We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is paradise on earth, or very close.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“This is paradise on earth, or very close.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a 1 bed apartment here and it was fabulous. Well appointed and well decorated with a balcony overlooking the pool and BBQ area. I can not fault this place at all and the reception staff do all they can to make your stay easier and enjoyable. They confirmed all our trips out and gave good advise on where to go and what to see. If this is Australian hospitality then I am impressed and would suggest that we have a loot to learn in the UK service industry.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor as there is more privacy and have better outlook. Be prepared to shop for food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    122
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
19
470
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Location is great - about 5 mins walk to the main central street. Complex is pleasant - very quiet, two pools. Small gym. No food options but they are self catered serviced apartments after all. Staff polite. WIFI at a cost.

Had a studio apartment - very clean, modern and functional but quite small so worth considering a 1 bed or larger.

In terms of Port Douglas itself - really liked it, lots going on in the centre, great restaraunts - Zinc being the stand apart one. Did a snorkelling tour with Wavelength which was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Shantara was the first hotel for me and my partner in north QLD. We love it. The location was good, within walking distance to the beach and restaurant, but really quiet for rest and sleep. The rooms were so so clean, we love it. Maybe management can consider cleaning of some of the air conditioning facility and fan, cuz people like me can sometimes have nasal allergy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location, great room, great amenities. Would definitely come back again. Two pools with bbq facilities and near new rooms, nice alfresco and convenient car parking. Close to both beach and town which makes everything cheaper and easier to walk to. Couldn't even hear the neighbours which is always a bonus !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Shantara in late November. The property was beautiful and really close to the beach and downtown area. Our room was pristinely clean and had a great patio and plenty of space. The front desk was really friendly and helped us with any questions we had. It was nice and quiet and felt private. They had BBQ's to use and two beautiful pools. The extra towels for the beach were awesome since we didn't want to take up the space in our suitcases. We didnt choose the service option, but we didnt have any problems with cleanliness or towels, we had everything we needed for the four nights we were there. We would stay there again without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed 4 nights in beautiful Shantara Resort in Port Douglas.

The resort is very centrally located only a few minutes away from central Macrossan Street and does not allow children below 16, so it's very quiet and perfect for couples.

The one bedroom apartment is huge and great value if you stay 4 nights (one night is free). We had a pool view room on the second floor (vs. pool deck on the ground floor) and enjoyed it as it gave us more privacy even if we couldn't swim up to the room. The balcony is more private and our sense is that it is louder and less private on the pool deck rooms on the ground floor.

The front desk is very helpful in booking tours and making restaurant reservations for you. There is also laundry right outside every room (shared between 2 suites).

There is no reception after a certain hour but they make it very easy to check in after-hours. Very much an apartment (with kitchen, etc.) vs. a pure hotel but it was perfect for relaxing in Port Douglas. We would highly recommend this to any couple looking for a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: get a one bedroom suite, which is huge! pool view has better privacy than pool deck but can't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Shantara for 4 nights in November and we couldn't be happier :-)
We stayed in a pool access room 6b which suited us fine and was impeccably clean.
As we were on our last holiday before our firstborn arrived we really enjoyed the serenity of the shantara. We liked how peaceful and private it was too. Staff were lovely and when I locked my purse in their safe they were quick to sort it out. We didn't organise any tours though I believe they would be more than happy to help guests if needed.
Pool is amazing, I read a few reviews from unhappy guests because one pool isn't heated, but really?! It doesn't need to be! I'm from Melbourne and really feel the cold but I loved it :-)
Also made use of the gym and it has everything u could need, even a swissball so I got to continue my preggi-Pilates moves while away!
Location is perfect only 5 min walk into town or four mile beach.
Overall 10/10 I would definitely stay here again.... Though will have to find a babysitter hahaha enjoy!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools- heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.