a 5 min walk up to the main street in Port Douglas or less than 5 mins to the beach!

staff were friendly and more than happy to assist with any questions we had about day trips, restaurants etc. they booked our airport transfers, trip out to the reef and my inlaws trip to the daintree rainforest, all went without a hitch. great service, i would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The holiday we were needing for the past 15 years! Shantara Resort & Spa is the real deal. Helpful, friendly & welcoming reception; Apartment clean & fresh, lots of room, ideal location, beautifully maintained.
We stayed in a downstairs 1bedroom Shantara Apartment with Jacussi, it was so peaceful and private - yet not shut away - No traffic noise either which was a surprise.
Owner managers Marianna & Luigi are hands on and take pride in the place and frankly it shows!
The no-children policy is a real bonus as we didn't have to fight for a place in the pool with screaming kids.
Would highly recommend this place for a quiet & relaxing holiday.
Chris, Victoria

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Shantara Resort and Spa is a wonderful haven amongst many fine hotels in Port Douglas. It is a couples only resort and therefore is very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are well appointed, with muted colours and excellent amenities. Our room had a spa, kitchen and separate bedroom. All the rooms have a balcony or deck with a great view of the pools. This is our third stay and we were not disappointed! The office staff are wonderful and our room was fantastic. We made full use of the resort facilities and the staff are always willing to help with bookings and suggestions of activities in the area. Shantara is only a 5 minute walk to Macrossan St and all the wonderful restaurants. The Spa has a new manager, who was wonderful! We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Shantara for our 20th wedding anniversary from 7-12 April, 2013. The room was superb as was the heated jacuzzi. Coming from Darwin it was a little too cool to swim in the lagoon style pool but we did at least take the plunge once and then immersed ourselves in the warmth of the jacuzzi. We even used the gym a couple of times during our stay. The staff were excellent and very helpful with booking tours. Shantara is walking distance to beautiful 4 mile beach and the wonderful shops and restaurants of Macrossan street. With no children allowed it meant it was a beautiful tranquil setting to enjoy each others company.
Steve and Amanda Peek

Room Tip: Choose the Shantara apartment so that you get the extra luxury of the hot jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools- heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.