We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stay in Port Douglas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient stay in Port Douglas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Shantara for 8 nights in late Jan13, on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. A few points to note:

The Good.
Very close to the main street of town (5 minute walk) and friendly staff. BBQ area was excellent. Aircon was pretty good, which was needed as it was very hot and humid outside (35+ degrees and humid).

The Not so Good.
Room was only cleaned once during our stay, which is fine, but it was not a great job, especially as it seemed nothing was done in the bathroom (and the cleaner purloined out beach towels, so we had to get replacements); 2 x Pools are ok only (a little small), but were not over chlorinated (note that the pool over the road at Peppers looked amazing). TV was not working in the gym & treadmill was not working for part of the time (they have 1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer, 2 bikes and some weights). Spa & Wellness centre was not available at all (in between operators). Our DVD was not working initially, but it was replaced (and it was a multi-zone, which was good). We also lost a couple of Foxtel channels later in our stay (FoxSports 3 and SkyNews, which was a bit frustrating).

We also made the error that this was also not a self catering room (which they have as well), but the fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle all worked well. The room was 'cosy', but adequate.

Overall loved Port Douglas, but Jan is too hot to go there again (and is normally at the start of the wet season, but it was largely fine when we were there).

Overall would recommend, but was by no means a 'perfect' venue. However provided pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for having stayed and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

For the inconsequential comments made on the gym, the treadmill is now repaired as we had to wait for a part to come out of Sydney, for the TV not working unfortunately the TV antenna is not traceable for the channels to work but a DVD/CD can be inserted if necessary to watch or listen to the TV. The Gym never has more than one or two people at a time, some people may be accustomed to to the big city gyms !. the Austar not working would have been due to heavy winds or rain, generally the Austar works always.

The 2 pools at Shantara are quiet as we have no children at the property making a Guests swim pleasurable.

The Day Spa is not Managed or operated by the Shantara Management and unfortunately the Owner of the day spa is finding it difficult to lease out. However other options are available upon request.

We would recommend to visit the Shantara web site for information on what the property offers and our services, this will ensure that a person is booking exactly what they require.

Port Douglas is a destination to explore the natural environment and beauty of the area. The Shantara Team do try to ensure that a Guests experience is comfortable and requests are met upon reason, not sure if there is any place that is “perfect” but as you say Shantara is “good value for money”. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    120
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
19
466
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. Overall we had a lovely experience. The rooms are well-appointed, but not the most spacious. The resort overall is quiet and secluded. The staff is very helpful - when our day-long tour to Daintree was canceled due to inclement weather, the front desk was able to get us on a half-day trip with another tour company at the last minute, which was very appreciated! The location is perfect - just a short walk to Macrossan Street where all the restaurants and shopping are, which is great if you don't have a car. The only cons: the front desk hours are quite limited - 8 am to 5 or 6 pm, and you have to pay for wi-fi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We picked this resort from other reviews and the fact it was an adults only resort. We were not disappointed, right from the immaculate apartment to the friendly and very helpful staff. We chose an apartment with a pool side entrance, two sliding doors one from bedroom and other from lounge, opening out onto outside living area, then pool. The apartment was large with plenty of room.

Only a few minutes walk to beach and town centre making it a perfect location without the need of transport. This resort is perfect if your looking for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Thanks Jess for being so helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Shantara resort is a wonderful place to stay- conveniently located, beautiful apartment and great amenities at the resort. We stayed for seven days over New Year and would thoroughly recommend Shantara Resort as THE place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The first time we had been to Port Douglas and absolutely could not have chosen a better apartment!

brand new, modern, spacious, 2 separate outside living spaces, a deck with swim up pool and a private jacuzzi. We loved it!!

Very secluded spot and we were not disturbed at all. 7 days just wasn't enough and we didn't want to leave. such a great location, within minutes to everything. Out of all of the hundreds of other apartments in PD, we will definitely be going back to Shantara :)

Room Tip: ground floor apartments all have swim up balconies. We chose the corner "Shantara apartment&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights over New Years and the rooms were excellent - very clean and well kept. We didn't opt for housekeeping every day which wasn't really needed anyway, however they do give you a free mid-stay clean.

The ONLY thing I wasn't impressed with was the reception hours - they are only there from around 9am in the morning and left between 5 or 6pm (depending on the day) which was very annoying when I needed assistance with the Austar channels after those hours.

When you are out all day, it does make it hard to organise things when there is no one on reception - and for the price of the rooms, you would think there would be someone to assist at all hours of the day.

Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay there and we had an awesome time in Port Douglas in general.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you more privacy - we preferred this because we didn't want people to be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and great to see that you enjoyed your time at Shantara. We appreciate your comments.

Upon check- in we give details to our Guests about the Reception times, as this is important for our Guests to know how to reach the Shantara Team after hours. The compendium in the rooms explain this also and the key card wallet that we had out has instructions on how to reach the Shantara Team.

We are contactable 24/7 as this is part of our onsite Management requirements.

Thanks again for having stayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Shantara Resort & Spa for our short stay in Port Douglas. For couples looking for quiet, relaxing place to stay, within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and the marina, this is the place for you. The resort is exceptionally clean, the staff were very friendly, particularly their recommendations on the day tours was invaluable. We stayed in a studio apartment with direct pool access and I have to say, being able to just slip into the pool directly from our private deck for quiet swim after a long day out on a day tour was wonderful. We are hoping to visit Port Douglas again in the future and will definitely be staying at Shantara again. We highly recommend it. Kim & Mick

Room Tip: For short stays, the studio apartments with direct pool access are wonderful. For longer stays, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools- heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.