We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shantara Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week at Shantara resort in a one bedroom apartment. It was extremely clean and well positioned within easy walk to the shopping area, restaurants, marina and Four Mile Beach. Our apartment was spotless with full kitchen facilites, a comfortable king size bed, spa bath and a sunny balcony overlooking the pool. The resort was very quiet and private with two pool areas to choose from. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our apartment was serviced during our stay with clean linen.Overall we would highly recommend a stay at this resort!

Room Tip: one bedroom apartment is spacious and top floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    148
    29
    19
    7
See reviews for
26
584
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Shantara certainly is very quiet. Unfortunately we booked through a third party who said that this was a 5 star resort on par with Le meridian etc. It isn't that. The studio rooms are very tiny. It's like sleeping in your kitchen. Unfortunately when we stayed the place was full and we couldn't upgrade. Our romantic holiday was dashed a bit. There is no bar or any atmosphere on site so if that's what you're looking for then this isnt for you. But if a clean ( rooms don't get cleaned daily though) place is what you want and close to all amenities then this will be perfect. We wanted a 5 star flash place.. For our romantic getaway this wasn't what we pictured :(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments and it is appreciated that you have acknowledged that the property is well maintained for our Guests.

The Shantara web site clearly states that the property is “apartment style accommodation” we do not advertise that we have a restaurant or bar area. It’s a shame that people do not do their research prior to making their booking on what their holiday criteria is ! The studio room is reasonably priced as are the large 1 bedroom apartments.

The Webs site is available for you to make a decision on what type of accommodation you wish to book when going on holidays, to go on an idea on what one may of imagined it to be is not a fair comment to make :(

Thanks again for having stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i stayed at the Shantra with my husband and inlaws. we had a studio room which for us was all we needed, it was good size for a studio, was clean and had fridge, kettle etc. my inlaws had a 1 bed apartment (they werent keen on the idea of a studio) and there room was great. full size lounge/kitchen area with good size bedroom.

the resort itself is small (which is a good thing), pools were great, plenty of room to relax. and great location, only a 5 min walk up to the main street in Port Douglas or less than 5 mins to the beach!

staff were friendly and more than happy to assist with any questions we had about day trips, restaurants etc. they booked our airport transfers, trip out to the reef and my inlaws trip to the daintree rainforest, all went without a hitch. great service, i would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The holiday we were needing for the past 15 years! Shantara Resort & Spa is the real deal. Helpful, friendly & welcoming reception; Apartment clean & fresh, lots of room, ideal location, beautifully maintained.
We stayed in a downstairs 1bedroom Shantara Apartment with Jacussi, it was so peaceful and private - yet not shut away - No traffic noise either which was a surprise.
Owner managers Marianna & Luigi are hands on and take pride in the place and frankly it shows!
The no-children policy is a real bonus as we didn't have to fight for a place in the pool with screaming kids.
Would highly recommend this place for a quiet & relaxing holiday.
Chris, Victoria

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Shantara Resort and Spa is a wonderful haven amongst many fine hotels in Port Douglas. It is a couples only resort and therefore is very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are well appointed, with muted colours and excellent amenities. Our room had a spa, kitchen and separate bedroom. All the rooms have a balcony or deck with a great view of the pools. This is our third stay and we were not disappointed! The office staff are wonderful and our room was fantastic. We made full use of the resort facilities and the staff are always willing to help with bookings and suggestions of activities in the area. Shantara is only a 5 minute walk to Macrossan St and all the wonderful restaurants. The Spa has a new manager, who was wonderful! We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Shantara for our 20th wedding anniversary from 7-12 April, 2013. The room was superb as was the heated jacuzzi. Coming from Darwin it was a little too cool to swim in the lagoon style pool but we did at least take the plunge once and then immersed ourselves in the warmth of the jacuzzi. We even used the gym a couple of times during our stay. The staff were excellent and very helpful with booking tours. Shantara is walking distance to beautiful 4 mile beach and the wonderful shops and restaurants of Macrossan street. With no children allowed it meant it was a beautiful tranquil setting to enjoy each others company.
Steve and Amanda Peek

Room Tip: Choose the Shantara apartment so that you get the extra luxury of the hot jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If you want a relaxing holiday then this is the place to stay. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor which was very spacious and overlooked the pool from our balcony, and everything is as good as you see on the internet. The condition and furnishings in the room are first class, the towels and bed linen superb and the king bed was really comfortable. There was an air-conditioner and ceiling fan in both the lounge area and the bedroom. The bathroom has a walk in shower and a spa bath too and is also very spacious. The kitchen area was well equipped with premium crockery and utensils, and they supply milk pods and tea and coffee sachets etc for when you first arrive. There are two outdoor pools and one has a BBQ area for guests to use. There is also free underground parking at the apartments if you drive to Port Douglas. If you prefer privacy and quiet then I would suggest a room on the 2nd floor rather than the rooms on the ground floor that have direct access to the pool from their rooms. The only downside is that for non smokers it is irritating when other guests' cigarette smoke periodically drifts from their balcony onto yours if you sit out, but you can get that in any hotel. Having said that we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#15 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools- heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantara Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.